JustOneCornetto Posted January 1, 2023 Share Posted January 1, 2023 That was quick @Miguel Sanchez, had a quick look and seems I have 6 Solo picks and 1 Deadly Duo Did spot one pick who died at end of December, Barbara Walters and was shocked when I saw it was Aim Here ETA just saw Aim Here requested sub for Walters 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miguel Sanchez Posted January 1, 2023 Author Share Posted January 1, 2023 I'm actually going to do the "it's been a busy few days" on that one. She just got lost in the madness. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alta-pete Posted January 1, 2023 Share Posted January 1, 2023 (edited) @Curmudgeon WTAF is your entry all about please? I might be wrong but I don’t think you get double points for a double entry (wrong movie maybe?)…. Edited January 1, 2023 by alta-pete Du’uuh. Just read it more detail. I like your style. 👍 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JustOneCornetto Posted January 1, 2023 Share Posted January 1, 2023 4 minutes ago, alta-pete said: @Curmudgeon WTAF is your entry all about please? I might be wrong but I don’t think you get double points for a double entry (wrong movie maybe?)…. It's a pretty novel Theme Team, reminds me I picked a team all named John a few years ago got 2 solo hits and finished 25th that year 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
alta-pete Posted January 1, 2023 Share Posted January 1, 2023 And if I were Johnny Irwin or Rob Burrow I’d be delighted. Almost guaranteed immortality from here! 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted January 1, 2023 Share Posted January 1, 2023 The reactions you get reading others' lists: Everyone's gone for them. Well it was low hanging fruit Bollocks, forgot about them Bollocks, I didn't think anyone else would choose them. Ooh, are they still alive? Checks Google. Fair play, sir, fair play. Applauds What do they know about X that I don't know? That's a long punt. Nae chance (X will snuff it during the year now I've said that) Ha ha! I have some solo shots by the look of it. They won't die though. Grr... @The Master has chosen Sylvester McCoy. OK he left you turning into a leopard but it's been several regenerations later on both sides so isn't it time to let it go... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 Just remembered that in the summer I had planned to put Edward Hardwicke in my list, but forgot. Hopefully he makes it to 2024 for inclusion next year. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Polarbear Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 (edited) I thought I would be the only one picking Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel but just seen dee_62's picks. Great minds etc.... Edited January 2, 2023 by Polarbear 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aim Here Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 1 hour ago, scottsdad said: Just remembered that in the summer I had planned to put Edward Hardwicke in my list, but forgot. Hopefully he makes it to 2024 for inclusion next year. 2010 Dead Pool thread for this pish. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 I feel an unusual curiosity about how the player with the average youngest team has done in the past…guess it’s limited to the spreadsheet era, but maybe a I’ll have to play with that. Might be interesting to see if someone has a crystal ball. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aim Here Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 27 minutes ago, TxRover said: I feel an unusual curiosity about how the player with the average youngest team has done in the past…guess it’s limited to the spreadsheet era, but maybe a I’ll have to play with that. Might be interesting to see if someone has a crystal ball. As of a couple of years ago, the longest-serving team that had yet to score was Mo Wonderboy's 2017 team, made up a ton of very young people. I still think noboyd from it has died yet, but the names are mostly meaningless to me. On 17/12/2021 at 22:29, Aim Here said: In an idle moment of curiosity, decided to look up the oldest Dead Pool team that is yet to score. It turns out to be @Mo Wonderboy's team from 2017, and, sadly, it's just a theme team of young people who annoy him, which explains why it's so far failed to score for it's fifth year running. I'm guessing this team could be reused right through to about 2040 before a pick needs to be replaced... Alfie Deyes (Annoying c**t from YouTube that my Mrs sits listening to) **CAPTAIN** Zoe Sugg (Girlfriend of above annoying c**t) **VICE CAPTAIN** Rob Kardashian (Waster From Fame Hungry Family) Ricky Lamar Hawk AKA Silentó (Some young rapper) Rico Rodriguez (Wee chubby actor) Lance Stroll (Posh boy driving expensive cars) Max Verstappen (Less posh boy driving expensive cars) Ethan Couch (Not as good a driver as the last two on my list) Venus Angelic (Daft cow thinks she is a doll) Sidney Royel Selby III AKA Desiigner (Another young rapper) Malala Yousafzai (Political activist) Tyger Drew-Honey (The result of some accidental Ben Dover scene) Joey Badass (Another Rapper) Keith Cozart AKA Chief Keef (And...Another Rapper) Meghan Trainor (Chubby singer) In unrelated news Fuctifiano has managed to overlap 10 members of his team with both Donathan AND Indale WInton (with 8 members shared between all three players). It'll be interesting to see how these great minds get on (Indale Winton has already pulled ahead by picking Frank McGarvey). And all three players who picked Volodomyr Zelenskyy for the chop in 2023 ALSO picked Vladimir Putin. Do they know something we don't? 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bully Wee Villa Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 (edited) I reckon the President of Luxembourg invites them both to "peace" talks, shoots them both, takes over the world. Edited January 2, 2023 by Bully Wee Villa 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aim Here Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 42 minutes ago, TxRover said: I feel an unusual curiosity about how the player with the average youngest team has done in the past…guess it’s limited to the spreadsheet era, but maybe a I’ll have to play with that. Might be interesting to see if someone has a crystal ball. I've just checked for the last three years, and it's surprisingly well. 19th in 2020 (sparky88), 13th in 2021 (sparky88 again) and 14th in 2022 (gkneil). Sparky88 did even better in 2022 with a young team (~55 or so) but wasn't quite the youngest. On the other hand, JustOneCornetto's record-breaking team for 2022 was over 86 years old, on average! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curmudgeon Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 5 hours ago, alta-pete said: @Curmudgeon WTAF is your entry all about please? I might be wrong but I don’t think you get double points for a double entry (wrong movie maybe?)…. I wanted to come up with a theme that was even more ridiculous than last year's alphabet themed entry and this is what I came up with. I had a couple of setbacks during the year as originally I was going to go with 7 pairs of names with number 15 being Andy Goram (before he even announced he had cancer), but that idea was scuppered. I also had to drop James Caan from my list when he selfishly kicked the bucket. Fortunately there were no other deaths in my list that that gave a reprieve to Brian Cox and Alex Jones who were on standby. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 1 hour ago, Aim Here said: I've just checked for the last three years, and it's surprisingly well. 19th in 2020 (sparky88), 13th in 2021 (sparky88 again) and 14th in 2022 (gkneil). Sparky88 did even better in 2022 with a young team (~55 or so) but wasn't quite the youngest. On the other hand, JustOneCornetto's record-breaking team for 2022 was over 86 years old, on average! Suggests interesting strategies, but overall the winner is most likely 15 old/ill c***s damn near certain to croak but not picked by anyone else. Preference given to those likely to last at least 6 months, due to the December bonus possibilities. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bully Wee Villa Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 Ezra Miller and Ray Reardon's DOBs are wrong. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HK Hibee Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 @Curmudgeon team is a thing of beauty 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 7 hours ago, Bully Wee Villa said: I reckon the President of Luxembourg invites them both to "peace" talks, shoots them both, takes over the world. I, for one, welcome our new Grand Duchy overlords... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
D.V.T. Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 (edited) Is Jeremy Renner going to be the first big shock of the year. Critical after snow plow accident. Edited January 2, 2023 by D.V.T. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lofarl Posted January 2, 2023 Share Posted January 2, 2023 He was not the first Jeremy that sprang to mind upon hearing about someone called Jeremy driving like an arse. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...