New Year in Scotland

Thorongil

1 minute ago, BucksburnDandy said:

Steak Pie definitely wasn't and isn't a tradition in the North East. And judging by Tesco today, not a thing in Inverness either.

Those were my recollections, too, but I'm struggling to remember what my mother served up on New Years Day, but that might be because it's 30 years since I was "home" for New Year

Yer nae missing anything min! Just another night these days. Probably will nip to bed in an hour or so as my Mrs has been ill so canna have a drink.

New Year is shit unless you make decent plans and do something. I went to Pitlochry last year, couple nights in an AirBnB, out for an Italian dinner, wee walk around Loch Faskally. I think if you haven’t planned and you’re going to be stuck at home/out at the locals the next best thing to do is to do something nice on New Year’s Day. I’m planning on throwing myself into a loch tomorrow morning to see in the new year.

Just now, BucksburnDandy said:
10 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

Yer nae missing anything min! Just another night these days. Probably will nip to bed in an hour or so as my Mrs has been ill so canna have a drink.

I know that, even 30 years ago it was becoming "just another night".

I remember my father saying Hogmanay was no longer special, folk could have Hogmanay every week, not like when he was younger.

I was actually thinking of staying up until midnight for a change this year.

17 minutes ago, BucksburnDandy said:

Steak Pie definitely wasn't and isn't a tradition in the North East. And judging by Tesco today, not a thing in Inverness either.

Anyone who would buy their steak pie from Tesco should not be allowed to have a mouth.

2 minutes ago, jamamafegan said:

New Year is shit unless you make decent plans and do something. I went to Pitlochry last year, couple nights in an AirBnB, out for an Italian dinner, wee walk around Loch Faskally. I think if you haven’t planned and you’re going to be stuck at home/out at the locals the next best thing to do is to do something nice on New Year’s Day. I’m planning on throwing myself into a loch tomorrow morning to see in the new year.

Don't forget to get out again...

Steak pie was never a tradition for me in Edinburgh egg h. That may just be because my mum didn’t like it and she did the cooking.

As for New Year. Is it a bad thing just to go to bed and not bother? People will probably phone but I can barely stay awake even now.

My granny always said it was bad luck to drink on Hogmanay. Was only after the bells you could crack intae the booze at her hoose. No-one else I've spoken to's family done this as far as I know.

Then, from the age of about 12 onwards, I was sent oot the back door with a bottle of whisky just afore the bells and had to come in the front door and be let in after them to be first footer. 

As I get older many things that I thought were Scottish traditions seem to just be ma granny's. 

Edited by AsimButtHitsASix

3 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

Steak pie was never a tradition for me in Edinburgh egg h. That may just be because my mum didn’t like it and she did the cooking.

As for New Year. Is it a bad thing just to go to bed and not bother? People will probably phone but I can barely stay awake even now.

williams.jpg

The insidious influence of the church of Rome and their feast days.

Hogmanay has always been shite and I fully welcome steak pie as a tradition.

Think I remember NYD food being soup, stovies and black bun. Stuff to stick to your ribs.

Bring back NYD games. 

ETA. The wife loves the idea of it which means every year we have to go through the motions of trying to have a good time even though you know it will be pish.

Xmas eve is the best drinking night of the year as everyone is on a high in a good mood. Hogmanay is trying too hard. 

Edited by invergowrie arab

For me, society and families are not as close, in a physical or metaphorical sense. Folk hardly know their neighbours, for many folk under 35-40 their main methods of socialising with “friends” is often online, folk work in places and at home with less contact with colleagues which in turn used to form adult friendships.

I think Hogmanay in the traditional sense died off in the 1980s and more so when small details such as more access to alcohol became a thing, women started to socialise with drink which was a rarity until the 70s/ 80s.

I used to enjoy New Year discos and a few New Year’s Day ceilidhs in the late 80s to mid 90s but since parenthood and a general preference to avoid clowns acting up at New Year, I am happy to see the back of it and prefer going for a pint next week once it’s all calmer and normal.

36 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

I think this just means you're old, not that Hogmanay's losing its lustre.

4 hours ago, Thorongil said:

It also annoys me how Steak Pie at New Year was invented and retconned in circa 2005 into being a “tradition”.

As a student back in the mid 80's we had steak pie for New Year dinner, as we thought it was was the traditional thing to have.

We used to have a new year's day get together at my grannie's. Meal in the back room, big table, folk sitting on the sofa, sinking in to it and barely seeing the top of the table. There was also a domino tournament, winner got a steak pie.  I can also remember having a 3 tier plastic thing on the table, often full of bombay mix.

41 minutes ago, Jambomo said:

Steak pie was never a tradition for me in Edinburgh egg h. 

1 hour ago, BucksburnDandy said:

Steak Pie definitely wasn't and isn't a tradition in the North East. 

Weegies presuming that a regional Weegie tradition must be Scotland-wide?  Never. 🙄

Steak pie was always on our menu and still is, although this year the house (apart from me) is riddled with the COVID, so I’m on my own, watching telly, cancelled the butcher’s steak pie until next weekend and it’s a ribeye steak for one tomorrow with football on the telly.

@Honest_Man#1do you really not know what first footing is mate? Back in the day it was traditionally a tall dark haired man would be the first to cross your house front door in the New Year, carrying a piece of coal (replaced once coal fires were less common with an alcoholic drink to toast good health to the host)