The P&B Official Panama Supporters Thread

We've had Tahiti at the Confeds Cup a few years ago, and then we had Iceland at the last Euros - so which diddy nation should we get behind this year? Courtesy of being good at the Euros, Iceland are out, so here are the contenders:

Panama

Positives

+ Real diddies
+ First World Cup appearance
+ Mainly domestic players with no real superstars
+ In the same group as England
+ Play in blue

Negatives

- Kit is a bit Rangersy
- Unlikely to do an Iceland

Saudi Arabia

Positives

+ Have three La Liga Players
+ Arab nations have historically struggled at World Cups
+ Literally nobody has ever heard of most of their players

Negatives

- None of those players have a La Liga appearance, and the deal to take them there appears very dodgy
- Women don't have many rights
- Currently bombing Yemen (Saudi that is, not the national team)
- Their badge looks like it was made on Clipart

Iran

Positives

+ A few European based players who you might remember
+ Reza Ghoochannejhad plays for them, and his name is amazing
+ Carlos Queiroz in their head coach
+ Their shirt has a cheetah on it(!)

Negatives

- Possibly going to be involved in nuclear war
- Seem to be pretty closely linked with Russia
- Poor record on women's rights

Morocco

Positives

+ Always quite like African sides
+ Have a Southampton (Bouffal) and Wolves (Saiss) player as the only British based guys in their squad

Negatives

- I don't think they'll be all that diddy
- I only included them because I was desperately looking for a fourth team, and Costa Rica are no longer accepted as diddies

Obviously I have to be impartial, but I think it's Panama for me. The other nations are all a bit too good, or a bit warmongery who treat their populations questionably. 

8 minutes ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

The Panamanians having a "Rangersy" kit is a MASSIVE turn off for me, going to have to steer away from that one.

Morocco it is.

It's not as bad as I'd feared. I initially saw this:

panama-2017-gold-cup-copa-oro-third-jers

But thankfully that's last year's away kit. Their WC home kit appears to be this:

new-balance-panama-2018-world-cup-home-a

So Panama play in red now and stuck it up the yanks. Panama for me please. I was close to taking Iran for Reza but like Saudi they’re a bit suspect shall we say on some things. Morocco don’t qualify as diddies imo

Panama seem like a great bunch of lads, but I'd love to see Russia knocked out of their own tournament in the First Round. The Saudis don't seem to have much chance of achieving that so Iran for me please. Plus them beating TGS in 1998 remains one of my favourite World Cup memories.

Not sure that Iran are all that "questionable". They're certainly not in the same boat as the Saudis. That's a brutal country and you'll find me wearing an England shirt and belting out GSTQ sooner than you'd find me supporting that lot. 

Given that Iranian women are the most beautiful on this earth (and the cameramens' penchant for focussing on said beauties) and that the place is just gorgeous, then it's Iran for me.

Reckon in the absence of Ireland or Cote D'Ivoire (upset about John Reid on the board Green Brigade Ireland) I'd go for Nigeria (Ireland without the orange) or Iceland (one letter away from Ireland). 

On 25/04/2018 at 15:16, microdave said:

Panama for me. It was between them and Morocco who miss out because they beat us 20 years ago!

This.

Morocco can GTF for 1998.

Iran can GTF for 1978.

Saudi Arabia can GTF for 1989.

I can't think of any reason to hold a grudge against Panama.

2 hours ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

Will be supporting Peru.

They have a one of the classic international strips and I've never heard of any of their players (except the brilliantly named Jefferson Farfan),

Peru for me too! I play 5s with a guy from Cusco

10 hours ago, Mark Connolly said:

This.

Morocco can GTF for 1998.
Iran can GTF for 1978.
Saudi Arabia can GTF for 1989.

I can't think of any reason to hold a grudge against Panama.

tenor.gif