P&b Running Club

Finished in 2:20, which I'm pleased with given my pish prep. It's a couple of minutes slower than my usual.

Really enjoyed it, a great course and good support.

Well done mate that's a brilliant time and improvement.

What did you do differently to get that improvement? My PB is 2:15 and while I'm not huge on chasing times I'd like to beat it.

That time was four years ago. I'd have to check but I think I weighed at least a stone more that time! Just really concentrated on getting more good long runs in the bag before the race so I knew I could take the pace for the distance. Also prepared far better in terms of diet in the week before this time so I was well fuelled for it. Last time I ran right out of puff at ten miles but today was fine. Bit of interval training in the last few weeks has also helped IMO.

I got round in 1:47:16.  About 10 minutes slower than last year.  My running's been pretty half hearted since the Edinburgh marathon and I've been focused much more on swimming so it was no big surprise.  Think I'll be targeting 5 and 10ks for the next year at least unless I get a place at London.  

39:11 for me in the 10k, a 13 second PB. Can't quite believed I managed it - was aiming to get somewhere around the 40 minute mark given that I've still been in heavy training and this is a harder course than my previous best at Grangemouth.

Started out sensibly going up the hill, was 20 seconds down on 40 mins after 3km but then started going - got those all back at halfway and then just kept pushing. Knew with a kilometre or so to go that it was going to be close so gritted the teeth and went for it.

Probably got some funny looks shouting and celebrating across the line!

Part two of my ramblings about starting running for those interested: http://smtid.blogspot.co.uk/2016/10/run-forrest-run.html

Keep 'em coming; I enjoyed reading it!

Sounds like most of you had a successful day one way or the other, great to hear how everyone got on.

I cursed myself with my watch comment yesterday - it prompty died last night! Ran today's marathon with only the time on my mobile to judge..was very unsettling, but I ran well for a new PB of 3:04:58, squeezing a London GFA time out in a sprint finish.

Tired and sore now. Just watching back the GSR just now.

39:11 for me in the 10k, a 13 second PB. Can't quite believed I managed it - was aiming to get somewhere around the 40 minute mark given that I've still been in heavy training and this is a harder course than my previous best at Grangemouth.

Started out sensibly going up the hill, was 20 seconds down on 40 mins after 3km but then started going - got those all back at halfway and then just kept pushing. Knew with a kilometre or so to go that it was going to be close so gritted the teeth and went for it.

Probably got some funny looks shouting and celebrating across the line!

Great running!!

Your old pb would be very similar to mine. I was in no shape to go for it today but I did get round in 40.31, under my 41 min target. Serious knee pain from 5k. Old injury coming back to haunt. Just had to grin and bear it. Kept all my splits within 10 seconds of each other and a nice sprint finish. Hard not to go for that last 400m. Great theatre!

Guest bernardblack

Great running!!

Your old pb would be very similar to mine. I was in no shape to go for it today but I did get round in 40.31, under my 41 min target. Serious knee pain from 5k. Old injury coming back to haunt. Just had to grin and bear it. Kept all my splits within 10 seconds of each other and a nice sprint finish. Hard not to go for that last 400m. Great theatre!

That 400m sign was such a relief, but was properly the longest 400m ever!!

Keep 'em coming; I enjoyed reading it!

Sounds like most of you had a successful day one way or the other, great to hear how everyone got on.

I cursed myself with my watch comment yesterday - it prompty died last night! Ran today's marathon with only the time on my mobile to judge..was very unsettling, but I ran well for a new PB of 3:04:58, squeezing a London GFA time out in a sprint finish.

Tired and sore now. Just watching back the GSR just now.

Good effort, morrison. How did you find Chester then? Looks like you had cracking weather for it.

Cheers! Aye, the weather was perfect - a calm day that gradually warmed up.

You weren't wrong about the hills. Coming back in there were quite a few lumps to conquer. Thought the support was great once you got into Wales and through the villages on the other side.

The whole event went as smoothly as you could ask, very impressed. Chester seems a nice place, though I was only there for a little over 24 hours!

On 8/13/2016 at 23:16, morrison said:

Got to agree with this. Find yourself somewhere you can get in repetitions of 400m to 1-2miles, maybe with around 8-12 reps at shorter distances to 2-3 at the other extreme; and mind to give yourself recovery time in between! The pace should be hard but not flat out - ideally you'd be able to finish on your fastest rep.

Aside from that, when you're running 8-12 miles in training, keep the pace slower than your target pace, and try upping it to target for 2-3 miles during the later part. Gives a taste for what it might feel like on heavier legs.

The parkruns'll stand you in good stead, so keep that up. Your goal sounds achievable based on your 5k time; gradually increase the mileage over the next few weeks, easing off in the last fortnight before the race to let the legs recover, and tell us all about how you smashed it after!

This advice definitely helped - thank you! Got myself round yesterday in 1.38. I had agreed to start in the last wave with my mate (who I swiftly left behind) so was pretty chuffed with the time given that the first few miles involved lots of ducking and diving around people! Was a great day - fun course and beautiful weather. 5 hour train journey back to London afterwards left me with pretty stiff legs today though! 

Edited by VladimirMooc

Great running!!

I must have been pretty close to you at some point - I started a little bit behind the 40 minute pacer and only went past him with about a kilometre to go.

Agree with the last few hundred metres, definitely what you need to get through the last bit!

On 01/10/2016 at 20:10, morrison said:

I had a stretch of the legs at Carlisle parkrun this morning on my way down to Chester for tomorrow's marathon. Finished 42nd, which I'm taking as a metric sign that things will go well!

Fanny p, what does the 630 do? I've been wanting a change for ages but can't justify it just now.

Good luck to all running the various GSR races, look forward to reading the reports!

It comes with a chest strap heart rate monitor that contains an accelerometer and combines with the GPS. This gives quite detailed run analytics like foot strike time and stride length. It also allows you to calculate your lactate threshold and build workouts around that. It also has some nice GPS features, such as the ability to be guided back to the start point during the run and the ability to mark way points on runs, so you can return to those spots in the future. Probably the biggest plus for me compared to my old watch though is the battery life. One charge is lasting me around 2/3 weeks of continuous use, with about 10/12 runs in that time.

15 hours ago, true_rover said:

I must have been pretty close to you at some point - I started a little bit behind the 40 minute pacer and only went past him with about a kilometre to go.

Agree with the last few hundred metres, definitely what you need to get through the last bit!

The 40 minute pacer passed me at the riverboat casino (8.5k?) as I started much nearer the start line than him. I had found a rythym though and I wasnt for trying to keep with him. Our gun times were probably quite close, dont know how to find them though.

This advice definitely helped - thank you! Got myself round yesterday in 1.38. I had agreed to start in the last wave with my mate (who I swiftly left behind) so was pretty chuffed with the time given that the first few miles involved lots of ducking and diving around people! Was a great day - fun course and beautiful weather. 5 hour train journey back to London afterwards left me with pretty stiff legs today though! 

Brilliant stuff, glad it all went well.

Yeah, it tends to be tricky to walk normally on the days after a solid effort over that sort of distance... but the pain is worth it!

Don't usually post on here but was hoping for a bit of running related advice.

I'm not a regular runner but recently ran the GSR half marathon in just over 1hr 42mins, mainly to force me to get off my arse and get fit (or at least fitter). Now that's done I fancy a new challenge and toying with the idea of the Stirling marathon in May, however I have already committed to running a 10k with my wee brother just 7 days after this. Is this as stupid an idea as I'm thinking it is or will a week give me enough time to recover from the full marathon? It's currently 3 days since the half and I'm still struggling to get up the stairs in the office!

7 hours ago, Foz said:

Don't usually post on here but was hoping for a bit of running related advice.

I'm not a regular runner but recently ran the GSR half marathon in just over 1hr 42mins, mainly to force me to get off my arse and get fit (or at least fitter). Now that's done I fancy a new challenge and toying with the idea of the Stirling marathon in May, however I have already committed to running a 10k with my wee brother just 7 days after this. Is this as stupid an idea as I'm thinking it is or will a week give me enough time to recover from the full marathon? It's currently 3 days since the half and I'm still struggling to get up the stairs in the office!

3 or 4 days is usually sufficient time to recover, so you should be fine a week later. Personally, after a big race (HM or full marathon) I turn into a lazy b*****d and don't exercise for weeks, so I'm going to try hard to make parkrun on Saturday. 

Cheers, hoped as much. Just with it being a fair distance more than I've ever ran before wasn't sure wherther there would be a step change in recovery times either. 

I would have turned into a lazy b*****d post race... that's why I'm looking for another challenge to try to motivate me to keep it up!