Team of the Season

16 hours ago, DAFC. said:

We all agreeing Matty Todd is getting player of the year? He fucking better, or I’ll…well, I’ll not be able to do anything, because it is outwith my control, but I’ll not be pleased. 

If Paton ends up top scorer he surely has to be in with a shout. MB has done incredibly well to make our final position look less humiliating but the reality is we've been absolutely shocking for the majority of the season. That Paton has got as many goals as he has in that side is very impressive. 

20 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

If Paton ends up top scorer he surely has to be in with a shout. MB has done incredibly well to make our final position look less humiliating but the reality is we've been absolutely shocking for the majority of the season. That Paton has got as many goals as he has in that side is very impressive. 

There’s usually four nominees for player of the year isn’t there? Todd, Benedictus, Paton and Gallagher seem like a solid group for that.

1 hour ago, 19QOS19 said:

Quite agree about Paton has to be a serious contender but a wee bit presumptuous to think that Bartley will make our final position less humiliating. We've dropped a place after FCE's win last night, lose to Montrose on Saturday and we'll be 7th on gd. Still Airdrie (away) and Kelty (who seem to be another of our bogie teams) to play. He has managed to get us out of the relegation battle though, so on that score he's been successful. 

10 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Quite agree about Paton has to be a serious contender but a wee bit presumptuous to think that Bartley will make our final position less humiliating. We've dropped a place after FCE's win last night, lose to Montrose on Saturday and we'll be 7th on gd. Still Airdrie (away) and Kelty (who seem to be another of our bogie teams) to play. He has managed to get us out of the relegation battle though, so on that score he's been successful. 

I had us pegged for 8th, where we can't possibly finish now. We were never in a serious relegation battle tbh but I certainly didn't see us finishing as high as even 7th under WG. 

Honestly find this kind of thing challenging. Falkirk been the second best team, but we (clearly) haven’t seen them at their best. Airdrie been very good against us, but I don’t imagine an Edinburgh fan would include many Airdrie players.

Josh Rae

Aaron Comrie
Kyle Benedictus
Liam Fontaine
Josh Edwards

Calumn Morrison
Joe Chalmers
Matty Todd
Adam Frizzell

Ruari Paton
Calum Gallagher

Hard to look past our defence, but only seems fair to pick who I think has been ‘best of the rest’ beside Bene. Josh Rae has made some incredible saves in his 2 games against us, best goalkeeping performances I’ve seen, without doubt - if we ignore that he should have been sent off in both games, not just one of them!

Morrison and Frizzell both been good against us. KRH would be a dead cert if he’d played more games. Central midfield was a challenge, deciding who partners Todd. Genuinely can’t think of any central midfielders that have particularly impressed against us, so went with the league assist leader, Joe Chalmers. Frizzell has spent some time playing fairly centrally, but I see him as a winger/attacking midfielder.

Gallagher and Paton have been the 2 best strikers in the league, in my opinion.

2 hours ago, CallumPar said:

Honestly find this kind of thing challenging. Falkirk been the second best team, but we (clearly) haven’t seen them at their best. Airdrie been very good against us, but I don’t imagine an Edinburgh fan would include many Airdrie players.

Josh Rae

Aaron Comrie
Kyle Benedictus
Liam Fontaine
Josh Edwards

Calumn Morrison
Joe Chalmers
Matty Todd
Adam Frizzell

Ruari Paton
Calum Gallagher

Hard to look past our defence, but only seems fair to pick who I think has been ‘best of the rest’ beside Bene. Josh Rae has made some incredible saves in his 2 games against us, best goalkeeping performances I’ve seen, without doubt - if we ignore that he should have been sent off in both games, not just one of them!

Morrison and Frizzell both been good against us. KRH would be a dead cert if he’d played more games. Central midfield was a challenge, deciding who partners Todd. Genuinely can’t think of any central midfielders that have particularly impressed against us, so went with the league assist leader, Joe Chalmers. Frizzell has spent some time playing fairly centrally, but I see him as a winger/attacking midfielder.

Gallagher and Paton have been the 2 best strikers in the league, in my opinion.

You might see Frizzell as a winger but he has never played there for us. 

2 minutes ago, Shooter McGavin said:

You might see Frizzell as a winger but he has never played there for us. 

That’s fair. I did say winger/attacking midfielder, cause I wouldn’t see him playing centrally in a 4-4-2 and he certainly couldn’t play alongside Todd in a 4-4-2. I wanted to squeeze him into the team though and was struggling to really pick anyone else out wide, without taking KRH, who’s only started about 12 league games.

5 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

4 hours ago, Mr November said:

There’s usually four nominees for player of the year isn’t there? Todd, Benedictus, Paton and Gallagher seem like a solid group for that.

Paton, and to a lesser extent Gallagher, benefit from being by far the standout player in their teams which increase the likelihood that they get votes. Often the league winning team have multiple candidates and the vote gets split amongst their better players.

I'm sure last season the final 4 was Dylan Easton plus 3 Cove players, and Easton won.

5 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Nominees will be sorted before top scorer is confirmed but can't see Paton and Gallagher not being nominated. That being said, certainly be very surprised if Paton wins it, whether he ends up top scorer or not. Dunfermline's defence has won them this league. I'd give it to Benedictus personally and he'll be better known among players than Todd is.

4 hours ago, Mr November said:

Yeah, and that does look a likely final four. Normal practice is for the top scorer and at least two players from the Champions. If the top scorer plays for the champions then possibly three for them, if it's a close title race then two each from the top two and somebody misses out if the top scorer isn't in the top two sides.

In this case with two clear battling over top scorer and Falkirk reasonably distant, I suspect we'll get two Dunfermline nominees added to Paton and Gallagher. Can't see Benedictus not being one of them. Will Matty Todd be well enough known among his peers to get a nomination bearing in mind it's opposition player votes that decide it?

3 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

I had us pegged for 8th, where we can't possibly finish now. We were never in a serious relegation battle tbh but I certainly didn't see us finishing as high as even 7th under WG. 

Maybe blind faith but I always thought we'd catch Ediinburgh eventually. That said, last night's result has put the cat among the pigeons on that front.

How wrong am I? 😂

GK

Craigen - Waddell - Fordyce - Edwards

Ritchie-Hosler - J.Todd - Frizzell - Morrison

Gallacher - Robertson

Waddell was tied with Breen and literally just nicked ahead by a decimal place. Benedictus miles down for whatever reason.

It liked Lewis Gibson more than Craigen at RB but thinks thats because hes (according to WyScout) played further forward a lot too.

McGill right up there as a W and a ST but I don't know where he usually plays to know whats affecting what. He replaced Ritchie-Hosler if hes a W, or Robertson if hes a ST.

Paton one I imagine should be in here so try and figure that out.

Edited by RandomGuy.

7 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

How wrong am I? 😂

GK

Gallacher - Robertson

Waddell was tied with Breen and literally just nicked ahead by a decimal place. Benedictus miles down for whatever reason.

It liked Lewis Gibson more than Craigen at RB but thinks thats because hes (according to WyScout) played further forward a lot too.

McGill right up there as a ST but think time as a winger boosted certain things. Paton one I imagine should be in here so try and figure that out.

Er, what? This some sort of statistical nonsense?

Lewis Gibson's not a full back, although he did play most of his games for us initially as an attacking wing back. He's a winger though.

I'm a big fan of Josh Todd, who despite not having the legs he had in his first spell, is still our most creative player, but he's not featuring in a League 1 select this season.

1 minute ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Er, what? This some sort of statistical nonsense?

Lewis Gibson's not a full back, although he did play most of his games for us initially as an attacking wing back. He's a winger though.

I'm a big fan of Josh Todd, who despite not having the legs he had in his first spell, is still our most creative player, but he's not featuring in a League 1 select this season.

Yeah it wasn't clear with Gibson, as wing backs are classed as both full backs and wingers on WyScout, dependent on how well a club is covered.

Genuinely not a clue why Todd is rated so high. Its juat narrowly ahead of Matty Todd, to the point I think things have been mixed up between the two.

9 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

How wrong am I? 😂

GK

Gallacher - Robertson

McGill right up there as a W and a ST but I don't know where he usually plays to know whats affecting what. He replaced Ritchie-Hosler if hes a W, or Robertson if hes a ST.

Paton one I imagine should be in here so try and figure that out.

McGill has occasionally played through the middle but generally plays wide right, though it’s very much wide forwards rather than wide midfielders. I’d certainly have down as a winger though in your stats.

The rest looks pretty good but I’m surprised about Fordyce. I felt he had a poor first half of the season, making a lot of uncharacteristic errors, but he does win a lot in the air and is decent on the ball for a defender at this level, so can see why he might score highly.

Out of interest, I’m sure I remember you posting some of Gallagher’s ratings a couple of years ago and he didn’t stand out much, which made sense at the time as he was more of a penalty box striker with the main skill of knowing where the ball would land, something that’s hard to show in stats. I’m guessing his stats look a lot better now compared to the last few seasons?

22 minutes ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Nominees will be sorted before top scorer is confirmed but can't see Paton and Gallagher not being nominated. That being said, certainly be very surprised if Paton wins it, whether he ends up top scorer or not. Dunfermline's defence has won them this league. I'd give it to Benedictus personally and he'll be better known among players than Todd is.

Yeah, and that does look a likely final four. Normal practice is for the top scorer and at least two players from the Champions. If the top scorer plays for the champions then possibly three for them, if it's a close title race then two each from the top two and somebody misses out if the top scorer isn't in the top two sides.

In this case with two clear battling over top scorer and Falkirk reasonably distant, I suspect we'll get two Dunfermline nominees added to Paton and Gallagher. Can't see Benedictus not being one of them. Will Matty Todd be well enough known among his peers to get a nomination bearing in mind it's opposition player votes that decide it?

Maybe blind faith but I always thought we'd catch Ediinburgh eventually. That said, last night's result has put the cat among the pigeons on that front.

there’s quite alot to of players I the league who are quite young, I’d think they’ll be more than aware of Todd. And I’d be particularly shocked if he’s not a big part in an opposition team talks, not that I’m complaining .

13 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

How wrong am I? 😂

GK

Gallacher - Robertson

McGill right up there as a ST but think time as a winger boosted certain things. Paton one I imagine should be in here so try and figure that out.

Think your model needs tweaked more than just a little.

I do kinda see how Benedictus doesn’t show up amazingly high on stats, by far his biggest assets is communication, something that isn’t particularly easily measured 

6 minutes ago, Mr November said:

McGill has occasionally played through the middle but generally plays wide right, though it’s very much wide forwards rather than wide midfielders. I’d certainly have down as a winger though in your stats.

The rest looks pretty good but I’m surprised about Fordyce. I felt he had a poor first half of the season, making a lot of uncharacteristic errors, but he does win a lot in the air and is decent on the ball for a defender at this level, so can see why he might score highly.

Out of interest, I’m sure I remember you posting some of Gallagher’s ratings a couple of years ago and he didn’t stand out much, which made sense at the time as he was more of a penalty box striker with the main skill of knowing where the ball would land, something that’s hard to show in stats. I’m guessing his stats look a lot better now compared to the last few seasons?

download.thumb.png.15c20bd8ff8ecddc2cc3ab366dff8860.png

Seems to be improving an gone from an average L1 striker to one of the best in the past two seasons.

Possession play improving and goalscoring too.

3 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

there’s quite alot to of players I the league who are quite young, I’d think they’ll be more than aware of Todd. And I’d be particularly shocked if he’s not a big part in an opposition team talks, not that I’m complaining .

Think your model needs tweaked more than just a little.

I do kinda see how Benedictus doesn’t show up amazingly high on stats, by far his biggest assets is communication, something that isn’t particularly easily measured 

CBs are the hardest to judge and I'm aware my systems shit at looking at them. WyScout doesn't help as duel win % is horrendous when you look at whats classed as a "win". If a striker wins a header but knocks it out of play, they class that as a win for the CB he challenged. No way around it though.

19 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

download.thumb.png.15c20bd8ff8ecddc2cc3ab366dff8860.png

Seems to be improving an gone from an average L1 striker to one of the best in the past two seasons.

Possession play improving and goalscoring too.

That looks about right. I’d say he’s gone from a very good League One striker to the best but I’m biased and as I said, most of his strengths previously were things that wouldn’t show up in data. He still has a natural ability to know where to be in the box but the biggest different this season is his ability to drop deep, link play and play dangerous passes, which I think the data shows.

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

How wrong am I? 😂

GK

Gallacher - Robertson

I think the biggest problem as you've addressed is the centre of defence, we've had a quite fantastic record this year however have neither of the centre backs. 

The midfield isn't bad at all, I had Morrison, KRH and Frizzel in my team, Josh Todd is a bit of an odd conclusion, however if that's Matty Todd or Joe Chalmers it's pretty much spot on. 

Upfront is fine, Gallagher is the number one pick while Robertson has had a fine season, certainly in the first half of the season he looked class. 

7 hours ago, Grant228 said:

I think the biggest problem as you've addressed is the centre of defence, we've had a quite fantastic record this year however have neither of the centre backs. 

The midfield isn't bad at all, I had Morrison, KRH and Frizzel in my team, Josh Todd is a bit of an odd conclusion, however if that's Matty Todd or Joe Chalmers it's pretty much spot on. 

Upfront is fine, Gallagher is the number one pick while Robertson has had a fine season, certainly in the first half of the season he looked class. 

I dunno if the CBs i have are threats from set plays or something? I try to avoid scoring CBs at all on how many goals they score but it can sneak in if theyre great at it.

Some digging reveals that QOS are (apparently) one of the few clubs in the top 4 divisions who dont have a Hudl camera installed to upload games to WyScout, so a lot of their figures from home games are wrong/guesswork. I guess thats maybe boosted certain things if its completely wrong for Gibson or Todd to be rated so highly.