The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

On 03/09/2016 at 23:29, jupe1407 said:

They're probably on fairly infrequently. I've seen no mention of any convictions other than the post a few above.

1,800 caught through the 40mph works.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/highlands/950546/a9-dualling-speed-cameras-catch-1800-drivers-in-three-months/

I wasn't sure if the cameras were re-calibrated to 40mph but stuck to it in case. I used to see loads of people go at 50-60 through there.

1,800 caught through the 40mph works.

https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/highlands/950546/a9-dualling-speed-cameras-catch-1800-drivers-in-three-months/

I wasn't sure if the cameras were re-calibrated to 40mph but stuck to it in case. I used to see loads of people go at 50-60 through there.

There's clearly a few cars going too fast. There's one doing a dukes of hazzard over a lorry.

15 hours ago, Reid said:

Seen this on Twitter tonight. Disaster of a guy.IMG_1473117715.401335.jpg

That certainly puts paid to the myth that Traynor was some kind of great writer who only lost it at the end - utter drivel. I love the fact that section headings have obviously been put in place by a disgruntled Sub who loathes the fat w**k as they describe his output perfectly...

Edited by Swello

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37289352

Unchallenged pish from Hartson at the end there. Fir Park doesn't even hold 18,000.

John seems like a decent guy but imagine thinking a stadium you played in and visited repeatedly is that much bigger than it actually is. 

Edited by Malcolm Malcolm

I see that counting is not John Hartson's strong suit.  http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37289352

4,500 when it's the diddies, but 18,000 when Whore FC are in town!  Is that even remotely true John?  

Err no!

Last time they played 9 Apr 16 att 9,123.  The time before 17 Oct 15 8,888 ad nauseum.

Hamilton attracted just over 5,700, Hearts just over 5,300.  Admittedly Cove Rangers was only 3,800+.

Here are some real facts for you.

John Hartson;

ex-pro footballer

Cancer survivor

Bell-end Welsh twat!

Edited by aDONisSheep

Stuff like that from Hartson incenses me.

We know he himself is a balloon who just comes out with ill considered rubbish.  It's the uncritical carrying of his remarks that drives me mad though.  It's not being left lying in a 'what a dick' type of way; instead it's conveyed as a welcome contribution.

These guys just never get challenged on the shit they're encouraged to produce.  No wonder they think that their opinions are somehow valid.

3 hours ago, sjc said:

How did we go from Sports Journalists like Hugh McIlvanney and Ian Archer to dross like Jim Traynor and the like?

It's revealing when listening to current journalists on stuff like The Fitba Hacks that next to none of them describe guys like that amongst their influences. I suppose it's a bit like how young political journalists never mention someone like Neal Ascherson but absolutely love buffoons they know personally like Euan McColm.

Hugh McIlvanney is an amazing writer but it's made even better by the fact that for some reason Piers Morgan hates him.

Edited by Malcolm Malcolm

1 minute ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Stuff like that from Hartson incenses me.

We know he himself is a balloon who just comes out with ill considered rubbish.  It's the uncritical carrying of his remarks that drives me mad though.  It's not being left lying in a 'what a dick' type of way; instead it's conveyed as a welcome contribution.

These guys just never get challenged on the shit they're encouraged to produce.  No wonder they think that their opinions are somehow valid.

It's glaringly factually inaccurate. He's making up attendances that wouldn't even fit inside the stadium. Infuriating.

1 hour ago, Malcolm Malcolm said:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37289352

Unchallenged pish from Hartson at the end there. Fir Park doesn't even hold 18,000.

John seems like a decent guy but imagine thinking a stadium you played in and visited repeatedly is that much bigger than it actually is. 

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/4565659.stm

Att: 12,944

That's as busy as it has been in recent memory, and that chunt was playing.