What's The Worst Thing You Have Ever Seen?

Folk that know Glasgow and are of a certain age will remember that buses used to turn right off Argyle St and go round the back of the St Enoch Centre, just where the Superdry shop is now.  I remember vividly as a young boy walking along there with my mum and there was a commotion at the corner and a crowd of people gathered at the edge of the road.

A guy had been ran over by a bus and was lying in the gutter with people round him trying to resuscitate him.  I never saw his face due to the crowd round him and my mum steering me away from it, but I remember the dark pool of blood that was running along the gutter and down the drain.  As a young boy that disturbed me to the extent that I can't walk down there without thinking about it and wondering what happened to the guy. 

• Replies 149
1 minute ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Would probably leave those groups or report them to the police tbh. A collection of wrong ‘uns.

DeeMan is big mates with a number of IS, Taleban and Mexican drug cartel lads. That's why he got sent to Australia. 

1 minute ago, KnightswoodBear said:

Folk that know Glasgow and are of a certain age will remember that buses used to turn right off Argyle St and go round the back of the St Enoch Centre, just where the Superdry shop is now.  I remember vividly as a young boy walking along there with my mum and there was a commotion at the corner and a crowd of people gathered at the edge of the road.

A guy had been ran over by a bus and was lying in the gutter with people round him trying to resuscitate him.  I never saw his face due to the crowd round him and my mum steering me away from it, but I remember the dark pool of blood that was running along the gutter and down the drain.  As a young boy that disturbed me to the extent that I can't walk down there without thinking about it and wondering what happened to the guy. 

He was left feeling a bit flat. 

More because they bore me now more than the gory aspect.

It doesn’t bother me now either, I watched a few of them out of morbid curiosity though. The worst I saw was an American guy being beheaded around about the same time as Ken Bigley and he was making pig noises as his head was hanging on by a thread. I still remember the guys name but don’t want to be the one who encourages anyone to watch the video as it was pretty traumatic.

I would imagine I would be close to tears if I ever came across the sort of stuff that some people have talked about on here.

16 hours ago, Hedgecutter said:

Senorsoupe's winter sport post just brought this one flooding back  :(

Would have been mid 90's when I was skiing at Cairngorm, but near the bottom of one of the tows, a couple of parents were sledging with a very young toddler.  However, the mum put the wee bairn (2yo max) on the sledge by itself, which went further than expected and under the tape-fence, straight towards a pothole in the snow.   Both sledge and kid went  down into the icy stream below that would have undoubtedly swept it somewhere else below the snow sheet. 

I specifically remember the mum rushing after it and inconsolably screaming "my baby!  my baby!!!!" followed by the loud and desperate pleas for help before the dad ran down and they both burst into tears.  My dad eventually whisked me away from the scene, but I can only imagine that was going to be a recovery rather than a rescue seeing as nobody could see the kid down the flooded ice cave.  Truly horrific.

That's truely awful.

Parenting.

14 minutes ago, Honest_Man#1 said:

Would probably leave those groups or report them to the police tbh. A collection of wrong ‘uns.

The vast majority of people I know are in similar group chats with similar content. It's not exclusively gore - it's porn, funny vids, memes. I assumed most people were in similar groups as most of my work colleagues, mates here and back home are. 

Eta: And now I think about it, 2 of the guys in the chats are police. 

1 minute ago, Dee Man said:

The vast majority of people I know are in similar group chats with similar content. It's not exclusively gore - it's porn, funny vids, memes. I assumed most people were in similar groups as most of my work colleagues, mates here and back home are. 

Maybe I’m the strange one, but absolutely none of my mates are into sending each other porn or torture videos. Seems extremely weird to me tbh.

Gang fighting was a big thing growing up in the eastend of Glasgow,getting the bus home from the game was crazy times every window on the double Decker bus was smashed.
It became the norm,rival gangs knew the bus had to go through their area to get to another areas of the eastend,the norm was to lift  your seat and press it against the window and hide behind it  while the window got smashed,one boy didn't get his seat up to the window quick enough and died,two weeks later it all started again.

2 hours ago, Mallo_Madrid said:

I refuse to watch the vidoes of gore and torture. To the point I rarely ever open the videos in my whatsapp chats before a few comments have been made.

I'm obviously a fucking wet blanket but I don't care.

Who the f**k chooses to watch video clips of car accident victims or ISIS snuff films, and for entertainment? Don't get it at all.

53 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Who the f**k chooses to watch video clips of car accident victims or ISIS snuff films, and for entertainment? Don't get it at all.

Cards on the table here:  I've looked at them on occasion simply out of morbid anatomical curiosity, not entertainment as such.   Interesting to see the sort of stuff that forms the vast majority of one's self but you never see in the mirror.  There are also thoughts the likes of "what would it look like / how does the body respond?" when you hear that somebody fell from height or whatever.  I've certainly found it very eye-opening. 

Perhaps an element of the 'forbidden fruit' element too seeing as it's something you never normally get the chance to see (simplistic drawings in a textbook aren't really the same), but that's not the primary driver.

2 minutes ago, Hedgecutter said:

Cards on the table here:  I look at them on occasion simply out of morbid anatomical curiosity, not entertainment as such.   Interesting to see the sort of stuff that forms the vast majority of one's self but you never see in the mirror.  There's also thoughts the likes of "what would it look like / how does the body respond?" when you hear that somebody jumped off a bridge or whatever.    Perhaps an element of the 'forbidden fruit' element too seeing as it's something you never normally get the chance to see, but that's not the primary driver.

^^^The Pete Townshend "research" defence. 

3 hours ago, Dee Man said:

Eta: And now I think about it, 2 of the guys in the chats are police. 

Porn, funny vids and memes are one thing (well, three things) but gory videos of people actually dying or severely mutilated dead bodies are just sick. Anybody who enjoys watching that sort of thing should be locked up in case they try to create their own.

Mate fell from a tree and landed on one of this spiky black fences. Straight through his forearm just below the elbow.

The details from the Ian Watkins trial have got to be up there.

2 minutes ago, Angusfifer said:

Folk caught driving like arseholes should be shown videos/ photographs of the potential consequences of driving like an arsehole as part of their rehabilitation...