Most liked/disliked teams in League 2

East Fife because some wee b*****d threw a stone at my car, smashing my back windscreen after the match when the Albion beat them in the play off final about ten years ago, also because they play in  a soulless one stand pish ground having left a cracking wee ground 20 years ago, I also still recall that horrible b*****d Willie Brown playing for them in the 90's and, finally they're in Fife.

Remember a particularly bad tempered 2-2 draw at Bayview in the early 90's, the game Mark McGeown saved a last minute penalty he celebrated his goal by spitting at the away support in that covered enclosure, quite possibly the ugliest guy I've seen playing professional football. 

15 hours ago, tamthebam said:

I hope not, he was addressing a "get fans into football ownership" conference. 

You may not have had an owner at any time but Mr Irving wasn't short of a bob. 

Ive absolutely no idea how wealthy Alan is/was. He is a true gentleman and was a great servant to AAFC as a player and committee member over many many years. It was Mr Scott who won the lottery and paid for the stand.

I never really dislked any team at this level as everyone’s in the same boat but for this season i’ll hope Stranraer finish bottom after this thread.After me wanting Stranraer to beat EK too.

Hopefully Edinburgh city can survive as everyone seems to think they’re doomed.

11 hours ago, annan4eva said:

Ive absolutely no idea how wealthy Alan is/was. He is a true gentleman and was a great servant to AAFC as a player and committee member over many many years. It was Mr Scott who won the lottery and paid for the stand.

Remember it's called the Monk & Scott stand for a reason.

16 hours ago, doulikefish said:

Perfect.....we better get you lot in a cup 

Hopefully at your place so I can a) tick off Balmoor and b ) have a pre match breakfast at your maw's.

Thought there would have been more of a response to this thread given the general level of "dislike" on this forum.

Genuinely struggling to work out which team I dislike most, so in the spirit of a "roasting", here goes…

Could be Bonnyrigg. The ground is awful, the pitch is worse, and as for the portaloos for visiting fans, enough said. The fans have a certain attitude (along with Clyde the only ones that routinely cause trouble at Stair Park)… "You can take their team out of the Juniors but not the juniors…". The possibly the worst player I've ever seen at this level (McGachie). And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

But then again it might be Clyde that I dislike most. Their fans forever harking back to the glory days of the 1950s (and that cup win against Celtic). You never quite know where away games against them will be held. Their catering is poor – pies taste as if they have been reheated (to not quite room temperature) from previous games. They associate themselves with people like David Goodwillie, Ian McCall and that kit man. And above all they are not very good at golf!

As for East Fife, another set of fans harking back to the dim and (more) distant (than Clyde) past. An awful one-sided ground whose best view was ruined when the power station was demolished. A stadium announcer that scares the hell out of visiting fans. And those prices… God knows what they will charge when they reach the top league. (Perhaps He doesn't, because he knows how likely that is to happen!)

(FC) Edinburgh (city). The changes of name and taking the name of a defunct side. (But that happens in Glasgow too!) The awful, awful ground. Their depriving the League of the benefit of East Kilbride's presence through the late late award of their bronze licence. And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

Elgin City. So far away… If I had a pound for every time I've reached Aviemore and thought nearly there… Their huge success since joining the SPFL. Them providing a trap for quizzers who give the obvious answer of Ross County when asked about the most northerly team in the SPFL. (Come on Buckie!) And the fact that they were the first non-league side I saw knocking Stranraer out of the Scottish cup.

Forfar Athletic. That awful stand where you can only see the whole of the pitch from the front row, and even then you're blinded by the sun. Neddish OAP fans and officious stewards. Ray McKinnon and his entertaining style of football. Their failure to beat the original Rangers in the 1982 Scottish cup semi-final, despite having two attempts. The fact that Stranraer never win there, or never when I'm there.

Peterhead. So far away (see Elgin… why can't the SPFL organise doubleheaders with Elgin away in the morning and Peterhead in the afternoon?) Visiting fans' inability to understand anything the locals say. Surviving on borrowing. Only having fans for whom they are their wee team. And not being able to get stovies for lunch the last time I was in the bar at the park.

Stirling Albion. Serial underperformers. Superior (sic) fans, giving fan ownership a bad name. Being one of only two teams in Scotland with a nickname derived from a DC Thomson comic (Dandy Dons?) Rabbits and their rabbit holes on the pitch.

(The) Spartans. The "the" – no team with "the" in their actual title, or the name used by fans (The Rangers*), should be allowed to compete in the SPFL. Their location, with no decent pub within walking distance (unless you count an hour as reasonable walking distance). The pretence of organic growth despite megabucks being shoved in to buy a place in the SPFL. Their regularly putting on better games on the second pitch behind the stand. Their almost complete lack of a travelling support. And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

And last but not least, Stranraer. As a supporter, of course they are the team I hate most! Too far for home games. The fact that we've only won three titles and one Challenge Cup, and not yet either the League or Scottish cups. (But see Clyde and East Fife – we will be just as boring in boasting about these wins when they happen!) The home play-off against East Kilbride, at least until the 117th minute. Almost the UK's longest-ever penalty shootout, and definitely the worst when losing out to Ayr United for promotion after playing them off the park. And the fact that both of our record wins happened while I was in a holiday in Italy! Maybe time to organise another one.

50 minutes ago, EdinburghBlue said:

Thought there would have been more of a response to this thread given the general level of "dislike" on this forum.

Genuinely struggling to work out which team I dislike most, so in the spirit of a "roasting", here goes…

Could be Bonnyrigg. The ground is awful, the pitch is worse, and as for the portaloos for visiting fans, enough said. The fans have a certain attitude (along with Clyde the only ones that routinely cause trouble at Stair Park)… "You can take their team out of the Juniors but not the juniors…". The possibly the worst player I've ever seen at this level (McGachie). And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

But then again it might be Clyde that I dislike most. Their fans forever harking back to the glory days of the 1950s (and that cup win against Celtic). You never quite know where away games against them will be held. Their catering is poor – pies taste as if they have been reheated (to not quite room temperature) from previous games. They associate themselves with people like David Goodwillie, Ian McCall and that kit man. And above all they are not very good at golf!

As for East Fife, another set of fans harking back to the dim and (more) distant (than Clyde) past. An awful one-sided ground whose best view was ruined when the power station was demolished. A stadium announcer that scares the hell out of visiting fans. And those prices… God knows what they will charge when they reach the top league. (Perhaps He doesn't, because he knows how likely that is to happen!)

(FC) Edinburgh (city). The changes of name and taking the name of a defunct side. (But that happens in Glasgow too!) The awful, awful ground. Their depriving the League of the benefit of East Kilbride's presence through the late late award of their bronze licence. And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

Elgin City. So far away… If I had a pound for every time I've reached Aviemore and thought nearly there… Their huge success since joining the SPFL. Them providing a trap for quizzers who give the obvious answer of Ross County when asked about the most northerly team in the SPFL. (Come on Buckie!) And the fact that they were the first non-league side I saw knocking Stranraer out of the Scottish cup.

Forfar Athletic. That awful stand where you can only see the whole of the pitch from the front row, and even then you're blinded by the sun. Neddish OAP fans and officious stewards. Ray McKinnon and his entertaining style of football. Their failure to beat the original Rangers in the 1982 Scottish cup semi-final, despite having two attempts. The fact that Stranraer never win there, or never when I'm there.

Peterhead. So far away (see Elgin… why can't the SPFL organise doubleheaders with Elgin away in the morning and Peterhead in the afternoon?) Visiting fans' inability to understand anything the locals say. Surviving on borrowing. Only having fans for whom they are their wee team. And not being able to get stovies for lunch the last time I was in the bar at the park.

Stirling Albion. Serial underperformers. Superior (sic) fans, giving fan ownership a bad name. Being one of only two teams in Scotland with a nickname derived from a DC Thomson comic (Dandy Dons?) Rabbits and their rabbit holes on the pitch.

(The) Spartans. The "the" – no team with "the" in their actual title, or the name used by fans (The Rangers*), should be allowed to compete in the SPFL. Their location, with no decent pub within walking distance (unless you count an hour as reasonable walking distance). The pretence of organic growth despite megabucks being shoved in to buy a place in the SPFL. Their regularly putting on better games on the second pitch behind the stand. Their almost complete lack of a travelling support. And the SPFL already has enough teams from Edinburgh.

And last but not least, Stranraer. As a supporter, of course they are the team I hate most! Too far for home games. The fact that we've only won three titles and one Challenge Cup, and not yet either the League or Scottish cups. (But see Clyde and East Fife – we will be just as boring in boasting about these wins when they happen!) The home play-off against East Kilbride, at least until the 117th minute. Almost the UK's longest-ever penalty shootout, and definitely the worst when losing out to Ayr United for promotion after playing them off the park. And the fact that both of our record wins happened while I was in a holiday in Italy! Maybe time to organise another one.

You can blame Accies for the shite pies!

2 hours ago, EdinburghBlue said:

Get over yerself man................ Keith Knox legend 🥰

2 hours ago, BullyWeeStonehouse said:

You can blame Accies for the shite pies!

Aye, pies at Broadwood were nothing special but always perfectly fine.

I know you'll sometimes see pies advertised as "steak and gravy", but I think it's implicit that any "steak pie" will contain at least some gravy... unless you're in Hamilton.

I think many of us just tend to dislike our own sides more often than the opposition as this is a game to be endured, not enjoyed. 

Personally for me, I dislike the clubs higher up the pyramid who think they're massive but are essentially just higher on the diddy ladder.

Really hard to think of teams like I dislike at league 2 level as fans of clubs in this level are usually fans like me who have a connection to their team and have chosen not to follow the blue and green teams who suck up all the media and attention. 

There will be specific games I will be a bit grumbly that they won,  but my ire for teams tends to be further up the league.

I have no axe to grind with Peterhead, despite my mate @doulikefish's baiting...

Fraserburgh however... They can f**k off.

I've always disliked Partick Thistle, for a dozen reasons.

I don't dislike Ayr United at all, though I LOVE the rivalry with them on derby days.

Stirling Albion tried to engineer some sort of direct rivalry with Dumbarton for some reason, at various times throughout the last 50 years. I couldn't care less. They're nothing to me.

Spartans and Bonnyrigg strike me as 'proper' non-league sides. I.E absolute nothings.

But I absolutely HATE the old firm. c***s on the pitch, c***s off the pitch, c***s in the stands, c***s in the pubs, stay at home fan c***s, never been to a match c***s, live hundreds of miles from the grounds c***s, think football is a TV show c***s, don't actually follow the teams and just associate themselves by proxy c***s and 'aye but who do you REALLY support, big man?' c***s.

1 hour ago, May Rckinnon said:

I think many of us just tend to dislike our own sides more often than the opposition as this is a game to be endured, not enjoyed. 

Personally for me, I dislike the clubs higher up the pyramid who think they're massive but are essentially just higher on the diddy ladder.

Like Falkirk?

1 hour ago, BullyWeeStonehouse said:

Like Falkirk?

One of the absolute diddiest. They've just spent five years in the third tier as a full time side and were convinced they shouldn't be there. In reality, it's their natural level.

2 hours ago, Sweet Pete said:

One of the absolute diddiest. They've just spent five years in the third tier as a full time side and were convinced they shouldn't be there. In reality, it's their natural level.

I remember raiths stint in L1 & thinking nobody could behave more diddy. Had a conversation with a raith fan who was adamant they were the best team in L1 when Arbroath finished 1st, Forfar 2nd & themselves 3rd. His argument "aye we can't defend but we're the best team by a mile, we're the biggest club". 

Then Falkirk came along & took diddy to a whole different level.

Clyde and Bonnyrigg are my two most hated at the moment.

Clyde employed a rapist for several years and have generally annoying fans

Bonnyriggs pitch is an actual disgrace at this level. Everyone connected with the club could also be arrested for crimes against football for the way they play

special mention to east Fife for having a terrible single stand ground that’s always freezing. Alan Trouten always scores against us too which pisses me off