The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

Enjoyed that interview with Dowds. 

Simple stuff really, just a wee Q&A over Zoom, but it makes a difference. Someone that knows how to ask questions and tap into what most fans are thinking about for the upcoming season.

Hopefully lots more of that kind of of thing as we progress thriugh the season - the kind of thing that has been missing for a while.

8 minutes ago, AUcal said:

Enjoyed that interview with Dowds. 

Simple stuff really, just a wee Q&A over Zoom, but it makes a difference. Someone that knows how to ask questions and tap into what most fans are thinking about for the upcoming season.

Hopefully lots more of that kind of of thing as we progress thriugh the season - the kind of thing that has been missing for a while.

If you're one of the UWS students having McLean around, must be a good buzz.  Probably learn more in 5 minutes with him than half their course.

4 minutes ago, callum-ayr said:

If you're one of the UWS students having McLean around, must be a good buzz.  Probably learn more in 5 minutes with him than half their course.

I’m sure he will have some priceless advice on do’s and dont’s in the business

My concerns are, there hasn’t traditionally been a lot of goals out of Dowds and Oakley and our defence has only one addition with two out and it was pish last year. 

Oakley and McCann have been over the course before so we should be confident they will do a job. Henderson hasn’t played much football in the last year so pre-season will be key to him. 
The rest are unknown quantities in this league. 

Brown never had a settled, fit back 4 last season and the squad was very unbalanced. He lost the bulk of the midfield in January and McHugh was ok in short spells but wasn’t great. 

We look in the best shape we have been in for maybe 4 years but there are still questions over the quality of the defence and midfield, a legacy of previous seasons but all being kept by Brown. So hopefully they will perform under his system. More expectation than concern. 

1 hour ago, Scott-ish said:

He'll be supporting one of the OF soon if he continues with that kind of behaviour. It's a slippery slope.

You’ve taken that too far min. 

38 minutes ago, diegomarahenry said:

We look in the best shape we have been in for maybe 4 years but there are still questions over the quality of the defence and midfield, a legacy of previous seasons but all being kept by Brown. So hopefully they will perform under his system. More expectation than concern. 

A ball winning central midfielder who provides some cover for the defence is the next priority for me. If we only got one new face in that would be it for me. A centre back and a full back and I'd be happy.

Aye still need to get the spine of the team right and I'd be pretty sure that CB and CM will be the positions Brown is talking about when he says he still wants at least a couple in.

Of course, nothing is guaranteed and there are any number of things that could go awry once we start playing. We've had what felt like confident summers before that have turned into awful seasons.

However, addressing those two positions + a RB would probably put us in the best position we have been for a number of years, at least on paper anyway.

The right additions in those areas, mixed with the league being as it is, and I see no reason why we couldn't have a stated aim of at least top four.

Edited by AUcal

Scott Burns linking us with a move for Jake Hastie, honestly not sure what Browns up to here.  Need to get looking at a defensive mid and centre half/right back next.

ETA - sounds like he is training with us with a view to winning a permanent deal.

Edited by callum-ayr

1 minute ago, callum-ayr said:

Scott Burns linking us with a move for Jake Hastie, honestly not sure what Browns up to here.  Need to get looking at a defensive mid and centre half/right back next.

We don’t need another player like him 

2 minutes ago, callum-ayr said:

Broonie don't be hasty.

Edited by Richey Edwards

10 minutes ago, callum-ayr said:

ETA - sounds like he is training with us with a view to winning a permanent deal.

Rus and Walker probably not going to hit the ground running similar to syla last season. So that only leaves Henderson and Murphy as other wingers plus there's a chance Henderson could be used more through the middle. 

41 minutes ago, callum-ayr said:

Hold Up Cooking GIF by Pudgy Penguins

While we strive for a team to hit the ground running, surely there must be an eye on who the coaching staff can coach to a better level, not just for us, but to move on at a healthy profit.

The age profile would definitely suggest that is the case, and may well be a case of making the most of the time we have Brown at Ayr.

Not such a bad thing to be overloaded in some areas, just as long as we cover all areas.