Coronavirus (COVID-19)

3 hours ago, Steven W said:

Right now, whilst it's true that the mortality rate is coming down a little, it seems that until a vaccine is found ( next year at earliest) anything that comes under the banner of 'fun' has no hope of going ahead.

"under the banner of 'fun" " eh? So that means there's a good chance of the League restarting soon then.. 

I'm not a fan at all but if they were genuinely acting on scientific advice then it's hard to blame one person.
What I think they should apologise for is the running down of the health service over decades.
The scientific advisers who came up with the herd immunity pish should be called out.

I mentioned at the start of April, Scotland will be asked to wear face masks by the end of the month.  That's what is happening, before any lifts on the lockdown will happen.

As always, we are ahead of the game and so could you, start making these mothers and get selling.

A vendor sells plastic face shields as protection against Covid-19 coronavirus at a stall in Bangkok on Monday. (AFP photo)

2 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

Most Trade Unions in this country are traditionally conservative organisations.  They have been very muted during this crisis.

1 hour ago, Dele said:

I was under the impression Unite was Labour? 

I was under the impression that unions were socialists. Silly me.

In Scotland how many unions have decried Trident being based at Faslane?

I keep harping on about Trident but that issue should be above party politics.

No sane person should accept nuclear weapons in Scotland. All it takes is a nuclear accident at Coulport/Faslane and there is a radio-active cloud hanging above Glasgow just waiting on a fair wind blowing towards the East to take it over the Central Belt.

That would mean for millenia Scotland would be a no-go area and would cease to exist as a country.

Also how many unions have decried HS2 and the share that Scotland has to pay?

Along with all the other expensive England-only projects.

I worked for 30 years in the Railways and back in the day I was called a tartan tory because I opted out of paying a political levy to the Labour party.

How times have changed.

In Scotland the Tories and the Labour parties (including the Unions) are twa cheeks o’ the same erse.

Both unionist and both delighted that Trident is in Scotland.

Finally how many guid socialist union leaders are in the HoL?

Finally, finally I have a lassie and three grandkids and I want them to grow and prosper in a nuclear free Scotland and the ONLY way that can happen is by Independence.

Ye ken it makes sense.

Here's the Mintermind from the Sun who thinks the Scottish govt. approach to the Covid19 pandemic is to embarrass the tories.

Yet again, Sturgeon announces a measure before the UK Govt. If it's not a concerted attempt to embarrass Westminster, it's having precisely that effect anyway.

norman smith

@BBCNormanS
· 1h
Scottish Govt recommend face coverings in shops and public transport
12:44 PM · Apr 28, 2020·Twitter Web App

2 minutes ago, Wee Willie said:

I was under the impression that unions were socialists. Silly me.

In Scotland how many unions have decried Trident being based at Faslane?

I keep harping on about Trident but that issue should be above party politics.

No sane person should accept nuclear weapons in Scotland. All it takes is a nuclear accident at Coulport/Faslane and there is a radio-active cloud hanging above Glasgow just waiting on a fair wind blowing towards the East to take it over the Central Belt.

That would mean for millenia Scotland would be a no-go area and would cease to exist as a country.

Also how many unions have decried HS2 and the share that Scotland has to pay?

Along with all the other expensive England-only projects.

I worked for 30 years in the Railways and back in the day I was called a tartan tory because I opted out of paying a political levy to the Labour party.

How times have changed.

In Scotland the Tories and the Labour parties (including the Unions) are twa cheeks o’ the same erse.

Both unionist and both delighted that Trident is in Scotland.

Finally how many guid socialist union leaders are in the HoL?

Finally, finally I have a lassie and three grandkids and I want them to grow and prosper in a nuclear free Scotland and the ONLY way that can happen is by Independence.

Ye ken it makes sense.

I would say unions are socialist at branch level however the folk in charge of the unions are getting unbelievable coin.

As for are unions, I have no idea if unions are for or against trident. 

Trident should be first thing on the scrap heap once the virus is over and the gov are looking and penny pinching, it's clear nuclear warfare would actually be easier to deal with than a pandemic flu

Guest Bob Mahelp
24 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

The EU is apparently in discussion to allow (limited) travel within its borders to EU citizens, and those who reside in EU.

It will not apply though to UK residents, allegedly. So forget France and Greece, start thinking about Ayr and Bognor. 

3 minutes ago, Bob Mahelp said:

The Express excels in lunacy and bitterness, but this is probably my favourite so far...

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1274909/coronavirus-uk-news-lockdown-latest-remainers-government-rules-covid-19-boris-johnson

The poll of their readers below this story have 88% of their proud Brits telling Sturgeon to shut up and eat her cereal when it comes down to lockdown decisions.

Guest Bob Mahelp
17 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

06C09B36-1A53-4360-B5FA-0C3ED48F666A.thumb.jpeg.42fe762d2f19c3e00c22a976a9e2d931.jpeg

...not until the next election.

#toryausteritykills

Not until Brexit, where Tories and other old ignorant, xenophobic fuckwits demand that all foreigners are kicked out. 

The poll of their readers below this story have 88% of their proud Brits telling Sturgeon to shut up and eat her cereal when it comes down to lockdown decisions.

If she’s pissing off the Express readers to that extent then by definition she’s doing a great job. Typical click bait shite from the Daily Depress.

32 minutes ago, 101 said:

I would say unions are socialist at branch level however the folk in charge of the unions are getting unbelievable coin.

As for are unions, I have no idea if unions are for or against trident. 

Trident should be first thing on the scrap heap once the virus is over and the gov are looking and penny pinching, it's clear nuclear warfare would actually be easier to deal with than a pandemic flu

What I can remember of unions at Branch level is they call everybody brother.

Course ye cannae call a lord brother unless you yourself are a lord.

Presumably that's why there are some staunch socialist union leaders in the HoL.