Has there ever been a worse 'championship' season?

• Replies 186
Highest league place in a good few years.  Can't be that bad.  

Was meaning that we've been shite it wouldn't take much to be any better, although we've still not actually been any good this season, Outwith the first 9 weeks I wouldn't say that Qots have been better than previous seasons either.
With guys the shape of Wedderburn and Nicky Clarke you would need to walk it as neither of them are fit enough to run.

Nicky Clarke, joint second highest scorer but with a better minute's per goal than Dobbie, that Clark? It's pretty impressive to score so many while being apparently so unfit.

5 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

Was meaning that we've been shite it wouldn't take much to be any better, although we've still not actually been any good this season, Outwith the first 9 weeks I wouldn't say that Qots have been better than previous seasons either.

Nicky Clarke, joint second highest scorer but with a better minute's per goal than Dobbie, that Clark? It's pretty impressive to score so many while being apparently so unfit.

Made his money at Rangers and stopped looking after himself.

It's really not impressive, given that most of them were against dross near the bottom of the league. The same applies to Dobbie's laughable efforts this campaign.

When both come up against the big hitters of the division, they contribute absolutely nothing at all. Which is why both your seasons have already finished in utter mediocrity.

Made his money at Rangers and stopped looking after himself.

Done not bad at all for someone who has stopped looking after himself eh? He's no slouch at all.

It's really not impressive, given that most of them were against dross near the bottom of the league. The same applies to Dobbie's laughable efforts this campaign.

When both come up against the big hitters of the division, they contribute absolutely nothing at all. Which is why both your seasons have already finished in utter mediocrity.

1)You have also been playing the same "dross" as has every other team, if it's so easy to score against them where are the other strikers who have scored more?

2)Clark has already scored against Morton this season.

3)Our season is finished because we haven't been very good this season, much like your first season up last season. If we didn't have as good a goalscorer as Clark then things could be drastically worse.

Again, apart from being utterly wrong that's a good post, keep trying.

d6b7cb5c119a4196c97de4e43b963aae.jpg

14 hours ago, Grant228 said:

1)You have also been playing the same "dross" as has every other team, if it's so easy to score against them where are the other strikers who have scored more?

Erm, the best teams simply don't need their strikers to score more in order to achieve far better results over the season. Nicky Clark can score four goals in one game against a Dumbarton side; even our sixth choice striker, Kudus Oyenuga, has managed two against them. That's not a significant achievement at all.

It would perhaps be "impressive" if the likes of Dobbie and Clark managed to haul their teams into legitimate play-off contention by delivering the goods against teams above them in the table; but they are nowhere to be seen against the elite clubs of the division.  

So they're just flat track bullies then. 

Nicky Clark is a poor man's El Bakhtaoui but he's the closest we've had to a replacement. Wedderburn had a bad game against Falkirk and is written off as a diddy yet we've lost one game in 17 since he got himself "fit" and into the side. He makes us far harder to beat. Our league placing is fair - a bit better than the real dross but lacking the quality of the more established teams. Guys like Moffat and Talbot give their all and are likeable players but we can't really expect to be anywhere above mid table with decent League One/lower Championship players. 

The comparison with Morton's consolidation season last year seems close to the mark. That side also turned over the majority of the teams below them quite comfortably, but struggled against the genuine promotion contenders. Our squad was younger which allowed for a greater degree of improvement going into a second season at this level; upgrading in key positions will also be crucial in the summer (or in our case, mid-September). 

19 hours ago, Jordan Rode said:

Morton look in the best nick they have been in years as do Dunfermline, Dumbarton and Queens.

16 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

How you can say that of Queens, I've no idea.

Indeed. Queen are in the best nick we have been for, er, almost two years since the two times before that when we made the playoffs.

1 minute ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Indeed. Queen are in the best nick we have been for, er, almost two years since the two times before that when we made the playoffs.

Maybe not league table wise where you punched above your weight but now in general terms of Scottish Football you are a mid to upper second tier of Scottish football club. instead of a couple of good seasons then relegation worries etc.  Sorry for being a bit positive. 

1 minute ago, Jordan Rode said:

Maybe not league table wise where you punched above your weight but now in general terms of Scottish Football you are a mid to upper second tier of Scottish football club. instead of a couple of good seasons then relegation worries etc.  Sorry for being a bit positive clueless. 

Fixed that for you.

We've been a mid to upper second tier Scottish football club for all bar three of the last 15 years. We've not had the remotest relegation worries in all the seasons you've been here and have finished 4th, 4th, 7th (dropping from 5th with about 3 weeks to go) in the last three seasons.

6 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Fixed that for you.

We've been a mid to upper second tier Scottish football club for all bar three of the last 15 years. We've not had the remotest relegation worries in all the seasons you've been here and have finished 4th, 4th, 7th (dropping from 5th with about 3 weeks to go) in the last three seasons.

And the season prior to us coming down what league did you play in again?   This is the strongest I can remember Queens ever being with good sides in this league too. 

1 minute ago, Jordan Rode said:

And the season prior to us coming down what league did you play in again?   This is the strongest I can remember Queens ever being with good sides in this league too. 

They played in the championship.

HTH.

19 minutes ago, AyrTroopMajor said:

Away days tend to be more enjoyable when the home team lies down to you, but thanks anyway!

You gave everyone a good laugh with your attempts to score against a keeperless Raith too. See, you've added lots to the league. 

15 minutes ago, Shandon Par said:

You gave everyone a good laugh with your attempts to score against a keeperless Raith too. See, you've added lots to the league.

Naw am no having that, Ryan Stevenson was bouncing aboot that 6 yard box like a cat with pogo-stick paws.