The big one II: Accies v Falkirk

1 hour ago, Ian Mcleod said:

You need to remember we are in league 1 and he's got a better standard of players than the stuff we had in the championship and even some of the stuff in the premiership. Alloa on Saturday imo was abysmal and at times we were lucky not to lose. Rankin then goes and brings Hewitt and Tait on and leaves our top goal scorer in the league and arguably our best player on the bench. QOTS the week before as I've  said before was our best performance of the season and everyone deserves credit for that. Annan Away I thought the majority of the players were excellent but again Rankin's changes nearly cost us the game bringing Mumbongo on which was like playing with 9 men with already having the sending off. Hewitt should have never of came on either and he brought Marley on for his first game in months which was also a bad decision players deserve credit for that game but if that Annan strike in the 95th minute which hit the post goes in it's a completely different story. Kelty was abysmal everything about that game was abysmal. Raith the week before was also pretty poor and Rankin should have subbed O'Brien on the second Kilday got sent instead of waiting until we go another 2 goals down then he goes and chucks 4 subs on at once but I will be nice and give him the benfit of the doubt as Raith are a very good team I've watched them a couple of times since that game and they have impressed me. Stirling 5-0 we were decent however I think a big part of that game was due to how knackered and done the Stirling players were. Cove 1-0 again was a big part due to Rankin bringing Stephen Hendrie on for Connor Murray when we were going for a goal will never make sense to me we concede the goal a couple of minutes later due to that sub. Not to mention that we also drew to Edinburgh City at Home a couple of weeks before as well. I think we've got a lot to be positive at the minute at the club the new owner has made a great start at getting fans back on the clubs side and we've had the best summer transfer window in years. I just have no faith that Rankin is the man to lead it and a lot of the decisions he's made in the past 18 months backs that up. I would love to be proved wrong and he ends up getting us promoted this season I just highly doubt that will be the case. 

Screen_Shot_2020-07-24_at_11.33.38_AM (3).jpg

6 hours ago, Ian Mcleod said:

You need to remember we are in league 1 and he's got a better standard of players than the stuff we had in the championship and even some of the stuff in the premiership. Alloa on Saturday imo was abysmal and at times we were lucky not to lose. Rankin then goes and brings Hewitt and Tait on and leaves our top goal scorer in the league and arguably our best player on the bench. QOTS the week before as I've  said before was our best performance of the season and everyone deserves credit for that. Annan Away I thought the majority of the players were excellent but again Rankin's changes nearly cost us the game bringing Mumbongo on which was like playing with 9 men with already having the sending off. Hewitt should have never of came on either and he brought Marley on for his first game in months which was also a bad decision players deserve credit for that game but if that Annan strike in the 95th minute which hit the post goes in it's a completely different story. Kelty was abysmal everything about that game was abysmal. Raith the week before was also pretty poor and Rankin should have subbed O'Brien on the second Kilday got sent instead of waiting until we go another 2 goals down then he goes and chucks 4 subs on at once but I will be nice and give him the benfit of the doubt as Raith are a very good team I've watched them a couple of times since that game and they have impressed me. Stirling 5-0 we were decent however I think a big part of that game was due to how knackered and done the Stirling players were. Cove 1-0 again was a big part due to Rankin bringing Stephen Hendrie on for Connor Murray when we were going for a goal will never make sense to me we concede the goal a couple of minutes later due to that sub. Not to mention that we also drew to Edinburgh City at Home a couple of weeks before as well. I think we've got a lot to be positive at the minute at the club the new owner has made a great start at getting fans back on the clubs side and we've had the best summer transfer window in years. I just have no faith that Rankin is the man to lead it and a lot of the decisions he's made in the past 18 months backs that up. I would love to be proved wrong and he ends up getting us promoted this season I just highly doubt that will be the case. 

PARKLIFE

Anyway, just looking at the last game.... We started almost as we will on Saturday, but crucially with Oliver and Agyeman alongside Morrison behind McIver. So Hamilton didn't face our best attack that day, with Calvin Miller being the best of them for me, and Aidan Nesbitt highly likely to come in for Oliver. If its not Nesbitt, then it will be Ross. So its upgrades in 2 of the 4 forward positions for us, and a stronger option off the bench in whichever of them doesn't start.

Other than that, I was reminded how badly we were hamstrung by Hendo getting booked fairly early that day. Didn't really let him do his normal things. So could do with him behaving himself in the early stages aswell. 

Excellent point re Henderson. He's picked up some ridiculously soft bookings this season tbf (like off that total diddy of a ref on saturday) but overall his discipline has been poor and he's already picked up enough yellows to serve a suspension. Needs to retain that aggression but do it in a controlled manner. Too big a game to have to play most of it effectively a man down again 

1 hour ago, NavyBlueArmy1876 said:

Excellent point re Henderson. He's picked up some ridiculously soft bookings this season tbf (like off that total diddy of a ref on saturday) but overall his discipline has been poor and he's already picked up enough yellows to serve a suspension. Needs to retain that aggression but do it in a controlled manner. Too big a game to have to play most of it effectively a man down again 

He gets so many frustrating bookings. Seems to always go in late on someone in the middle of the park when it's not really necessary and get booked. I love his enthusiasm and will go win but just needs to temper it a wee bit.

21 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

He gets so many frustrating bookings. Seems to always go in late on someone in the middle of the park when it's not really necessary and get booked. I love his enthusiasm and will go win but just needs to temper it a wee bit.

I think if Hendo was stocky and diminutive he'd get away with many of the bookings he gets. 

Due to his stature and height I think refs immediately sense it's clumsy and mistimed. Some of the bookings have been harsh.

2 hours ago, Blame Me said:

I think if Hendo was stocky and diminutive he'd get away with many of the bookings he gets. 

Due to his stature and height I think refs immediately sense it's clumsy and mistimed. Some of the bookings have been harsh.

I would probably agree with this although I do have a huge soft spot for big Hendo. Some of the yellow cards he's had dished out have been soft af.

A football game amid  Ticketgate will commence.

Whatever the rights and wrongs,I am sure they will announce tickets for sale/cash turnstiles on the day,so those Falkirk fans who can't get to Brockville will be able to attend and support their team.

This is what normally happened in our Premiership days,but I can see why Falkirk fans are irked in the era of etickets,but we did the same for the likes of The Edinburgh 2/Motherwell only to announce cash gates on the day.

Fwiw,Alloa had to open cash gates last Saturday as their etickets were not working correctly and last season at Firhill for us was the same.😂

As for the game,last week's disappointment may have tempered optimism at the Accies end against a side who are still unbeaten, but a lot depends for me on which team Rankin picks and how he sets them up.

If we come out all guns blazing I can see us winning, but if he is cagey,reticent and hinders our attacking players we may well struggle.

Guys like Lewis Smith and Zanatta are currently in favour whereas Euan Henderson-our top scorer- seems to have copped the flak for the Kelty Cup defeat which is inexcusable for me especially with golden boy O'Hara missing great chances every week.

For Falkirk,Morrison will have more scope  than in the last game as I would be surprised to see us double man-mark him in a home game and to do so would link in with the aforementioned caginess.However,he will probably play Lewis Smith on his side to offer additional support to the full back.

I'm detecting good interest through here with lapsed supporters finally saying they will attend and we badly need them as the haemorrhaging of fans from Canning onwards and folk boycotting because  of the old Board/Owners needs to end.There is no excuse for these people now as Zengin is doing the best he can with the Football Club and the Stadium Company is was it is...they even arranged for their Ice Rink behind the goals to be open during this game before changing it promptly, such is their lack of awareness of what is happening at 3pm Saturday.

Let's hope for a game that lives up to the occasion which rarely happens when nerves are jangling.

19 minutes ago, Ye Olde Hamiltonian said:

Whatever the rights and wrongs,I am sure they will announce tickets for sale/cash turnstiles on the day,so those Falkirk fans who can't get to Brockville will be able to attend and support their team.

This is what normally happened in our Premiership days,but I can see why Falkirk fans are irked in the era of etickets,but we did the same for the likes of The Edinburgh 2/Motherwell only to announce cash gates on the day.

Fwiw,Alloa had to open cash gates last Saturday as their etickets were not working correctly and last season at Firhill for us was the same.😂

As for the game,last week's disappointment may have tempered optimism at the Accies end against a side who are still unbeaten, but a lot depends for me on which team Rankin picks and how he sets them up.

If we come out all guns blazing I can see us winning, but if he is cagey,reticent and hinders our attacking players we may well struggle.

Guys like Lewis Smith and Zanatta are currently in favour whereas Euan Henderson-our top scorer- seems to have copped the flak for the Kelty Cup defeat which is inexcusable for me especially with golden boy O'Hara missing great chances every week.

For Falkirk,Morrison will have more scope  than in the last game as I would be surprised to see us double man-mark him in a home game and to do so would link in with the aforementioned caginess.However,he will probably play Lewis Smith on his side to offer additional support to the full back.

I'm detecting good interest through here with lapsed supporters finally saying they will attend and we badly need them as the haemorrhaging of fans from Canning onwards and folk boycotting because  of the old Board/Owners needs to end.There is no excuse for these people now as Zengin is doing the best he can with the Football Club and the Stadium Company is was it is...they even arranged for their Ice Rink behind the goals to be open during this game before changing it promptly, such is their lack of awareness of what is happening at 3pm Saturday.

Let's hope for a game that lives up to the occasion which rarely happens when nerves are jangling.

Double marking Morrison would show a tremendous lack of attention from Rankin and co, given that Calvin Miller should play, and is IMO every bit as dangerous if not more so. Hopefully both show up. If they both turn up at the same time they are borderline unplayable. 

2 hours ago, Bairnardo said:

Double marking Morrison would show a tremendous lack of attention from Rankin and co, given that Calvin Miller should play, and is IMO every bit as dangerous if not more so. Hopefully both show up. If they both turn up at the same time they are borderline unplayable. 

Recently Calvin Miller has been the better of the two IMO, he’s been a real surprise package for me this season and in a lot of the games he’s played has been our best player, he’s a wide player who can beat a man, can get himself into the box and also has an excellent delivery. He doesn’t always get the same recognition Morrison does but that’s probably to do with having had those two months out injured. 

Edited by LatapyBairn.

8 minutes ago, LatapyBairn. said:

Recently Calvin Miller has been the better of the two IMO, he’s been a real surprise package for me this season and in a lot of the games he’s played has been our best player, he’s a wide player who can beat a man and also has an excellent delivery. He doesn’t always get the same recognition Morrison does but that’s probably to do with having had those two months out injured. 

Morrison scores more, thus far, but Miller is the more adept of the two when it comes to arriving in the box. More fruit to come from that tree I hope. 

42 minutes ago, Ye Olde Hamiltonian said:

Yeah I agree with the majority of that. Would maybe say it's a bit harsh on Lewis and Dario though as I think both have made a good impact in recent games. However I still agree that Henderson must be starting especially in games like this. Agreed with what you said about the new board they're doing very well so far and they've given us the best summer window in seasons and we currently have a best squad than the 2 seasons in the championship and even some of the stuff we've had in the premiership it's just now down to Rankin if he can finish the job.

4 hours ago, Blame Me said:

He does get some harsh ones but he does tend to get booked for virtually the same challenge every game unfortunately.

1 hour ago, Ye Olde Hamiltonian said:

Aye I wouldn't think parents would be wanting their kids asking mummy what does wur blue wur white we're f@@kin dynamite mean etc. as they skate around.

48 minutes ago, Zaltan said:

If Rankin has a set he should go with a front  three of Smith, Zanatta, and Henderson in the middle, but we know that he will not

I think that would show a massive lack of respect to Falkirk tbf. We need to be balanced between and attack and defence and not leave the likes of Kilday and McGowan exposed. I'm not convinced this is a game Zanatta should start.

2 hours ago, Ian Mcleod said:

Yeah I agree with the majority of that. Would maybe say it's a bit harsh on Lewis and Dario though as I think both have made a good impact in recent games. However I still agree that Henderson must be starting especially in games like this. Agreed with what you said about the new board they're doing very well so far and they've given us the best summer window in seasons and we currently have a best squad than the 2 seasons in the championship and even some of the stuff we've had in the premiership it's just now down to Rankin if he can finish the job.

The new board still contains the egotistical maniac Strain.

4 hours ago, Shodwall cat said:

Aye I wouldn't think parents would be wanting their kids asking mummy what does wur blue wur white we're f@@kin dynamite mean etc. as they skate around.

The Stadium Company last season had a First Communion in the ground at the same time as our Play Off game versus Alloa ffs.😂😂

A surreal atmosphere ensued with  Rave Music blaring out at the same time  as we were protesting against the  Old Board and it got worse as some of the bladdered Patrons at the aforementioned event had a tet-a-tet with fans in Section A who took offence at these Old Firm clowns castigating their local team.