Hibernian European Tour 2023/24

Lyle Lanley

1 minute ago, AuAl said:

As shite as Hibs have been - and they have been truly awful - what's the point in teams from top nations being able to compete here.

Genuinely don't see the point Uefa promoting this competition as an opportunity for other nations and teams to get a go in Europe if they're going to allow qualification from the top nations. It's pointless. 

These countries dominate enough on the European stage. I'm aware it all sounds like salty tears from a lesser league, but cmon.

Again, doesn't take away from Hibs deciding not to look like a football team.

Wasn't the original idea behind the ECL that it was just the diddy countries having a better chance?

Just now, AuAl said:

As shite as Hibs have been - and they have been truly awful - what's the point in teams from top nations being able to compete here.

Genuinely don't see the point Uefa promoting this competition as an opportunity for other nations and teams to get a go in Europe if they're going to allow qualification from the top nations. It's pointless. 

These countries dominate enough on the European stage. I'm aware it all sounds like salty tears from a lesser league, but cmon.

Again, doesn't take away from Hibs deciding not to look like a football team.

I do agree with you, but then you look at West Ham last season. There’ll probably be a fourth competition created in about 10 years though. 

Surely to fcuk, if you sit watching your team play Livvy, Ross C, the same old, same old, week after week, season after season… when you get a European tie against what transpires to be a very good team, you stay. You watch them, you don’t see it every week. You even applaud the opponent off - unless they were dirty bassas who booted your guys and were ‘versed in the dark arts’… you don’t ‘go for a pish’.

Edited by pozbaird

I’m absolutely fucking seething at how easy this is making it for wee VLs down south to keep giving it the tinpot/farmer patter. 

1 minute ago, pozbaird said:

Surely to fcuk, if you sit watching your team play Livvy, Ross C, the same old, same old, week after week, season after season… when you get a European tie against what transpires to be a very good team, you stay. You watch them, you don’t see it every week. You even applaud the opponent off - unless they were dirty bassas who booted your guys and were ‘versed in the dark arts’… you don’t ‘go for a pish’.

Bollocks 

3 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

Hibs fans were booing McGinn. Why?

2 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

The next time St Mirren earn the opportunity to get their arses handed to them in Europe, feel free to come back and tell us if you still feel this way.