Old Firm Colts in L2

56 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Fooling absolutely no one.

I find it incredible that the simplest question can trigger some people to this extent.

You believe what you like, if it suits your theories. 

5 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

I don't think you know what triggered means.

I think you have proved my point.

My understanding was that this was a forum for opinions and questions, however it appears that only certain opinions and questions are allowed. I’ll bear this in mind before any future interactions.

Edited by Big Dougie

1 minute ago, Big Dougie said:

My understanding was that this was a forum for opinions and questions, however it appears that only certain opinions and questions are allowed. I’ll bear this in mind before any future interactions.

As has been pointed out, the discussion had taken place and the answers you were looking for were already there, you didn't bother your arse to read it - you just wanted to create a wee stooshie in here. 

Questions are allowed and opinions are allowed but so is ridiculing of those questions and opinions. 

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

As has been pointed out, the discussion had taken place and the answers you were looking for were already there, you didn't bother your arse to read it - you just wanted to create a wee stooshie in here. 

Questions are allowed and opinions are allowed but so is ridiculing of those questions and opinions. 

If you care to check back on the replies to my original post, I was met with a degree of what I would describe as uncalled for hostility, and perhaps I reacted in a way that was not appropriate, I apologised for that. Despite your insinuations that I am not “new” on here, I am, and I have clearly made an error of judgment in asking what I thought was a simple question regarding what is clearly a very emotive subject. 

I won’t revisit this particular subject again, which I am sure will delight many 😀.

If you care to check back on the replies to my original post, I was met with a degree of what I would describe as uncalled for hostility, and perhaps I reacted in a way that was not appropriate, I apologised for that. Despite your insinuations that I am not “new” on here, I am, and I have clearly made an error of judgment in asking what I thought was a simple question regarding what is clearly a very emotive subject. 
I won’t revisit this particular subject again, which I am sure will delight many [emoji3].

Dry up m9

To be honest, I'm shocked how Brazil have managed to fluke their way to so many World Cups despite a lack of reserve teams in the senior set up.

Enough with this "but Spain and Croatia!" pish. It's a monumentally shite idea which will do nothing to improve Scottish football.

2 hours ago, Big Dougie said:

Welcome to P&B!

22 hours ago, DiegoDiego said:

To be honest, I'm shocked how Brazil have managed to fluke their way to so many World Cups despite a lack of reserve teams in the senior set up.

Enough with this "but Spain and Croatia!" pish. It's a monumentally shite idea which will do nothing to improve Scottish football.

Almost without exception, good or even half-decent teams have players who can pass a ball ten yards. Scottish football is crammed full of guys who can't control a ball or pass it even 5 yards.  We still value guys who can toebash a ball 75 yards. No amount of colts teams or any other initiative like changing the league setup will make up for not having basic skills, like those in successful small football nations nurture. Your average Croatian or Norwegian is far more technically skilled than your average Scot.

Our own top league teams employ just over 50% Scots (according to one of the betting sites so it might not be that accurate) and very, very few Scots play in any top league abroad. That tells you everything you need to know about coaching and, I have to say, dedication of the players.

Edited by Hampden Diehard

Almost without exception, good or even half-decent teams have players who can pass a ball ten yards. Scottish football is crammed full of guys who can't control a ball or pass it even 5 yards.  We still value guys who can toebash a ball 75 yards. No amount of colts teams or any other initiative like changing the league setup will make up for not having basic skills, like those in successful small football nations nurture. Your average Croatian or Norwegian is far more technically skilled than your average Scot.
Our own top league teams employ just over 50% Scots (according to one of the betting sites so it might not be that accurate) and very, very few Scots play in any top league abroad. That tells you everything you need to know about coaching and, I have to say, dedication of the players.

I agree with your overall assessment but I don’t think your average Norwegian is particularly skillful either as their qualification record suggests they’re on a par with us i.e shite. We focus too much on our kids playing 11v11 on full-size pitches meaning we learn to kick and chase. Our youngsters need to learn on smaller pitches to actually control the ball and use skill to beat their man. There’s too many Scots who as you say can’t do the basics and that’s down to coaching at youth levels not Colt age players.

12 hours ago, San Starko Rover said:

I agree with your overall assessment but I don’t think your average Norwegian is particularly skillful either as their qualification record suggests they’re on a par with us i.e shite. We focus too much on our kids playing 11v11 on full-size pitches meaning we learn to kick and chase. Our youngsters need to learn on smaller pitches to actually control the ball and use skill to beat their man. There’s too many Scots who as you say can’t do the basics and that’s down to coaching at youth levels not Colt age players.

At Primary School age kids have been playing 4v4 and 7 a side for 20 years.

12 hours ago, San Starko Rover said:

Correct . Also the "no ball games" culture within communities where kids are hounded for just mucking around playing keepie -ups  or beat the goalie etc.  This is really where the basics are learned. 

8 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

Correct . Also the "no ball games" culture within communities where kids are hounded for just mucking around playing keepie -ups  or beat the goalie etc.  This is really where the basics are learned. 

We've also lost boys club football and BB football. Just about everyone I knew growing up was involved in one or the other, or both. Plus playing in schools football isn't allowed if kids are signed to a club. My brother played three times a weekend as a teenager.  All gave kids the chance to play, albeit 11 v 11.

45 minutes ago, Hampden Diehard said:

We've also lost boys club football and BB football. Just about everyone I knew growing up was involved in one or the other, or both. Plus playing in schools football isn't allowed if kids are signed to a club. My brother played three times a weekend as a teenager.  All gave kids the chance to play, albeit 11 v 11.

That is just not true at all. I have been taking school teams for 11 years and only ever had one pupil pull out because of club commitments; and that was his parent's choice. We've had multiple players from multiple clubs.  And played against multiple players from clubs. I'm not even sure that teams are actually allowed to stop kids playing - I'm sure that loophole was closed at one point (albeit, they can no doubt strongly advise parents).

59 minutes ago, Hampden Diehard said:

Still a decent amount of boys clubs tbf. Tho we have lost some.  BB I only ever hear about in reference to football in the past,   They are, and have been my entire life a completely Irrelevant organisation.  I’ve never met anyone who has been in it and I doubt you could field a side if you asked a million people where their nearest one was.   

There certainly is an element of ‘they only play for us’ in pro-youth,  which means if you only get 20 minutes in that weeks game that’s all your match time that week,  when you could have played the full game for both school and with your boys club.    However if your only getting 20 minutes at pro youth,  you are highly likely not going to make it and all the extra game time as a teen will have done is made you a slightly better Sunday league player.

58 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

Still a decent amount of boys clubs tbf. Tho we have lost some.  BB I only ever hear about in reference to football in the past,   They are, and have been my entire life a completely Irrelevant organisation.  I’ve never met anyone who has been in it and I doubt you could field a side if you asked a million people where their nearest one was.   

There certainly is an element of ‘they only play for us’ in pro-youth,  which means if you only get 20 minutes in that weeks game that’s all your match time that week,  when you could have played the full game for both school and with your boys club.    However if your only getting 20 minutes at pro youth,  you are highly likely not going to make it and all the extra game time as a teen will have done is made you a slightly better Sunday league player.

and hopefully given you a lot of exercise, fun and social link strengthening.

Which is kind of the point of boy's clubs. My son plays for one, and none of his team will be on their way to Euro 2028, but that's absolutely my last concern as a parent.

4 minutes ago, Ranaldo Bairn said:

and hopefully given you a lot of exercise, fun and social link strengthening.

Which is kind of the point of boy's clubs. My son plays for one, and none of his team will be on their way to Euro 2028, but that's absolutely my last concern as a parent.

I agree 100%.    Any thoughts on how well/badly we are doing outside of pro youth needs measured by that.