Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

2 hours ago, CSmith said:

Agree with this to be quite honest. The reality with our midfield is that for the right balance I think we are picking one of Maguire or Donnelly, one of Campbell, O’Hara (and eventually) Sloth and one of Polworth or Turnbull. Not exactly the hottest of takes, but I’d assume we’ll be running with the midfield that won against St. Mirren for a good while.

As fun as Motherwell redefining football as we know it with the Midfield Pentagon would be, that sounds pretty much accurate. The options we have in midfield pretty much fit specific roles. Semple will be one of those options for The Polworth Alternative at some point too I'd imagine.

FWIW: the Reserves game against Dunfermline started with a midfield 3 of O'Hara, Maguire, Sloth and Semple wide left. Maguire dropped to centre half at HT when Big Bevis was subbed off and we ran with O'Hara, Sloth, Semple as the 3 for the 2nd half (Semple scored in both halves).

I mentioned it before but given the competition for places in the central midfield roles if we're looking at getting Semple some first team minutes there's an argument that replicating what we've done with Scott and giving him a role out wide (which is where we've been using Ilic when he's come on) might work. Playing wide may not be a long term role (though Craigan had him playing there) but as it stands Polworth and Campbell have the two central positions alongside the holding mid fully on lock with O'Hara, Sloth and eventually Turnbull the alternates.

I noticed Ilic went off injured on Monday (and was playing in midfield).

I enjoyed reading that interview with O'Carroll @Casagolda linked to earlier largely because it's good to see some of the names that are being thrown around by the coaching staff. We knew Mo Ross was/is a fan of Dean Cornelius and David Devine from his MFC Podcast interview but it's encouraging to hear big Hussain was away with the first team with Cornelius for the St Johnstone game and Kyle Semple, Jack Brown, Adam Kettings getting shout outs is the sort of thing you want to see especially given the socials coverage has moved away from Reserves highlights and the more extensive interviews with Craigan.

The bite-sized coverage is far more digestible on the socials and I fully get that Ross may not want to stand giving 5 min interviews after every game but the trade off there is that the Academy/u20s content feels a bit more arms-length. Which isn't a dig, I understand they're trying to find a balance in terms of what works and I noticed the summary tweets the other day on the 30mins and hour mark.

I may be a niche audience but if the club were to stick the full matches of the u20s/Reserves up on the paywalled MFC channel I would absolutely watch them.

Edited by capt_oats

Long up top thriving off SHROOOBALLS.
Midfield of: Polworth, Campbell, Turnbull, Maguire and Sloth, moving on from a Midfield diamond to a Midfield pentagon where we never lose the ball, ever.

That sounds like the old Champy WIBWOB.

Make it happen.

You could have solid midfield 3 of a Regista and 2 Carrilelos, 2 attacking midfielders who can drift in and out of wide/central areas in 2 Raumdeuters, and then your bog standard Trequertisa up front.

Easy.

Has there been any actual chat of Turnbull’s progress thus far? 

Tbh I’ve been really digging the Campbell/Polworth combo of late and as such, Turnbull’s return has kind of been an afterthought. 

Would love to be wrong but I’m still not convinced we’ll see much or anything of him in a Motherwell strip again. However, that’s not looking as much of a worry as it was a few months ago. 

Edited by Casagolda

2 hours ago, Casagolda said:

Has there been any actual chat of Turnbull’s progress thus far? 

Tbh I’ve been really digging the Campbell/Polworth combo of late and as such, Turnbull’s return has kind of been an afterthought. 

Would love to be wrong but I’m still not convinced we’ll see much or anything of him in a Motherwell strip again but that’s not as much of a worry as it was a few months ago. 

Robinson was talking about him in the Sportsound interview. IIRC it was something along the lines of his rehab is going to plan and he's been given the OK from the specialist to step up the work he's doing. There's not really been anything more concrete than that although he did make an appearance in the socials clip that went out the other week with various players doing a bit of singing in the tunnel for the FIFA 20 launch.

Tbh, I'm in agreement a lot of the worry pre-Summer was a Turnbull-less midfield so the fact that he's still at the club but the midfield 3 with Campbell, Donnelly and Polworth have been performing as they have has kind of lessened any serious tension (particularly knowing we've got folk like Sloth, Semple and O'Hara waiting on the sidelines - for that position alone). In a way it probably means that there's less pressure on his rehab schedule. I know we'd have done right by him and made sure he wasn't rushed back but if we were sitting 3rd bottom rather than just 3rd it'd naturally have added a bit of panic from certain quarters.

Edited by capt_oats

10 hours ago, AndyRoss said:

Thanks mate, glad you enjoyed it. 

Aye, it was smashing. Absolutely fair play.

Aside from the general 'season so far' overview you've managed to cover every topic going (some of it I genuinely didn't expect); Sloth, Turnbull, Hastie, Cadden...even McCormack. It's the sort of stuff that I wouldn't reasonably expect to hear via "official" channels/platforms for obvious reasons but am still curious about nevertheless so the interview was a great "unofficial" listen in that respect (it always is tbf).

The specials you've done of late have been really interesting, the Nevin and Jackson ones in particular but just as general #content I've enjoyed them whether it's Sutton, Mo Ross, Burrows etc as again, hour long interviews with that sort of detail isn't the sort of thing that you'd expect to get "officially" but they're great counter-points to the regular pods and the output from the club.

Edited by capt_oats

1 hour ago, Mr Pikey said:

Actually cannae wait for the next Well game. Didn't think i'd be saying that this season when i was leaving after the Hearts  cup game. That's fitba for you.

I've been at every game so far this season and it's been a while since I've done that - so it must be enjoyable this year. Actually gutted that I'll be abroad on holiday when we play Aberdeen.

43 minutes ago, Neil86 said:

Aye, this chat about Allan Campbell dropping out on Turnbulls return is fucking way off the mark, wrap it immediately. 

Who the f**k wants to drop Campbell for Turnbull?  Idiots.  In fact, anyone who wants to drop Campbell for any player in our squad is a fucking idiot.  

57 minutes ago, Antiochas III said:

Who the f**k wants to drop Campbell for Turnbull?  Idiots.  In fact, anyone who wants to drop Campbell for any player in our squad is a fucking idiot.  

can't remember if it was on here or Steelmen, my bets lie with steelmen online tbh.

I was reading threads from a few years ago on Steelmen the other day- because I have an absolutely wild social life- and came across a quite sensational shout. Don't want to name names or anything but f**k me :lol:

----------------- Carson ------------------

- Kipre -- Hartley -- Aldred -- Dunne -

-- Tait - Cadden - Campbell - XXXX --

------------ Main --- XXXX ---