What are the things you hate regarding fitba?

Sounds reasonable in principle but the amount of fannying about on and off the park (particularly in the EPL), games would end up taking 180 minutes to complete!
Feigned injuries, petty fouls, VAR checks, extended goal celebrations, delays in taking goal kicks and set pieces, players and coaches/managers contesting decisions, pointless late substitutions following a lengthy exchange of on/off players etc.....this is all BEFORE any deliberate time wasting or legitimate stoppages are taken into account. 3 O’clock Saturday games would last until after 6.00pm![emoji15]

This is true. With all the stuff you mention it makes you wonder how much time is actually spent playing the game at a football match.

2 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

This is true. With all the stuff you mention it makes you wonder how much time is actually spent playing the game at a football match.

The ball is in play for about 60 minutes,  it does vary tho,  can be down towards 45 minutes.

That does include the ball being in the keepers hands or being held up at the corner flag etc tho, so if you wanted to remove them it will be less.

When talking about the delayed flag going up for offside (which I agree can be stupidly long sometimes) but when people say “It’ll result in an injury one day”.

Nobody gets injured because of a delayed flag, it’s essentially an extra few extra seconds of football. They might get injured whilst the play continues but talking as though it’s a direct cause (as McManaman just did in the Liverpool v Watford game) is completely stupid and given I don’t think it’s even happened up till now, a daft argument at this point.

57 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

When talking about the delayed flag going up for offside (which I agree can be stupidly long sometimes) but when people say “It’ll result in an injury one day”.

Nobody gets injured because of a delayed flag, it’s essentially an extra few extra seconds of football. They might get injured whilst the play continues but talking as though it’s a direct cause (as McManaman just did in the Liverpool v Watford game) is completely stupid and given I don’t think it’s even happened up till now, a daft argument at this point.

Sounds a bit like the old "if the West hadn't been such a dick to Putin, he wouldn't have invaded Ukraine" argument.

Yes he would. He's a c*nt. 

Folk who seem to think that the evolution of football should've stopped when they were in their prime and have no intention of learning how the game has changed.  "False nines?  What a nonsense.  Inverted wingers?  What's that pish?  Attacking midfielders?  What a nonsense."  

Same goes for people who think fans should deserve the bare minimum and deride any complaints about a match experience.  Football isn't a cheap hobby anymore.  I don't think any fans expect facilities and service akin to the Savoy but some seem too willing to roll over and expect the absolute bare mimimum.

13 hours ago, Highland Capital said:

Folk who seem to think that the evolution of football should've stopped when they were in their prime and have no intention of learning how the game has changed.  "False nines?  What a nonsense.  Inverted wingers?  What's that pish?  Attacking midfielders?  What a nonsense."  

Same goes for people who think fans should deserve the bare minimum and deride any complaints about a match experience.  Football isn't a cheap hobby anymore.  I don't think any fans expect facilities and service akin to the Savoy but some seem too willing to roll over and expect the absolute bare mimimum.

This one annoys me especially, since false nines have been part of the game for almost a century now.

People who don't know this are football frauds who should be forced to pass an exam before being allowed to watch another game or ever talk about football.

IMO.

I really do not like modern football. This is strange, because I am a member of this forum (a FOOTBALL forum) and post regularly. 

The one thing that keeps me paying any attention to football is my love for Ayr United and the Scottish national team - which remains unextinguished. I could not care less about the Champions League or any competition outside of where Ayr United and Scotland operate.

The over-commercialisation of football has killed it stone dead. The game that we all fell in love with has become secondary to financial and marketing concerns. 

2 hours ago, Richey Edwards said:

I really do not like modern football. This is strange, because I am a member of this forum (a FOOTBALL forum) and post regularly. 

The one thing that keeps me paying any attention to football is my love for Ayr United and the Scottish national team - which remains unextinguished. I could not care less about the Champions League or any competition outside of where Ayr United and Scotland operate.

The over-commercialisation of football has killed it stone dead. The game that we all fell in love with has become secondary to financial and marketing concerns. 

Fitba is great, you just need to pick and choose what you watch.

I've barely watched a Champions League game for years, and only really watch the Premier League if it's on in the pub when I'm out with mates etc.

But I probably go to more football than ever these days. I go to most Hearts games, watch any of my local EFL teams whenever the chance comes up, and quite often find myself going along to one of my local non-league teams.

It sounds really simple, but just cut out the stuff you don't like. The Champions League etc isn't for me, so I just ignore it and that's fine.

9 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

Fitba is great, you just need to pick and choose what you watch.

I've barely watched a Champions League game for years, and only really watch the Premier League if it's on in the pub when I'm out with mates etc.

But I probably go to more football than ever these days. I go to most Hearts games, watch any of my local EFL teams whenever the chance comes up, and quite often find myself going along to one of my local non-league teams.

It sounds really simple, but just cut out the stuff you don't like. The Champions League etc isn't for me, so I just ignore it and that's fine.

It's hard to avoid as it is covered by the media as if it is the pinnacle of the game. It really isn't. It's the pinnacle of the commercial side. The game itself was sidelined from the Champions League and Premiership long ago.

I would rather watch a random lower league game than a Champions League or Premiership game.

I was speaking with a professional footballer yesterday who was trying their best to kill my love for the game. "The first thing you need to learn is your teammates aren't your friends, they're all snakes." "I never go for a 50/50 as I don't want to get injured" and so on. Really depressing conversation, probably what a lot of parties think but are too afraid to admit.

19 minutes ago, DiegoDiego said:

I was speaking with a professional footballer yesterday who was trying their best to kill my love for the game. "The first thing you need to learn is your teammates aren't your friends, they're all snakes." "I never go for a 50/50 as I don't want to get injured" and so on. Really depressing conversation, probably what a lot of parties think but are too afraid to admit.

Adam Barton? He's pretty much the only professional I've seen admit that in interviews. 

My main bugbear are really soft fouls like the ones I call "crash for cash" fouls where players are shielding the ball at the goal line or touchline, are going nowhere and fall over as soon as the opposition player puts a hand on them. 

Or defenders heading the ball away in their own box then falling over, always a guaranteed free kick winner late in a game. 

People blocking quick free kicks too, should be allowed to boot them out the way. 

The atletico stuff last night where its proper mean spirited is fine though. 

1 hour ago, DiegoDiego said:

Aye. We've got a footballer in the missus's family through marriage. He's a good guy and I enjoy his company. But talking to him makes me very glad I never made it in football. Sounds like an awful life.

High-level football is actually really boring to play because everything is so technical and pre-planned, no real mates in football, most footballers are immature p***ks anyway, loads of time bored in hotels, loads of time away from your family, you miss weddings, birthdays, Christmas doesn't exist, impossible to plan a normal life as you could be moving hundreds of miles with little say in the matter in a few months.

Most depressing thing he ever said to me was confirming that players 100% toss games off to get the manager sacked or sometimes to get a favoured member of the group back in the team. Looked at me like I was mad for asking.

Just sounds awful. He's genuinely jealous that my experience of football is fun days out with my mates. His experience of it is insecurity, loneliness, and a lot of boredom.

Edited by VincentGuerin

Last night, I had an epiphany as I watched Will Foden roll about 20 metres back onto the pitch while pretending to be hurt.
I thought "why am I watching this shite?"
And then it was all made worth while watching the Athletico player drag him back off the pitch.

22 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Aye. We've got a footballer in the missus's family through marriage. He's a good guy and I enjoy his company. But talking to him makes me very glad I never made it in football. Sounds like an awful life.

High-level football is actually really boring to play because everything is so technical and pre-planned, no real mates in football, most footballers are immature p***ks anyway, loads of time bored in hotels, loads of time away from your family, you miss weddings, birthdays, Christmas doesn't exist, impossible to plan a normal life as you could be moving hundreds of miles with little say in the matter in a few months.

Most depressing thing he ever said to me was confirming that players 100% toss games off to get the manager sacked or sometimes to get a favoured member of the group back in the team. Looked at me like I was mad for asking.

Just sounds awful. He's genuinely jealous that my experience of football is fun days out with my mates. His experience of it is insecurity, loneliness, and a lot of boredom.

I was thinking about this the other day. Can’t mind what game I was watching but I was thinking if I played in the Barclays what my life would be like and it’s pretty much how you described it. Everything arranged for you, you’re whole life so regimented, you can’t just go to the pub on a night with your mates, on a bus fucking constantly, your teammates 90% of the time being high level morons. 

Yes you’re a millionaire, but you’d feel trapped imo. I’d be longing for the day I’d retire. I’d probably set myself a monetary target and as soon as I reached it, I’d jack the football in for a normal life. 

1 hour ago, DrewDon said:

This sort of thing on Twitter. 

This bloke has dedicated a ten-Tweet thread to a footballer essentially having working eyes and using them, and seems to be trying to pass it off as some sort of innovative analysis. 

He’ll have a job with The Athletic in no time.