21 minutes ago, Zing. said:

We are fucked. Tick Tock. Ron the con etc etc 

https://bit.ly/3fvjx6v

Being serious it appears we’ve absolutely fucked this. Surely our millionaire owner can help out? Or is he more frugal than STF?

It looks like we've handled this badly, by trying to do the right thing initially by staff, wage referrals and no immediate redundancies. It's no surprise we're toiling, revenue has been halved, but we won't be the only ones. 

You can't blame the players if they're asked to take big cuts, while we sign players. Any player wage cuts should have been sorted out earlier, not on the eve of resuming training and while we're looking to add to the squad. 

Most of the article is obviously rumour and so on, but it's bad PR for the club. 

Making moves (or at least being seen to) for new players is inexcusable tbh. I wouldn’t blame the players for being pissed off about being asked to take wage cuts when it looks like we’re trying to bring in Gogic and others.

I think we’ll lose anyone who could make more elsewhere - Boyle, Porteous, Kamberi, maybe Allan.

Last season that would have seen us as serious relegation candidates. We’d have been fucked just without Boyle tbh. With everyone else in the same boat, I think we’ll be fine.

Bit brutal to even be worrying about on the pitch stuff tbf but there you go.

Edited by Alan Stubbs

It looks like we've handled this badly, by trying to do the right thing initially by staff, wage referrals and no immediate redundancies. It's no surprise we're toiling, revenue has been halved, but we won't be the only ones. 
You can't blame the players if they're asked to take big cuts, while we sign players. Any player wage cuts should have been sorted out earlier, not on the eve of resuming training and while we're looking to add to the squad. 
Most of the article is obviously rumour and so on, but it's bad PR for the club. 
I think it's probably been prompted by the return to training and players coming off furlough, along with the government furlough amounts tapering down. We'll be back playing football in front of no crowds for the moment so no discernible increase in revenues for that.

I don't see how we can sign players in this environment unless we agree informally with players currently at the club that they'll go back on to their original contracts with a year extension when revenue recovers.

1 hour ago, Zing. said:

Youth set up is being completely ripped up according to SSN. Unclear if it’s temporary or if we’re going to go a different way once things are back to normal. 

Wouldn't object to that TBH, as the youth setup has been unproductive for 10+ years. Porteous is really the only player that's broken through in a significant way. There's been a few who have made some appearances / been unlucky with injury, but that's a poor return over such a long period. There are clubs who don't have a full youth setup yet have brought through more regular players.

1 hour ago, JamesM82 said:

Wouldn't object to that TBH, as the youth setup has been unproductive for 10+ years. Porteous is really the only player that's broken through in a significant way. There's been a few who have made some appearances / been unlucky with injury, but that's a poor return over such a long period. There are clubs who don't have a full youth setup yet have brought through more regular players.

Spot on.  After the Golden Generation, we have been painfully unproductive despite spending more than probably any other club outwith the OF on our youth system.  Needs to be overhauled as return on investment has been poor. 

11 minutes ago, Bohemian said:

Only in the land of Pet Jedan and Kickback that is happening..

Nae doubt they are now saying "aye, part 2 will be him publicly sacking Dempster and selling the milking sheds to Farmer Palmer for 2 bod and a golf ball".

Fannies

What a guy Ronald is. Club crumbling around about him, Tick Tock sounding in his ears, administration on the horizon and he manages to keep his spirits up. Seriousy though. he speaks well and seems to have taken to the club in a big way. Encouraging signs.

3 minutes ago, Glen Sannox said:

Warnings of dire financial consequences yet we opted to sacrifice a season’s shirt sponsorship revenue. That looks like a poor decision.

Whit....... You saying the NHS are not giving us a Penny??? FFS Sack the board....🤬