The Pie and Bovril Dead Pool 2024

The final whistle has blown for Siegfried Kirschen, East German football referee. A bit random you may think, however he was involved as linesman twice during Scotland WC matches.

1986 against Denmark - we lost 1 nil.

1990 against Brazil - we lost 1 nil.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siegfried_Kirschen

Edited by Florentine_Pogen

Posted (edited)

Week 16 update

One death this week, cricket man Raman Subba Row: Raman Subba Row obituary | Cricket | The Guardian

The cricketer Raman Subba Row, who has died aged 92, played more than a dozen Test matches as an amateur for England between 1958 and 1961. Then he surprised the selectors by retiring at the height of his powers to pursue a business career. Few in the modern game would voluntarily end their playing days at their peak, but Subba Row lived in an era when “gentlemen” players often nurtured a studied indifference towards sporting achievement, and in any case often needed to find a stable income beyond the boundary.

Subba Row left cricket to work in public relations, but later he made a further mark on the game as an influential administrator, and as chairman of the Test and County Cricket Board (TCCB) was a leading figure in the handing over of global power from MCC to the International Cricket Council.

Subba Row’s championing of that move in the late 1980s eventually helped to bring about a lasting shift in cricket’s power balance, away from its traditional centres of England and Australia and towards India. Although this was perhaps not his entire intention – and he later had reservations about the way the ICC exercised its power – it seemed an appropriate outcome for someone of Anglo-Indian descent whose bonds with the subcontinent remained strong.

Cricket is one of those things I read about here that's just meaningless. He averaged 41.86! Okay. 

Row died at 92 so he's worth 33 Base Points. @Moomintroll gets a Solo Shot with that for a total of 83 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. mozam76 402
2. Billy Jean King 380
3. Moomintroll 346
4. lolls 316
5. Forest_Fifer 297
6. psv_killie, sparky88 291
8. Indale Winton 284
9. Ned Nederlander 282
10. lichtgilphead 279
11. The_Craig 254
12. pub car king 238
13. The DA 228
14. JustOneCornetto 225
15. Arch Stanton 207
16. parxyz 206
17. cdhafc1874 204
18. Oystercatcher 198
19. weirdcal 191
20. Melanius Mullarkant 176

21. amnarab, The Naitch 169
23. El Guapo, mathematics 164

25. Salvo Montalbano 163
26. alta-pete 156
27. blackislekillie, Bully Wee Villa, choirbairn, Desp, peasy23 150
32. tamthebam 144
33. Savage Henry 134
34. Arbroathlegend36-0 126
35. Arabdownunder 117

36. buddiepaul, chomp my root, scottsdad, Trogdor, TxRover 113
41. sleazy, Sweaty Morph 100
43. Craig fae the Vale 95

44. ThomCat 94
45. pawpar 90
46. invergowrie arab, Karpaty Lviv, Ray Patterson 78
49. DG.Roma, Lofarl, Mark Connolly, qos_75, sensorsoupe, Sergeant Wilson, Shotgun 75
56. ICTChris 74
57. D Angelo Barksdale 71
58. Raidernation 60

59. Florentine_Pogen 58
60. Aim Here, Darren 51

62. BillyAnchor, doulikefish 49
64. stanton 25

65. Everyone else 0

The spreadsheet has also been updated: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CsroU6IlQNJOesOqCc5gsI7SCw8ywBS-PUzQwLTJe4g/edit?usp=sharing

Edited by Miguel Sanchez

4 minutes ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

Week 16 update

One death this week, cricket man Raman Subba Row: Raman Subba Row obituary | Cricket | The Guardian

Cricket is one of those things I read about here that's just meaningless. He averaged 41.86! Okay. 

Row died at 92 so he's worth 33 Base Points. @Moomintroll gets a Solo Shot with that for a total of 83 points.

As a result, the standings look like this:

1. mozam76 402
2. Billy Jean King 380
3. Moomintroll 246
4. lolls 316
5. Forest_Fifer 297
6. psv_killie, sparky88 291
8. Indale Winton 284
9. Ned Nederlander 282
10. lichtgilphead 279
11. The_Craig 254
12. pub car king 238
13. The DA 228
14. JustOneCornetto 225
15. Arch Stanton 207
16. parxyz 206
17. cdhafc1874 204
18. Oystercatcher 198
19. weirdcal 191
20. Melanius Mullarkant 176

21. amnarab, The Naitch 169
23. El Guapo, mathematics 164

25. Salvo Montalbano 163
26. alta-pete 156
27. blackislekillie, Bully Wee Villa, choirbairn, Desp, peasy23 150
32. tamthebam 144
33. Savage Henry 134
34. Arbroathlegend36-0 126
35. Arabdownunder 117

36. buddiepaul, chomp my root, scottsdad, Trogdor, TxRover 113
41. sleazy, Sweaty Morph 100
43. Craig fae the Vale 95

44. ThomCat 94
45. pawpar 90
46. invergowrie arab, Karpaty Lviv, Ray Patterson 78
49. DG.Roma, Lofarl, Mark Connolly, qos_75, sensorsoupe, Sergeant Wilson, Shotgun 75
56. ICTChris 74
57. D Angelo Barksdale 71
58. Raidernation 60

59. Florentine_Pogen 58
60. Aim Here, Darren 51

62. BillyAnchor, doulikefish 49
64. stanton 25

65. Everyone else 0

The spreadsheet has also been updated: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1CsroU6IlQNJOesOqCc5gsI7SCw8ywBS-PUzQwLTJe4g/edit?usp=sharing

I didn't even notice that happened, but he was a pler back in the day.

34 minutes ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

The final whistle has blown for Siegfried Kirschen, East German football referee. A bit random you may think, however he was involved as linesman twice during Scotland WC matches.

1986 against Denmark - we lost 1 nil.

1990 against Brazil - we lost 1 nil.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siegfried_Kirschen

I’m pretty sure he was the ref in Cyprus when he added on 15 minutes extra time allowing us the opportunity to win 3-2. Worst grass pitch I’ve ever seen. 

11 minutes ago, mozam76 said:

I’m pretty sure he was the ref in Cyprus when he added on 15 minutes extra time allowing us the opportunity to win 3-2. Worst grass pitch I’ve ever seen. 

Worst grass you say?

image.jpeg.84ae37d8b17ca6edb18d8022928acc3e.jpeg

1 hour ago, superbigal said:

Last ever night at the proms for Sir Andrew Davis

Grealish will be dismayed, the entire Prom crowd loved to impersonate him during the Hornpipe.

12 hours ago, Eednud said:

Former professional golfer and US Curtis Cup team member, Stephanie Sparks, is off to hear the number one song in heaven as she fails to beat the clock by missing the cut at 50.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/golf/former-golf-pro-turned-tv-star-stephanie-sparks-dead-at-50/news-story/f89dc2cccb3cd8f9c8d10413b685326c

Kimono, the big house.

10 hours ago, mozam76 said:

He was indeed, thank feck his watch was gubbed.

Screenshot_20240421_222629_Chrome.jpg

11 hours ago, Black Pennel said:

I was in Hurricanes bar with a fallen Madonna with...ahem, certain attributes. Happy Days.

Thankfully, she is still alive but...y'know...gravity and all that.

Hurricanes, on West Regent Street? That takes me back, maybe the nicest pub I ever got thrown out of. Long story.

1 hour ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

Missed this one last week............

The clapperboard wraps it up for Eleanor Coppola, designer, artist and wife of Francis Ford Coppola, whom she married in 1963. Interesting obit in Guardian.

https://www.theguardian.com/film/2024/apr/18/eleanor-coppola-obituary

Eleanor Copped it