Premier Elect: EOSL Premier Division 2022-23

1 hour ago, superbigal said:

It is a bit of a minter anyone losing to Vale of Leithen tbh. Even Hawick pumped them.

It will be interesting to see what Burnieman says about today’s performance/result. Bet few, if any of us thought that VoL would even get a point today, never mind a win.

Not a gimme of a straight return to the Premier League the following season for Blackburn. 

11 minutes ago, albynpark said:

Out of curiousty, what was the Tynecastle and Hill of Beath game like anyone? Did they just play the game out for a point each or did they try to make a game of it?

Does it matter? Blackburn got beat anyway.  And no, is answer to your question.  

I didn't think Blackburn's pies were too bad from what I remember

Mind you I've been eating Scottish League pies for the past 5 years and the EOSL ones generally knock them into a cocked hat 

What happened at Vale??? Did they boost the squad with a few ringers they found a loophole to sign?

Did Blackburn have a load of players off on an early summer holiday? Or an injury crisis?

That was a most unexpected result!

2 hours ago, Jordi1977 said:

What happened at Vale??? Did they boost the squad with a few ringers they found a loophole to sign?

Did Blackburn have a load of players off on an early summer holiday? Or an injury crisis?

That was a most unexpected result!

The Flynny touch!

17 hours ago, FairWeatherFan said:

Not so much fantasist as pettiness here. Jumps on here first thing to rub Burnieman's nose in it. As if he represents all of Blackburn Utd and Blackburn was the puppeteer of it all.

Makes me laugh actually - which is a good thing at the moment - he was totally ruined during the Junior to Senior transition.

Bottom line yesterday was we should have been 4 or 5 ahead at half time, failed to convert numerous chances, bar and post also involved, and Vale scored with their only real attack. Very early second half we gave away a penalty and were reduced to 10 men and the game was a bogey. Credit to Vale, they clung on first half and took their limited chances.  That's fitba, and in the end it was all immaterial anyway. a 10-0 win wouldn't have saved us.

We've punched above our weight for a few seasons now, promotion from the ERJFA South, followed by 5th in the ERJFA Premier, then qualifying for the EoS Premier, and managing to stay up (even without Covid intervention). For a small club like us without big finances or a big committee, that is an achievement.

The future is bright, U17's in the Scottish Youth Cup Final next weekend, the U20's still in with a chance of winning their LDL Conference, and plans for seating at the ground, so a lot to be positive about. Sometimes a step back is needed to progress, not that it feels like that just now.

First time at Vale of Leithen, great little club, look forward to next seasons visit.

15 hours ago, bobbydazzler said:

another bad pie relegated out the league. hopefully the teams promoted can fill our hearts (and bellys) with joy

I call BS!  an award from Penicuik Athletic fans for "second best pie of the season", and then this a couple of weeks ago.  Let your taste buds decide....

Pie.thumb.jpg.5c8d4e12be84c657524067384c96538c.jpg

5 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

Makes me laugh actually - which is a good thing at the moment - he was totally ruined during the Junior to Senior transition.

Bottom line yesterday was we should have been 4 or 5 ahead at half time, failed to convert numerous chances, bar and post also involved, and Vale scored with their only real attack. Very early second half we gave away a penalty and were reduced to 10 men and the game was a bogey. Credit to Vale, they clung on first half and took their limited chances.  That's fitba, and in the end it was all immaterial anyway. a 10-0 win wouldn't have saved us.

We've punched above our weight for a few seasons now, promotion from the ERJFA South, followed by 5th in the ERJFA Premier, then qualifying for the EoS Premier, and managing to stay up (even without Covid intervention). For a small club like us without big finances or a big committee, that is an achievement.

The future is bright, U17's in the Scottish Youth Cup Final next weekend, the U20's still in with a chance of winning their LDL Conference, and plans for seating at the ground, so a lot to be positive about. Sometimes a step back is needed to progress, not that it feels like that just now.

First time at Vale of Leithen, great little club, look forward to next seasons visit.

Look at the bounce Dunbar had from going down... that's what to try and focus on. It'll be a tough league, but if you can keep most of current squad together there is no reason to think you can't be at the right end of table!

Where is the seating going in the ground? Will it be there next season? Might have to get along and watch a game while getting comfortable. With a pie.

2 minutes ago, Jordi1977 said:

Look at the bounce Dunbar had from going down... that's what to try and focus on. It'll be a tough league, but if you can keep most of current squad together there is no reason to think you can't be at the right end of table!

Where is the seating going in the ground? Will it be there next season? Might have to get along and watch a game while getting comfortable. With a pie.

Majority of the squad have re-signed I believe, and I think a few from the U17/U20 will step up, along with a few new signings.  Despite yesterdays result we do have a good squad, good enough to challenge for an immediate return but it will be a very tough league next season.  At least the derby with Whitburn is back!

Not sure re seating, probably alongside the enclosure or behind the goals. Good chance it will be in place by the end of the year.

EoS Premier should make for a very interesting division next season. No LL club trying to find their footing. None of the champions from the Superleague era. Got to be a number of clubs that will fancy their chances of the title if they get their recruitment right during the summer. Then plenty of competition at the other end.

12 minutes ago, FairWeatherFan said:

EoS Premier should make for a very interesting division next season. No LL club trying to find their footing. None of the champions from the Superleague era. Got to be a number of clubs that will fancy their chances of the title if they get their recruitment right during the summer. Then plenty of competition at the other end.

The clubs in the bottom half of this seasons table will all be looking at each other knowing that there are no "gimmes" for going down next season and it could to be three (or four) of them.  The three coming up will be competitive.

Edited by Burnieman

58 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

I call BS!  an award from Penicuik Athletic fans for "second best pie of the season", and then this a couple of weeks ago.  Let your taste buds decide....

Pie.thumb.jpg.5c8d4e12be84c657524067384c96538c.jpg

to be fair it was a midweek game and only scotch pies left. so happy to be wrong on this one

55 minutes ago, Burnieman said:

Not sure re seating, probably alongside the enclosure or behind the goals. Good chance it will be in place by the end of the year.

Cool... I'll keep a wee aye on here and social media. Will be a good addition to the ground.