The Ultimate Super Ayr Thread

8 minutes ago, AuAl said:
10 minutes ago, Superhursy7 said:
Anybody else thinking it's a bit strange that most clubs are going back pre season next week and Shankland hasn't got a club yet? I thought he'd have been signed up straight away.

Think he is on holiday. Also seems very likely its sunderland he will be off to but they have a takeover in the offing currently. Maybe waiting till that's done before the singing.

With all the holidays he has been on he's going to be the size of a hoose by the time he starts training with someone haha

11 hours ago, Hawkes97 said:

Yep I agree, his comments certainly gave more perspective and insight into the often forgotten/undiscussed aspects of running the club. I was just wondering if anyone had heard any figures as I would have personally thought that Shankland would have been on around 1K a week.

This is fair enough, however do we not have these "running costs" every year ?

Were there any huge "one off" situations that have occurred this year in particular ?

The reason I ask this, is that from where I'm standing we had about an 80% increase in our home gates since the previous season, we had the successful Betfred run culminating in a lucrative away tie at Ibrox and we finished much higher in the league than anyone had expected with the additional prize money which went along with this.

We all know the above and we also know that ground improvements etc are a necessary evil but as I say, what I'm NOT understanding is why the budget has been cut in the way that it has, especially when the club kept going out of their way last season to explain how small our budget was in comparison with the rest of the league, so in reality we've had a massive cut to an already tiny budget for the division (according to our own official sources).

Don't get me wrong, if I'm being honest I think we can still survive next season with our current squad with the addition of a half decent striker and a competent Goalkeeper, however I wouldn't be expecting anything more than a tough season and more than likely a relegation battle. Of course this would all come with the caveat that the likes of Forrest can stay fit and that we get an early season Moffat and Kerr as opposed to the latter season versions, otherwise we could be in serious sh*t...............

Were there any huge "one off" situations that have occurred this year in particular ?
The reason I ask this, is that from where I'm standing we had about an 80% increase in our home gates since the previous season, we had the successful Betfred run culminating in a lucrative away tie at Ibrox and we finished much higher in the league than anyone had expected with the additional prize money which went along with this.
We all know the above and we also know that ground improvements etc are a necessary evil but as I say, what I'm NOT understanding is why the budget has been cut in the way that it has, especially when the club kept going out of their way last season to explain how small our budget was in comparison with the rest of the league, so in reality we've had a massive cut to an already tiny budget for the division (according to our own official sources).
Don't get me wrong, if I'm being honest I think we can still survive next season with our current squad with the addition of a half decent striker and a competent Goalkeeper, however I wouldn't be expecting anything more than a tough season and more than likely a relegation battle. Of course this would all come with the caveat that the likes of Forrest can stay fit and that we get an early season Moffat and Kerr as opposed to the latter season versions, otherwise we could be in serious sh*t...............
He did mention something to do with a court case most likely the Jonathan Tiffoney thing that wee fud probably cost us a small fortune.

In terms of the one off costs compared to running costs and judging by what Cameron said on FB we had the upgrades around Somerset, a court case (I’m guessing Tiffoneys), medical bills (McCall said that we were still paying for the operation that Docherty got in League 1) and the bonuses paid to the squad.

Apart from medical bills we wouldn’t have normally had to address the others or at least they wouldn’t have been as expensive.

The thing that is still annoying me on the SRE is that Cameron explained this pretty well and they’re still talking like the money has disappeared into thin air. Do they just ignore him or are they genuinely thick?

We will not survive or have anywhere near resembling a successful season unless we get a bare minimum of six players (Goalkeeper, Defender, Centre Midfield, Winger, Two Strikers)

9 minutes ago, D'Jaffo said:

In terms of the one off costs compared to running costs and judging by what Cameron said on FB we had the upgrades around Somerset, a court case (I’m guessing Tiffoneys), medical bills (McCall said that we were still paying for the operation that Docherty got in League 1) and the bonuses paid to the squad.

Apart from medical bills we wouldn’t have normally had to address the others or at least they wouldn’t have been as expensive.

The thing that is still annoying me on the SRE is that Cameron explained this pretty well and they’re still talking like the money has disappeared into thin air. Do they just ignore him or are they genuinely thick?

That's fair enough and personally I've got nothing but admiration for what Cameron has done for Ayr.

1 minute ago, ayrunitedfw said:

We will not survive or have anywhere near resembling a successful season unless we get a bare minimum of six players (Goalkeeper, Defender, Centre Midfield, Winger, Two Strikers)

I don't think we're in that bad a state. The likes of Arbroath and Alloa are remaining part time so far as I know and their squads are nothing like as strong as ours.

I'd also expect us, even with a reduced budget, to be competing with Morton and Queens as they've both got issues on and off the park similar to ourselves.

4 minutes ago, ayrunitedfw said:

There is a large difference between surviving and having a successful season. Right now we will survive but little more

13 minutes ago, ayrunitedfw said:

With the current squad I can’t see anything other than relegation.

Would you swap our squad for the Arbroath Squad and also Part Time Football ?

10 minutes ago, ayrunitedfw said:

It's this pish I just can't get my head around.  There's zero chance that by 3pm on the 3rd of August that we won't have signed a single player. Absolutely zero.  So you are predicting us to come bottom of the league based on absolutely nothing.  Nobody knows what quality the 5 or 6 signings that QoS will make for example. 

My oponion for what its worth, once we add a goalkeeper and 2 or 3 others the squad should be more than capable of finishing 8th and anything otherwise would be a failure from McCall.  

I agree totally with Ayr Exile in that an 8th place finish for example isnt a 'succesful season' but also isn't relegation - its not a case of one or the other. 

2 minutes ago, Hursty said:

It's this pish I just can't get my head around.  There's zero chance that by 3pm on the 3rd of August that we won't have signed a single player. Absolutely zero.  So you are predicting us to come bottom of the league based on absolutely nothing.  Nobody knows what quality the 5 or 6 signings that QoS will make for example. 

My oponion for what its worth, once we add a goalkeeper and 2 or 3 others the squad should be more than capable of finishing 8th and anything otherwise would be a failure from McCall.  

I agree totally with Ayr Exile in that an 8th place finish for example isnt a 'succesful season' but also isn't relegation - its not a case of one or the other. 

So the height of your ambition is to finish 8th and presumably be the worst full time team in the league? Superb. 

1 minute ago, ayrunitedfw said:

So the height of your ambition is to finish 8th and presumably be the worst full time team in the league? Superb. 

Did you read what I said?  I wouldnt deem 8th as a successful season, no.  But you constantly giving it the 'woah is me' patter and predicting that we are definitely finishing bottom behind some other skint full time teams and 2 part time teams is getting really boring. 

The opening game is 6 weeks tomorrow.  

I know I've been a bit pessimistic recently and claimed to be knicker wetting but bloody hell I'm not that bad. Our team is good enough to beat the two part time teams in the league and finished 8th at least.

Anybody else thinking it's a bit strange that most clubs are going back pre season next week and Shankland hasn't got a club yet? I thought he'd have been signed up straight away.
Could say the same about Doolan

7 minutes ago, ayrunitedfw said:

There'll be a few that would be quite happy to squeak to 8th because remember where we were  blah blah and all that.  The only scenario I could  really see your prediction happening is if we don't sign a forward  or we panic and  end  with an Farid quality type one. That last PT season in the Championship is still fresh in the memory