Coronavirus (COVID-19)

15 minutes ago, Snafu said:

Its been up already but worth repeating - this time from GovUK.

Has to be a good thing that the government acknowledge what most of us already are seeing.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/vaccines-highly-effective-against-hospitalisation-from-delta-variant

Vaccines highly effective against hospitalisation from Delta variant

New analysis by PHE shows for the first time that 2 doses of COVID-19 vaccines are highly effective against hospitalisation from the Delta (B.1.617.2) variant.

The analysis suggests:

• the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is 96% effective against hospitalisation after 2 doses
  • the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine is 92% effective against hospitalisation after 2 doses

These are comparable with vaccine effectiveness against hospitalisation from the Alpha variant.

Further work remains underway to establish the level of protection against mortality from the Delta variant. However, as with other variants, this is expected to be high.

The analysis included 14,019 cases of the Delta variant – 166 of whom were hospitalised – between 12 April and 4 June, looking at emergency hospital admissions in England.

Public Health England (PHE) has previously published analysis showing that one dose is 17% less effective at preventing symptomatic illness from the Delta variant, compared to Alpha, but there is only a small difference after 2 doses.

Health and Social Care Secretary, Matt Hancock said:

Our UK vaccination programme continues at pace and has already saved thousands of lives. It is our way out of this pandemic.

This evidence of the effectiveness of 2 doses against variants shows just how crucial it is to get your second jab.

If you have had your first dose but haven’t booked your second yet – please do so. It will help save lives and boost us on the road to recovery.

Dr Mary Ramsay, Head of Immunisation at PHE, said:

These hugely important findings confirm that the vaccines offer significant protection against hospitalisation from the Delta variant.

The vaccines are the most important tool we have against COVID-19. Thousands of lives have already been saved because of them.

It is absolutely vital to get both doses as soon as they are offered to you, to gain maximum protection against all existing and emerging variants.

Public Health England (PHE) has previously published analysis showing that one dose is 17% less effective at preventing symptomatic illness from the Delta variant, compared to Alpha, but there is only a small difference after 2 doses.

Vaccines Minister, Na***** Zahawi said:

It is extremely encouraging to see today’s research showing that vaccines are continuing to help break the link between hospitalisation and the Delta variant after one dose, and particularly the high effectiveness of 2 doses.

If you’re getting the call to bring forward your second dose appointment – do not delay – get the second jab so you can benefit from the fullest possible protection.

Separate PHE analysis indicates that the COVID-19 vaccination programme has so far prevented 14,000 deaths and around 42,000 hospitalisations in older people in England, up to 30 May.

Are cigar smoking men attractive to women? - Quora

Over to you Jason and your 30%.

But the thing is that we just don’t know.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

Yeah let’s not listen to the experts.  That makes sense.

The early exposé of the government failure to take the findings of Operation Cygnus seriously shouldn’t be forgotten.  If we’d listened to the experts then we’d probably be in a better place now.

By 'the government' do you mean the Scottish Government as well as the UK Government? After all, both have made a c**t of it equally - certainly in the early stages.

Further work remains underway to establish the level of protection against mortality from the Delta variant. However, as with other variants, this is expected to be high.

Is the above one of the most stupid statements of the entire pandemic so far?  If protection against hospitalisation is high then unless people are dying in the street of course protection against mortality is going to be high.  Far higher than hospitalisation.

57 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

So vaccines work,  people aren’t getting severely ill and very few are dying.

Remind me why we are pursuing longer restrictions?

Because according to Sage young people are going dying from a respiratory disease in the middle of the summer if we open back up.

It's utter bollocks and should hopefully wake a few people up. 

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

Yeah, listening to the P&B ‘experts’ is a far better idea.

Absolutely - but when they scream into the abyss that is this thread, they can convince themselves that “most people” are in agreement with them.

I was thinking back to the launch of the roadmap, and the hot takes on here that Boris had it bang on, and wouldn’t change his mind - why could Nicola not give us a certain end date when Boris could?  Completely disassociated from the lived experience of the past year and a quarter, but it played to their narrative. 

1 hour ago, Snafu said:

Its been up already but worth repeating - this time from GovUK.

Has to be a good thing that the government acknowledge what most of us already are seeing.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/vaccines-highly-effective-against-hospitalisation-from-delta-variant

Vaccines highly effective against hospitalisation from Delta variant

New analysis by PHE shows for the first time that 2 doses of COVID-19 vaccines are highly effective against hospitalisation from the Delta (B.1.617.2) variant.

The analysis suggests:

• the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is 96% effective against hospitalisation after 2 doses
  • the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine is 92% effective against hospitalisation after 2 doses

These are comparable with vaccine effectiveness against hospitalisation from the Alpha variant.

Further work remains underway to establish the level of protection against mortality from the Delta variant. However, as with other variants, this is expected to be high.

The analysis included 14,019 cases of the Delta variant – 166 of whom were hospitalised – between 12 April and 4 June, looking at emergency hospital admissions in England.

Health and Social Care Secretary, Matt Hancock said:

Our UK vaccination programme continues at pace and has already saved thousands of lives. It is our way out of this pandemic.

This evidence of the effectiveness of 2 doses against variants shows just how crucial it is to get your second jab.

If you have had your first dose but haven’t booked your second yet – please do so. It will help save lives and boost us on the road to recovery.

Dr Mary Ramsay, Head of Immunisation at PHE, said:

These hugely important findings confirm that the vaccines offer significant protection against hospitalisation from the Delta variant.

The vaccines are the most important tool we have against COVID-19. Thousands of lives have already been saved because of them.

It is absolutely vital to get both doses as soon as they are offered to you, to gain maximum protection against all existing and emerging variants.

Vaccines Minister, Na***** Zahawi said:

It is extremely encouraging to see today’s research showing that vaccines are continuing to help break the link between hospitalisation and the Delta variant after one dose, and particularly the high effectiveness of 2 doses.

If you’re getting the call to bring forward your second dose appointment – do not delay – get the second jab so you can benefit from the fullest possible protection.

Separate PHE analysis indicates that the COVID-19 vaccination programme has so far prevented 14,000 deaths and around 42,000 hospitalisations in older people in England, up to 30 May.

Are cigar smoking men attractive to women? - Quora

Over to you Jason and your 30%.

Is that not exactly what Jason is saying?  30% is 1 dose.  Your article is about 2 doses?

2 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

Absolutely - but when they scream into the abyss that is this thread, they can convince themselves that “most people” are in agreement with them.

I was thinking back to the launch of the roadmap, and the hot takes on here that Boris had it bang on, and wouldn’t change his mind - why could Nicola not give us a certain end date when Boris could?  Completely disassociated from the lived experience of the past year and a quarter, but it played to their narrative. 

Aye it’s a rabbit hole.  Sad to see certain posters go down it, definitely not surprising to see others.

9 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

Johnson never gave a certain end date.  Sturgeon has given nothing other than we don’t know, a few more weeks and new normal.  Even now there is nothing published by SG about how we get out of this or even what getting out of this actually means.. Given their senior advisors are peddling all manner of shite in the media and framing it as policy are you surprised people are hoping Johnson forces her to put an end to this? 

The SG are completely lost in all this.

22 minutes ago, Left Back said:

are you surprised people are hoping Johnson forces her to put an end to this? 

The SG are completely lost in all this.

He’s doing a fantastic job of that, isn’t he?  So yes, i am surprised.  

One government has consistently over promised and then completely failed to deliver.  

8 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

He’s doing a fantastic job of that, isn’t he?  So yes, i am surprised.  

One government has consistently over promised and then completely failed to deliver.  

Boris Johnson making a complete c**t of it doesn't automatically mean Sturgeon hasn't.

They've both royally fucked it this year by consistently changing their message and never committing to an actual end point.

Nobody was demanding a date, but just a point in the vaccination process when everything can open up. Most frustration comes from the never ending humming and hawing.

What's the point in young people getting vaccinated just now when there's  no real risk for them, plus no end point in sight, and we're constantly getting told by Jason Leitch that there's hundred sof variants around the corner that current vaccines don't protect against?

Edited by RandomGuy.

6 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Boris Johnson making a complete c**t of it doesn't automatically mean Sturgeon hasn't.

They've both royally fucked it this year by consistently changing their message and never committing to an actual end point.

Nobody was demanding a date, but just a point in the vaccination process when everything can open up. Most frustration comes from the never ending humming and hawing.

What's the point in young people getting vaccinated just now when there's  no real risk for them, plus no end point in sight, and we're constantly getting told by Jason Leitch that there's hundred sof variants around the corner that current vaccines don't protect against?

I must have been reading a different thread then.  Dates were absolutely being demanded and BJ being held up as a shining example to Nicola as he was providing them.  

Those that questioned whether BJ would keep to them were of course instantly red-dotted by the “Main Event”. 

I must have been reading a different thread then.  Dates were absolutely being demanded and BJ being held up as a shining example to Nicola as he was providing them.  
Those that questioned whether BJ would keep to them were of course instantly red-dotted by the “Main Event”. 
You seem annoyed that folk might want some timescales as to when we might get our freedoms back after 15 months (and counting) of restrictions.

A strange position to take.

2 minutes ago, Ron Aldo said:

You seem annoyed that folk might want some timescales as to when we might get our freedoms back after 15 months (and counting) of restrictions.

A strange position to take.

Not at all - but if you want to categorise it that way, feel free.  

42 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

Tbf at this stage of the vaccination process they should have a date in mind for lifting all restrictions.

This "Level 0" pish is embarrassing. 

3 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Tbf at this stage of the vaccination process they should have a date in mind for lifting all restrictions.

This "Level 0" pish is embarrassing. 

Agreed. Even governments around the world that made a bigger c**t of it seem to have plans of how this ends when we don’t.

The Ontario Government in Canada for example have said restrictions reduce as higher percentages get vaccinated.

If we came out and said as soon as 80% of the population is vaccinated you can get out and finger random birds in nightclubs again the younger age group would be rocketed through.