Stirling v Queens

On 22/12/2023 at 08:55, bod said:

Well, here we are again, the eve of a game and I’m wondering what Queens team will turn up and what team will Bartley field.

Last week understandably we started with the same 11 as the previous and looked good for the first 20-25mins until the Cochrane injury. To me all we needed was a straight swap with Todd coming on but no Bartley in his desperation to get McKechnie on the park changed a couple of things. We then lost hold of the game and we looked unbalanced for the next 20mins.

All sorts of rumours doing the rounds again about Bartley falling out with players, more signs of an inexperienced manager. You’d have thought he would have learned for his Miss McRae episode!

Anyway, looking forward to a wee trip to Stirling, it's been a while. I’d like to see another Montrose away performance with the line up below.

Stones,

Logan, Ambrose, McClelland, Church.

Todd, McKay, Ferguson, Gibson

Connelly, Reilly.

I couldn’t agree more with you on the Todd issue. It was blatantly obvious that Todd should have replaced Cochrane but he introduced McKechnie on the left where he is invariably totally anonymous as he “is all right foot” and becomes disorientated when having to go on the outside.

We started the season with a good number of decent central midfield options - Mimnaugh, Todd, Cochrane, Wilson, Johnstone. Slowly but surely we are down to the bare bones and the last thing we need is our Manager allowing a petty disagreement (which happen every day of the week in the average football dressing room) to stop us getting our best players on the pitch. Todd, like the vast majority of our players, can do a lot better than he has shown so far but there is no doubt that he remains a key player for us. Given our glaring shortage of quality it is surely not asking too much of our Manager to apply some common sense to the team selection process.

2 hours ago, SA45 said:

Bit dreich today but hopefully a good crowd can get along away from the Christmas hordes. Any drummers, buglers, trumpeters, old or young all welcome. Let's get behind the team today. 🇵🇪 🥁🎺

Banner must start.

What about rattle twirlers, are they welcome? We've got 2 or 3 of them to add to the atmosphere. 

2 hours ago, SA45 said:

Bit dreich today but hopefully a good crowd can get along away from the Christmas hordes. Any drummers, buglers, trumpeters, old or young all welcome. Let's get behind the team today. 🇵🇪 🥁🎺

Banner must start.

If anyone standing in terrace will be stunned

37 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

What about rattle twirlers, are they welcome? We've got 2 or 3 of them to add to the atmosphere. 

Rattle twirlers are allowed in the Away stand. Traditional brass and percussion instruments only for the Home stands/terracing. 😀

15 minutes ago, Distant Doonhamer said:

Todd starts.

31.Stone 3.Church 15.McClellend 24.Ambrose 2.Houston 5.McKay 8.Todd 17.Ferguson 27.Gibson 10.Connelly 9.Reilly

Subs  1.Botterill 11.McGuffie 14.Hutchinson 19.MacIntyre 22.Raggett 23.Logan 25.Doherty 28.Johnstone 30.Walker

Harry not recovered from last week's injury then.

13 minutes ago, Distant Doonhamer said:

Todd starts.

31.Stone 3.Church 15.McClellend 24.Ambrose 2.Houston 5.McKay 8.Todd 17.Ferguson 27.Gibson 10.Connelly 9.Reilly

Subs  1.Botterill 11.McGuffie 14.Hutchinson 19.MacIntyre 22.Raggett 23.Logan 25.Doherty 28.Johnstone 30.Walker

Looks like Manager has made peace with Todd and Gibson assuming the rumours of a fallout were true in the first place. Already been said but the Manager and players must do what's best for the team irrespective of any personal differences.