A View From The Terrace.

16 hours ago, craigkillie said:

This seemed like the best place to post this - Craig Fowler put together a Terrace Podcast special on racism where he interviewed Christian Nade, Sean Clare, Kevin Harper and Marvin Bartley about their experiences within and also outside of football. Obviously I'm not totally unbiased here, but I genuinely think it's one of the best podcasts ever put together by The Terrace and thought some of you might want to listen to it if you haven't already.

http://terracepodcast.net/racism/

Zombeavers follows 3 men and 3 women involved in a woodland House, probelm us theres a surrounding presence, spooky

23 hours ago, craigkillie said:

I have no idea, but it's generally my experience that Aberdeen aren't always the most co-operative club in terms of providing players for interviews etc.

Aberdonians treat anyone from south of Stonehaven like aliens coming to steal their jobs and livelihoods, I’m not surprised they are difficult to deal with. I had a job in Ellon for 5 months and was treated by the natives like I’d just landed from the Moon (I managed to amaze some of my colleagues by explaining 4G data to them, they were still on 3G at this time), solely down to where I was from and my ‘weegie’ accent (I’m not from Glasgow). It’s a form of racism, and we shouldn’t be afraid to call it out. It’s absolutely rife in Aberdeen, and I know numerous others who have similar stories. 

Edited by IrishBhoy

10 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

Aberdonians treat anyone from south of Stonehaven like aliens coming to steal their jobs and livelihoods, I’m not surprised they are difficult to deal with. I had a job in Ellon for 5 months and was treated by the natives like I’d just landed from the Moon (I managed to amaze some of my colleagues by explaining 4G data to them, they were still on 3G at this time), solely down to where I was from and my ‘weegie’ accent (I’m not from Glasgow). It’s a form of racism, and we shouldn’t be afraid to call it out. It’s absolutely rife in Aberdeen, and I know numerous others who have similar stories. 

Dinna spik pish, min.

Just now, Zapp Brannigan said:

Dinna spik pish, min.

I actually worked with a young guy from Fraserburgh, boy in his early 20’s, and genuinely could only understand about 10% of what he said. Different planet up there, I’m glad I’ve got a long term job back down here amongst civilisation. 

This seemed like the best place to post this - Craig Fowler put together a Terrace Podcast special on racism where he interviewed Christian Nade, Sean Clare, Kevin Harper and Marvin Bartley about their experiences within and also outside of football. Obviously I'm not totally unbiased here, but I genuinely think it's one of the best podcasts ever put together by The Terrace and thought some of you might want to listen to it if you haven't already.
http://terracepodcast.net/racism/

This really is a terrific listen, very enlightening to get first hand accounts and brought to light some stuff I’ve never even considered as well obvious, blatant racism (such as the restaurant story).
There was also a bit of a section on the guardian football podcast focussing more on the language used in commentary/punditry that’s worth listening to as well.
Ps, zoombeavers sounds fucking shite.

36 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

I actually worked with a young guy from Fraserburgh, boy in his early 20’s, and genuinely could only understand about 10% of what he said. Different planet up there, I’m glad I’ve got a long term job back down here amongst civilisation. 

Aye I'Broch has a bit of a reputation. But to suggest everyone from there or Aberdeen(shire) is like what you said is nonsense.

Some people have probably grown up and lived in the same area their whole life and there perhaps is a "fear of outsiders" mentality. But that's not something specific to Aberdeen(shire).

Assuming you're from Ireland because of your alias, you've probably been subjected to some form of prejudice in your life. But I don't automatically assume you're a drunk that smashes up pubs and frightens / attacks locals with anti-social behaviour on the streets. Because I've met those guys. But I've also met teetotalers, probably because they've witnessed enough of what I just described.

To summarise, there's arseholes everywhere. Unless you're unfortunate enough that you have to work with them, you don't have to associate with them. But in my experience, they're outnumbered by the good guys if you're prepared to look.

Edited by Zapp Brannigan

4 minutes ago, Zapp Brannigan said:

Aye I'Broch has a bit of a reputation. But to suggest everyone from there or Aberdeen(shire) is like what you said is nonsense.

Some people have probably grown up and lived in the same area their whole life and there perhaps is a "fear of outsiders" mentality. But that's not something specific to Aberdeen(shire).

Assuming you're from Ireland because of your alias, you've probably been subjected to some form of prejudice in your life. But I don't automatically assume you're a drunk that smashes up pubs and frightens / attacks locals with anti-social behaviour on the streets. Because I've met those guys. But I've also met teetotalers, probably because they've witnessed enough of what I just described.

To summarise, there's arseholes everywhere. Unless you're unfortunate enough that you have to work with them, you don't have to associate with them. But in my experience, they're outnumbered by the good guys if you're prepared to look.

I wasn’t being completely serious tbf, but in my experience the people I worked with in Aberdeen weren’t very welcoming at all.  Very unfriendly in a way that I don’t think you would get working in Glasgow. 

56 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

I wasn’t being completely serious tbf, but in my experience the people I worked with in Aberdeen weren’t very welcoming at all.  Very unfriendly in a way that I don’t think you would get working in Glasgow. 

Perhaps not, I'll never know. You have the right to your opinion just like anyone else. Having experienced both sides as well, I can say that Glaswegians are probably more open than Aberdonian's so they appear more immediately friendly. I can find it obnoxious sometimes depending on the person but that's maybe the reserved Aberdonian side of me

8 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

And there's your "form of racism" back at you.

I was mostly joking tbh, but claiming the central belt to be a more civilised area than Aberdeen isn’t racist, it’s an absolute fact. 

1 minute ago, Zapp Brannigan said:

Perhaps not, I'll never know. You have the right to your opinion just like anyone else. Having experienced both sides as well, I can say that Glaswegians are probably more open than Aberdonian's so they appear more immediately friendly. I can find it obnoxious sometimes depending on the person but that's maybe the reserved Aberdonian side of me

Yeah there is plenty of complete dicks in Glasgow as well, not disputing that at all. It was more to do with the welcoming of a new start in your workplace. I had moved from Glasgow to Aberdeen (I rented a house in Blackburn so not strictly Aberdeen) for a full time job, mid twenties, nervous and apprehensive about moving away and all that, and on my first day the vibe that I was getting was like I was taking a job off someone from Aberdeen.  I went out for a smoke at lunchtime 5 or 6 guys standing at the shelter and not one spoke to me. That wouldn’t happen in the central belt, I could say that quite confidently. You are correct in that it may just have been my luck that I worked along side a bunch of c***s, but there seems to be an arrogance among people in that corner of Scotland which I think is linked to the oil money,  obviously that’s exacerbated if you work in a job related to oil and gas. There was an 18 year old apprentice in that company who drove an M5, apparently his dad was high up in one of the big oil companies and they had a big f**k off house in Balmedie. Naturally he never spoke to me once. 

13 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

I was mostly joking tbh, but claiming the central belt to be a more civilised area than Aberdeen isn’t racist, it’s an absolute fact. 

Depends what you're referring to when you say civilised. If you mean on a cultural level then I agree Aberdeen is miles behind in that area. But there are factors such as funding, that central belt areas have received significantly more of than Aberdeen from the government to implement and improve. There have been a few independent organisations recently that have taken it upon themselves to improve the cultural scene in Aberdeen. Nuart for instance brings in artists from all over the world to paint murals on the city walls and spaces. They host walking tours throughout the summer so people can see them. I hope the pandemic doesn't see things like this disappear completely.

Central belt areas, however, have a higher violent crime rate than Aberdeen. Do you consider that civilised? Again, factors such as higher population density is going to make this more understandable. But it also reinforces the fact that you can't make sweeping generalisations about things without considering other factors involved.

5 minutes ago, Zapp Brannigan said:

Central belt areas, however, have a higher violent crime rate than Aberdeen. Do you consider that civilised? Again, factors such as higher population density is going to make this more understandable. But it also reinforces the fact that you can't make sweeping generalisations about things without considering other factors involved.

I agree tbh, my original post wasn’t wholly serious. Aberdeen is similar to the central belt in the sense that you could be standing in the biggest shithole housing scheme, where crime rates are through the roof, but still only be a 5 minute drive from the more desirable areas. Ferguslie Park in Paisley is well known as one of the most poverty stricken areas in the UK, I think they even took the European title a few years ago, but you could take a 3 minute car journey to the area around the hospital and find  multiple gated mansions. 

There was a housing scheme I used to drive through in Aberdeen that looked like it would give Ferguslie a run for its money in the shithole stakes. Can’t remember the name but it was beside a KFC that sat on the edge of a roundabout. 

Yeah there is plenty of complete dicks in Glasgow as well, not disputing that at all. It was more to do with the welcoming of a new start in your workplace. I had moved from Glasgow to Aberdeen (I rented a house in Blackburn so not strictly Aberdeen) for a full time job, mid twenties, nervous and apprehensive about moving away and all that, and on my first day the vibe that I was getting was like I was taking a job off someone from Aberdeen.  I went out for a smoke at lunchtime 5 or 6 guys standing at the shelter and not one spoke to me. That wouldn’t happen in the central belt, I could say that quite confidently. You are correct in that it may just have been my luck that I worked along side a bunch of c***s, but there seems to be an arrogance among people in that corner of Scotland which I think is linked to the oil money,  obviously that’s exacerbated if you work in a job related to oil and gas. There was an 18 year old apprentice in that company who drove an M5, apparently his dad was high up in one of the big oil companies and they had a big f**k off house in Balmedie. Naturally he never spoke to me once. 
Oil and Gas breeds wankers like no other industry. It's amazing the heights some high school educated bangers seem to believe they have reached because they earn above average money.

Just now, Bairnardo said:
39 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

Oil and Gas breeds wankers like no other industry. It's amazing the heights some high school educated bangers seem to believe they have reached because they earn above average money.

I will clean your clock m9!

1 minute ago, Bairnardo said:
40 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

I worked in Oil and Gas but not offshore, but even the on shore guys had an arrogance. 

When I first moved up I had to stay in a B and B in Dyce that was next to the Spiders Web pub, apparently famous among the offshore workers as they come off the chopper and straight into the pub acting like Pablo Escobar. I went in on a Tuesday to watch a Champions League game and about 30 boys bounce through the door like Rod Stewart at a hen doo, launch their rucksacks all across the floor and up to the bar buying pints and shots and all sorts. To be fair most of them were English but there was a few Scottish guys with them as well. I’ve never witnessed a group of guys act the way they did in my life. 

6 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

I worked in Oil and Gas but not offshore, but even the on shore guys had an arrogance. 

When I first moved up I had to stay in a B and B in Dyce that was next to the Spiders Web pub, apparently famous among the offshore workers as they come off the chopper and straight into the pub acting like Pablo Escobar. I went in on a Tuesday to watch a Champions League game and about 30 boys bounce through the door like Rod Stewart at a hen doo, launch their rucksacks all across the floor and up to the bar buying pints and shots and all sorts. To be fair most of them were English but there was a few Scottish guys with them as well. I’ve never witnessed a group of guys act the way they did in my life. 

Oh the horror!

2 minutes ago, IrishBhoy said:

They were openly taking cocaine in the toilet and one of them done a shite in a urinal. Is that any better for you? 

Is that what Pablo Escobar did?

I toke it this never happens in the central belt?

Edited by johnnydun