Heads Gone - The Peppino Impastato Memorial Thread

Add me to this fucking thread. The wife isn’t going to see her old man this week after all. I’m fucking livid.
Ha!
I have had this in relation to next weekend when the missus was meant to be going away on a Hen do (shudder) for one of her old school pals.
Away to some spa thing for the weekend, leaving me with my choice of fitba and the hoose to myself upon my return after a few pints in the evening, then Sunday in the garden to myself.
Turns out there's been trouble in paradise, so the wedding's off, so the Hen do got cancelled, along with my weekend-long empty.
I am fucking devastated and furious at whichever one of those two p***ks fucked up their engagement.
Sorry lads, but GIRFUY on a purely "If I can't have it I don't want anyone else to have it" basis.

4 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Sorry lads, but GIRFUY on a purely "If I can't have it I don't want anyone else to have it" basis.

f**k you.

My weekend has gone from a probable trip to Annan v Elgin followed by a nice trip to our wee local pub once I get home to, 'That means we can go Rob and Kathryn's for their wee boy's birthday'.

f**k you. f**k you. And f**k those formerly-engaged p***ks.

45 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

Add me to this fucking thread. The wife isn’t going to see her old man this week after all. I’m fucking livid.

What did you get from Sarah's? 

I was there this morning. Some selection. Some prices as well, right enough. :eek:

1 hour ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

What's he like? Good guy/w**k?

Maybe you'd be better off taking her place.

1 hour ago, Mr. Alli said:

What did you get from Sarah's? 

I was there this morning. Some selection. Some prices as well, right enough. :eek:

My plan was to take them both to Edinburgh Airport drop bairn at airport and then John Player Special was going to tram it into Edinburgh then get the bus to Glasgow etc.

I meanwhile was going to hotfoot it back up the road and stop in by to see Sarah and do the needful.

Fucking ruined. Absolutely raging.

31 minutes ago, Melanius Mullarkay said:

My plan was to take them both to Edinburgh Airport drop bairn at airport and then John Player Special was going to tram it into Edinburgh then get the bus to Glasgow etc.

I meanwhile was going to hotfoot it back up the road and stop in by to see Sarah and do the needful.

Fucking ruined. Absolutely raging.

db05091677735a540a1f3434fafd7874.gif

Headsgone for me on numerous counts this weekend: 

• It's too fucking hot
  • We're looking after my OH's pal's hamster while they're on holiday. Had it a week and it's fucked with wet-tail meaning a doubtless expensive trip to the vets which will also burn an hour or two of flexitime
  • It's far too fucking hot
  • My sister is trying to guilt trip me into basically taking a day off work, to pick her and my mum up at 2am to drive them to Edinburgh airport because she's scared of roads she doesn't know. f**k that shit. 
  • It's too hot. Get this pish tae f**k and proceed straight to early autumn please. 

10 hours ago, Day of the Lords said:

Headsgone for me on numerous counts this weekend: 

• It's too fucking hot
  • We're looking after my OH's pal's hamster while they're on holiday. Had it a week and it's fucked with wet-tail meaning a doubtless expensive trip to the vets which will also burn an hour or two of flexitime
  • It's far too fucking hot
  • My sister is trying to guilt trip me into basically taking a day off work, to pick her and my mum up at 2am to drive them to Edinburgh airport because she's scared of roads she doesn't know. f**k that shit. 
  • It's too hot. Get this pish tae f**k and proceed straight to early autumn please. 

"Wet tail is a very serious disease in hamsters that unfortunately has a high mortality rate even when caught early and treated. “Wet Tail”, named from the obvious sign of wetness around the rear end and tail of the hamster from diarrhea, comes from a bacterial infection that is generally brought on by stress".

Probably the hot weather to blame.

Just now, hk blues said:

"Wet tail is a very serious disease in hamsters that unfortunately has a high mortality rate even when caught early and treated. “Wet Tail”, named from the obvious sign of wetness around the rear end and tail of the hamster from diarrhea, comes from a bacterial infection that is generally brought on by stress".

Probably the hot weather to blame.

Yeah we've had a hamster with it before. Pretty horrendous way for the wee buggers to go, but if early enough I think antibiotics can sort it out. 

Just now, Day of the Lords said:

Yeah we've had a hamster with it before. Pretty horrendous way for the wee buggers to go, but if early enough I think antibiotics can sort it out. 

We had a good few hamsters in the past but luckily none of them ever had wet-tail.  They always seemed to go of old age.

1 minute ago, hk blues said:

We had a good few hamsters in the past but luckily none of them ever had wet-tail.  They always seemed to go of old age.

Aye most of ours have generally followed a pattern of being hyperactive mad wee b*****ds for 99% of their lives, slowdown for a day or two then croak. Which is pretty much the ideal way to go 😂

5 minutes ago, hk blues said:

How old is old age for a hamster?

Youngest stepdaughter had hamsters, but I can't remember what age they were when they died.

They are buried in our pets' cemetery, aka the back garden.

1 minute ago, Jacksgranda said:

Youngest stepdaughter had hamsters, but I can't remember what age they were when they died.

• Syrians: 2-2.5 years (one made it to 3)
  • Russian Dwarfs: 1.5 to 2 years
  • Robowskis: 1.5 to 2 years

6 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

3 minutes ago, Day of the Lords said:
  • Syrians: 2-2.5 years (one made it to 3)
  • Russian Dwarfs: 1.5 to 2 years
  • Robowskis: 1.5 to 2 years

About right - anything from 1 to 2 years was typical.

Our Pet Cemetary was next door's garden before they moved in - probably around 10-12 cats there.  Luckily they concreted over the whole area.  Now we have to use the garden of the house opposite (currently empty) - a good 9 or 10 there.  I am not cat killer b.t.w. - we have 3 wild cats as "pets" (an oxymoron I know) and 2 are female who give birth to at least 2-3 litters a year and 3-4 kittens each time.   in the past 3 months we've had 7 kittens and only 1 is still with us - no idea where 5 of them went. 

52 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Our Pet Cemetary was next door's garden before they moved in - probably around 10-12 cats there.  Luckily they concreted over the whole area.  Now we have to use the garden of the house opposite (currently empty) - a good 9 or 10 there.  I am not cat killer b.t.w. - we have 3 wild cats as "pets" (an oxymoron I know) and 2 are female who give birth to at least 2-3 litters a year and 3-4 kittens each time.   in the past 3 months we've had 7 kittens and only 1 is still with us - no idea where 5 of them went. 

I lived in SE Asia when i was wee. My sister's friends kitten didn't come in when called one night. In the morning there was a five foot cobra basking on the drive with a kitten sized bulge in it. 

58 minutes ago, hk blues said:

Hong Kong, it's got me beat as well. Where on earth can they be?

15 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Ha!

I have had this in relation to next weekend when the missus was meant to be going away on a Hen do (shudder) for one of her old school pals.

Away to some spa thing for the weekend, leaving me with my choice of fitba and the hoose to myself upon my return after a few pints in the evening, then Sunday in the garden to myself.

Turns out there's been trouble in paradise, so the wedding's off, so the Hen do got cancelled, along with my weekend-long empty.

I am fucking devastated and furious at whichever one of those two p***ks fucked up their engagement.

My wife is due to be away for 8 days at the end of August visiting her pal in Yorkshire. I have my week planned - all the food I like but she doesn't, the booze, the football, the TV. But until she is actually there I have this sinking feeling that it'll all get cancelled at the last minute. 

21 minutes ago, coprolite said:

I lived in SE Asia when i was wee. My sister's friends kitten didn't come in when called one night. In the morning there was a five foot cobra basking on the drive with a kitten sized bulge in it. 

We don't have many snakes around as it's pretty built-up and few trees - a few were run over as they love sleeping in the undercarriage and don't make it out in time. 3 or 4 were victims of the drains.  A couple were killed by other cats.  A good few were victims of being abandoned by the mothers.