Alert Mongoose Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 (edited) with your weekends now that the football is finished (bar the Cup final)? Will you miss it? Will you be going for walks in the woods? Personally I find it OK for about a fortnight then really start to miss it. Not just going to games but all the mad stuff that goes on around Scottish Football. It's risky but I'm considering telling the wife and bairn that, due to the world Cup, there is no summer break this year and buggering off for some peace and quiet every second Saturday. Edited May 16, 2022 by Alert Mongoose 1 Quote
LIVIFOREVER Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 The last couple of seasons have changed how fans have followed their teams, even this season when you're allowed back into stadiums have allowed you to just pop an away game on the telly with ppv or some dodgy stream, which is only takes up about two hours of your time, then you can just switch it off and go do something else. All the stop starts with International breaks and such gets you used to periods of no club football too. Don't think i'll be too badly missing it for 3 or 4 weeks, then i'll get itchy feet wanting to get to a game. 1 Quote
LIVIFOREVER Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 33 minutes ago, Alert Mongoose said: with your weekends now that the football is finished (bar the Cup final)? Will you miss it? Will you be going for walks in the woods? Personally I find it OK for about a fortnight then really start to miss it. Not just going to games but all the mad stuff that goes on around Scottish Football. It's risky but I'm considering telling the wife and bairn that, due to the world Cup, there is no summer break this year and buggering off to give them some peace and quiet every second Saturday. FTFY. I'm sure they'd appreciate it. 0 Quote
Henrik's tongue Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 I do the walk in the woods option. My 2 kids love the outdoors, country parks etc so we do that most weekends. 0 Quote
LiviLion Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 Scotland are playing every day until the season starts back so should be fine this year 4 Quote
Leith Green Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 Cycling and hillwalking with the boy once his Highers are finished. 3 Quote
Popular Post 'WellDel Posted May 16, 2022 Popular Post Posted May 16, 2022 I will spend my next few Saturdays sitting there forlornly, with a feeling of gloom and misery thinking that I need to get myself a better hobby. Then the football and visits to Fir Park will return, and I will spend my Saturdays sitting there forlornly, with feelings of gloom and misery thinking that I need to get myself a better hobby. 25 Quote
velo army Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 As @LiviLion said I'll only be sans fitba for the month of July, and I'll hopefully spend the entirety of that watching re-runs of our goals against Ukraine and Wales and the various celebration videos resulting from it. If that doesn't come to pass then I'll hopefully hae a bike again by then and will take myself off on wee mini adventures. 0 Quote
Cardle is Magic Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 Holidays, hikes, visiting friends when weather is good and catch up on TV shows if it's pishing doon. 0 Quote
Brian Graham’s Lovely Hair Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 My youngest son plays football on a Saturday morning so I’ll enjoy watching that without having to rush away at the end to go for a bus or tram. 0 Quote
Granny Danger Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 More walking, without having to be back at a particular time. More lying about. Less posting inconsequential and uninformed shite on this forum, I will save that for other forums. 1 Quote
Richey Edwards Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 (edited) The close season is a waste of time IMO. Should go straight into the next season. Edited May 16, 2022 by Richey Edwards 1 Quote
Forever_blueco Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 (edited) Will feel slightly longer this year with either entering European qualifiers at a later stage or all going well this week not at all . A few years back when having to do the full qualifying route a few seasons on the bounce it felt like the summer break lasted about a fortnight Edited May 16, 2022 by Forever_blueco 0 Quote
VincentGuerin Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 This has changed for me in the last few years. I used to really miss the fitba over the summer, but I honestly don't now. I'll watch some cricket, me and the missus will visit some friends for the odd weekend when the weather is good, me and the group I go to the football with will meet up somewhere for a weekend away at some point, I'll do some hiking etc. It's a nice time of year. I love the fitba, but I don't mind a bit of time off. I don't even really pay much attention to summer transfers etc. Just kind of switch off to it. It'll all be there when I come back to it. 1 Quote
Alert Mongoose Posted May 16, 2022 Author Posted May 16, 2022 51 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said: I'll watch some cricket Not having this. Surely not? 1 Quote
The Other Foot Posted May 16, 2022 Posted May 16, 2022 2 hours ago, Girth said: 'eroin Part timer. 2 Quote