velo army Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Listening to the lawyer chap made me realise something. The Tories want to get us out of the ECHR because they want to govern like the authoritarian fascists they are. They're using immigration to get the public on board with it. England prevails. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
eez-eh Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 8 hours ago, welshbairn said: Nobody cared on here when Matt Le Tissier got fired by Sky Sports. I don't think it is about free speech, it's about whether you agree with him or not. Le Tissier was dropped from Soccer Saturday along with two others as part of a shake-up. His insane Twitter ramblings might well have contributed to that decision but of course it wasn’t going to attract the same attention, because that wasn’t the reason given. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wingman Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 39 minutes ago, velo army said: Listening to the lawyer chap made me realise something. The Tories want to get us out of the ECHR because they want to govern like the authoritarian fascists they are. They're using immigration to get the public on board with it. England prevails. Surely, having won an election, they just want to govern for the people of the UK. If they lose the next election, then so be it. ‘Authoritarian fascists’- time to go back to school I think? -15 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dan Steele Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 2 minutes ago, Wingman said: Surely, having won an election, they just want to govern for the people of the UK. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bully Wee Villa Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Seems like Lineker has won and they're going to make a grovelling apology to him. LOL. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
scottsdad Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 (edited) I haven't seen much of this thread, but just wanted to say that singling out Lineker for a tweet is nonsense, when the BBC also have folk like Karren Brady (a sitting Tory peer) on the Apprentice....oh, look: Is she suspended from the Apprentice for voicing this opinion? Naw. Michael Portillo is a former Tory defence secretary and hosts a show on trains. He also appeared (maybe he still does?) on politics shows. Nobody cares about these. but a few Tory MPs put the tiniest bit of pressure on the BBC over Lineker and boom, he's suspended. Organisational failure, from their Tory chairman down. Edited March 13 by scottsdad 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sherrif John Bunnell Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Lol 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shandon Par Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 10 hours ago, Sherrif John Bunnell said: And Lucy Pinder Page 3 girls and footballers are the new Labour Party. It’s like 1997 again. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fullerene Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Why did the BBC not anticipate that a bunch of former strikers might go on strike? 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ned Nederlander Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 9 hours ago, welshbairn said: Nobody cared on here when Matt Le Tissier got fired by Sky Sports. I don't think it is about free speech, it's about whether you agree with him or not. Your post reminded me that I'd interacted with Matt on twitter a couple of months ago - turns out he's feckin blocked me the big feckin wuss. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
btb Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Rishi throwing the chairman of the BBC under a bus... Quote Rishi Sunak has declined to offer his backing to the chairman of the BBC and stressed his appointment was made by his predecessor Boris Johnson. ...I find it hard to believe the chairman didn't get the nod from someone within the Tory party. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
btb Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Go to the Daily Mail online to see their entire readership go.... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fullerene Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 1 hour ago, Wingman said: Surely, having won an election, they just want to govern for the people of the UK. If they lose the next election, then so be it. ‘Authoritarian fascists’- time to go back to school I think? What's with the final question mark? Are you asking us if this is something you think or not? If you don't know the answer, nobody else does. It appears the UK government are trying to silence all dissenting voices which is what authoritarian fascist governments always do. The idea that the UK government should be left to govern without being challenged is utterly ridiculous. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 That's the BBC and the Tories defeated now. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheScarf Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 I see it's now Tory to enjoy not having to endure high level morons Alan Shearer, Danny Murphy, Micah Richards etc get £500,000 a year to describe to you what you're already watching and can see for yourself. Huge if true. Do people not just watch the 3 minute YouTube highlights at 6PM on a Saturday these days anyway? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 12 minutes ago, TheScarf said: I see it's now Tory to enjoy not having to endure high level morons Alan Shearer, Danny Murphy, Micah Richards etc get £500,000 a year to describe to you what you're already watching and can see for yourself. Huge if true. Do people not just watch the 3 minute YouTube highlights at 6PM on a Saturday these days anyway? I don't think they're being relied on by the tactical geniuses on here, but more passive viewers might like it. In any case it's pretty much how all TV sport is presented. I get the gist of cricket but need a bit of help with the finer points. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StellarHibee Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 Distraction over. Almost nobody has talked about the details of the actual policy itself. Good job BBC, Richard Sharp and the Conservative Party. Good job. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benjamin_Nevis Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 5 minutes ago, StellarHibee said: Distraction over. Almost nobody has talked about the details of the actual policy itself. Good job BBC, Richard Sharp and the Conservative Party. Good job. I dunno. Things will get quite fun when the Lords try to chuck it on the fire 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
throbber Posted March 13 Author Share Posted March 13 4 hours ago, Wingman said: Surely, having won an election, they just want to govern for the people of the UK. If they lose the next election, then so be it. ‘Authoritarian fascists’- time to go back to school I think? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
StellarHibee Posted March 13 Share Posted March 13 22 minutes ago, Benjamin_Nevis said: I dunno. Things will get quite fun when the Lords try to chuck it on the fire Surely they would have anticipated this and wouldn't be pushing the bill forward if they thought it would be blocked anyway? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...