Pregnancy And Parenting

Cheers - I'll get them tested post haste.

Anyway I'm here to moan like f**k and see if what I do is normal or if my wife is ripping the pish....

As mentioned I've got 4 kids, 3 boys and a girl. My concern is kids clubs and the ridiculous costs involved - particularly with the young lass....

The boys all do the same clubs but with a slight variation depending on age.

Oldest - Football, Cubs, Karate, Swimming

Middle - Football, Beavers, Karate, Swimming

Youngest - Football, Beavers, Karate, Swimming

Daughter - Gymnastics, Contemporary Dancing, Karate, Swimming.

My gripe is - do they really need to do all of these clubs? I always thought they would start a few, settle on 1 or 2 and then the others would drop off but they all love every one of their clubs and are all competing in everything except swimming., which we are going to stop when the youngest is fully competent in the water to save his life should he need to.

Between all this I have 0 nights or days a week with no club so every night I get in from work at 5:30PM / 6PM and promptly run about all over Dundee (and St. Andrews!) until usually about 8PM before I get home to bath and bed the kids. Weekends are a blur until 1PM Saturday and 3PM Sunday. I should add my wife is doing the same although is at Uni/Placement rather than working - my gripe is not that I should do less and her more - we both chose to have 4 kids (well 3 really but whatever) so I know we can't expect a quiet life but this seems a bit much?

The other killer is the cost - I'm currently shelling out just under £800 a month on subscriptions alone - that is to say no gear (football boots, Karate ghee's, Beavers jumpers, Leotards, training gear etc)

I keep telling my Mrs they need to drop a club each - particularly now my daughter has started competing at dancing - to give you a flavor in the next 3 weeks she will be competing in Edinburgh, Newcastle then London. Her dancing outfit we bought 2nd hand for £350 - so in and of itself it's a very expensive pastime. My Mrs isn't up for it though, and guilts me by saying stuff like they should have every opportunity we can give them, let them decide, all their friends do it etc etc...

Is the above normal or is it too much? I honestly don't know and don't want to come across as the shitey dad who stopped the clubs?!

It does seem a bit much, cost wise and time wise.

But if you cut out a club for each of them you'd need to make sure they were all on the same night, otherwise you'd still be running around every night!

One of my step daughters was in the same boat re clubs, she had 3 to ferry about, although I don't think she was out every night, just most nights and she was doing it on her own (with a bit of occasional help from father & grandad - not me the other one).

I'm here indeed but I'm not a midwife. I would say, though, that worrying about it isn't going to help your blood pressure. You need to have it explained to you/your wife by your own medical professional about what it means in your specific circumstance. Do not be afraid to ask what's going on. It isn't always indicative of something major but it's always better to err on the side of caution.

I always think of you when there's a medical emergency on P&B. I hope you're prepared for when Old Man Danger needs his bypass.

You could offload some of the work to itzdrk, but I understand he just likes to play dress-up.

Reading Saintee -1

Scary Bear - 3

Rowan - 2

Reina - 2

Mrs M (Lm) - 1

Swarley - 2

Mozza - 1

Skyline Drifter - 2

die hard doonhamer - 2

Scottsdad - 1

Bobby Skidmarks - 1

Weirdcal - 1

Mallo_Madrid -2

Shuggie - 3 (Shuggie_Murray7)

lightscamera - 2

Nelsjfc - 2

G_Man1985 - 2

energyzone -1

Gaz -2

milton75 -1

mozam76 -1

gav-ffc - 1

pub car king - 2

bobby carlos - 2

Nelly 78 - 1

Desp - 1

Sparky88 - 1

8MileBU - 1

James Keatings, a.k.a.The Lochend Brazil - 1

Dee Dee - 2

Septentrional Wasp - 1

madwullie - 2

KiwiDB - 1

K.T. (Kid Twist) - 1

mattydfc - 2/3

The Woolshed - 1

Ally - 2 x 1/2

11thHour - 2

Le Tout P'ti Fc - 1

panddarilla - 2

WeAreElgin - 2

KnightswoodBear - 2

RoversMad - 1

DarkBlues62 - 1

endieinreekie - 1

killienick - 2

jmothecat - 1/3

banana - 2

carpetmonster - 1

Deefiant - 3

SlipperyP - 2

Ando - 3

Penny Lane - 1

SweetPete - 1

bambino7 -1 + 1/2

Scotty79 - 2/3

Rugster - 1/2

Aberdeen Warrior - 1/3

Running total - 81 + 2 x 2/3 + 4 x 1/2 + 2 x 1/3

Grandchildren:

JG - 5

Romeo - 2

Keithgy - 1

heedthebaa - 3

Raidernation - 1

supermik - 1

printer - 1

Eednud - 1

Grand total - 96 + 2 x 2/3 + 4 x 1/2 + 2 x 1/3

Right, Deefiant upped to 3 and SweetPete added.

I've got a grandson tae.

Born AFTER the start of this thread?

The Rules (arbitarily imposed by myself) are very strict, you know. 8)

Might have read better had I spelt "arbitrarily" correctly the first time... :whistle

Edited by Jacksgranda

I've so far managed to not get too involved in dancing. She goes to Irish dancing but doesn't compete or anything, mainly cause she can't really do it yet!

All three go to swimming lessons bug I see that as a non discussion life skill one.

All three go to PACE drama (well youngest about to start) get a third off fees for having three.

Eldest goes to beavers and climbing club.

Middle one will start gymnastics when she is 5.

I'd rather that than them sat in front of screens every night.

I always think of you when there's a medical emergency on P&B. I hope you're prepared for when Old Man Danger needs his bypass.

You could offload some of the work to itzdrk, but I understand he just likes to play dress-up.

It's fine unless I start getting PMs asking me "what do you think this rash might be? (Picture attached)".

Reading Saintee -1

Scary Bear - 3
Rowan - 2
Reina - 2
Mrs M (Lm) - 1
Swarley - 2
Mozza - 1
Skyline Drifter - 2
die hard doonhamer - 2
Scottsdad - 1
Bobby Skidmarks - 1
Weirdcal - 1
Mallo_Madrid -2
lightscamera - 2
nelsjfc - 2
G_Man1985 - 2
energyzone -1
Gaz -2
milton75 -1
mozam76 -1
gav-ffc - 1
pub car king - 2
bobby carlos - 2
Nelly 78 - 1
Desp - 1
Sparky88 - 1
8MileBU - 1
Dee Dee - 2
Septentrional Wasp - 1
madwullie - 2
KiwiDB - 1
K.T. (Kid Twist) - 1
mattydfc - 2/3
The Woolshed - 1
Ally - 2 x 1/2
11thHour - 2
Le Tout P'ti Fc - 1
panddarilla - 2
WeAreElgin - 2
KnightswoodBear - 2
RoversMad - 1
DarkBlues62 - 1

endieinreekie - 1

killienick - 2

jmothecat - 1/3

banana - 2

carpetmonster - 1

Deefiant - 3

SlipperyP - 2

Ando - 3

Penny Lane - 1

Sweet Pete - 1

bambino7 -1 + 1/2

Scotty79 - 2/3

Rugster - 1/2

Aberdeen Warrior - 1/3

Running total - 81 + 2 x 2/3 + 4 x 1/2 + 2 x 1/3

Grandchildren:

JG - 5
Romeo - 2
Keithgy - 1
heedthebaa - 3
Raidernation - 1
supermik - 1
printer - 1
Eednud - 1

Archie - 1

Grand total - 97 + 2 x 2/3 + 4 x 1/2 + 2 x 1/3

Edited by Jacksgranda

Don't get me started on dancing.

My oldest was doing "Creative Dance" at Dundee College on a Saturday morning - absolute pile of pish, I think they spent more time drawing pictures than anything else! Fortunately (or unfortunately) she got a Gymnastics place on a Tuesday night and Saturday, works out less expensive than it first seems. Unless she ends up being good at it and it will get mega expensive! Edited by lightscamera

It's fine unless I start getting PMs asking me "what do you think this rash might be? (Picture attached)".

The thought never would have occurred to me.

It has now, though.

Have you still got the picture?

Post it on here and we can all have a laugh...erm, give a diagnosis.

No need - it's Orf.

Happy to help, Moz.

My two year old is utterly fixated on our Android tablet computer and though we won't let him use it that long, he would literally lie on the floor with the tablet propped in its stand selecting different videos for himself for hours if we would let him.

He'll ask for not only the computer, but for specific YouTube channels ("want Toylabbers", for example) and then explore loads of dofferent ones using the sidebar.

He's much more interested in YouTube than in any of the age appropriate apps we've downloaded for him.

I've had to block YouTube on the wean's computer, as he's been using it as an excuse for not sleeping well - he keeps watching creepypasta videos and claims that he can't stop himself. Load of nonsense; he's just looking for an excuse to stay up later, but it's quite entertaining to listen to his convoluted reasons about why he should get YouTube back :P

I know, I'm a terrible father.

Reading Saintee -1

Scary Bear - 3
Rowan - 2
Reina - 2
Mrs M (Lm) - 1
Swarley - 2
Mozza - 1
Skyline Drifter - 2
die hard doonhamer - 2
Scottsdad - 1
Bobby Skidmarks - 1
Weirdcal - 1
Mallo_Madrid -2
lightscamera - 2
nelsjfc - 2
G_Man1985 - 2
energyzone -1
Gaz -2
milton75 -1
mozam76 -1
gav-ffc - 1
pub car king - 2
bobby carlos - 2
Nelly 78 - 1
Desp - 1
Sparky88 - 1
8MileBU - 1
Dee Dee - 2
Septentrional Wasp - 1
madwullie - 2
KiwiDB - 1
K.T. (Kid Twist) - 1
mattydfc - 2/3
The Woolshed - 1
Ally - 2 x 1/2
11thHour - 2
Le Tout P'ti Fc - 1
panddarilla - 2
WeAreElgin - 2
KnightswoodBear - 2
RoversMad - 1
DarkBlues62 - 1

endieinreekie - 1

killienick - 2

jmothecat - 1/3

banana - 2

carpetmonster - 1

Deefiant - 3

SlipperyP - 2

Ando - 3

Penny Lane - 1

Sweet Pete - 1

bambino7 -1 + 1/2

Scotty79 - 2/3

Rugster - 1/2

Aberdeen Warrior - 1/2

Running total - 81 + 2 x 2/3 + 5 x 1/2 + 1 x 1/3

Grandchildren:

JG - 5
Romeo - 2
Keithgy - 1
heedthebaa - 3
Raidernation - 1
supermik - 1
printer - 1
Eednud - 1

Archie - 1

Grand total - 97 + 2 x 2/3 + 5 x 1/2 + 1 x 1/3

(Echo the YouTube sentiments above).

A classic from the bairn yesterday though. Off school and she went out with the missus. Came back later and didnt want to practice her dancing so had a meltdown and ran upstairs (the bairn). Came down 20 minutes later with a packed bag and a written letter which said "I feel lowinlay. You hav hurt my feellings I am leeveng (our address). bi bi Alice"

Reading Saintee -1

Scary Bear - 3
Rowan - 2
Reina - 2
Mrs M (Lm) - 1
Swarley - 2
Mozza - 1
Skyline Drifter - 2
die hard doonhamer - 2
Scottsdad - 1
Bobby Skidmarks - 1
Weirdcal - 1