Who's Going To Uni?

I don't know about other unis, but Stirling didn't seem to have any of that leftie stuff going on in my time there. The political stuff on campus appeared to very much be centrist Blairite New Labour pish. I'd heard a lot about student activists, but Stirling just seems to be a very apathetic uni. Good.

I noticed that in my time there, far less of the far-left anti-cuts groups in Stirling than at Glasgow or Edinburgh.

I was actually surprised by how many far left groups there are at Glasgow, I think I counted five different ones at Freshers Fair alone. About a month into my course I was chatting to this girl I met in a bar who was a member of one of these groups (can't remember which one, think it was the GU Socialist and Workers or something), and although I disagreed with her she was hot so I was acting far more interested and sympathetic to her views than I actually felt. What amused me most though was when I saw a poster for a similarly named political group (something like the GU Communist and Socialist society) she said 'No, I hate them, they are so Leninist in their views, we are Trotskyists.'

It reminded me of the seen in Life of Brian with the People's Front of Judea hating the other similarly named groups.

Stirling I noticed seemed to have very few of these groups, tended to be more party political, Labour, SNP and the Tories being the most active I found when I was there.

I wonder if it's a class thing. Glasgow and Edinburgh seem to have more upper class posh people and for some reason I've noticed these far left student groups seem to be full of privately educated posh sounding people for some reason. I'm unsure why really, but that could be the reason the far-left political thing hasn't happened at Stirling Uni.

I noticed that in my time there, far less of the far-left anti-cuts groups in Stirling than at Glasgow or Edinburgh.

Stirling I noticed seemed to have very few of these groups, tended to be more party political, Labour, SNP and the Tories being the most active I found when I was there.

I wonder if it's a class thing. Glasgow and Edinburgh seem to have more upper class posh people and for some reason I've noticed these far left student groups seem to be full of privately educated posh sounding people for some reason. I'm unsure why really, but that could be the reason the far-left political thing hasn't happened at Stirling Uni.

Daddy's little Marxist and all that! Weird how the far left and the far right seem to hoover up almost identical posh types. But aye, Stirling always was an apathetic uni. I arrived there as a fire breathing radical, all militant, pro Palestine, and cheering the death of British soldiers, and left as an apathetic jaded type, with centrist views, a great belief in keeping most things as they are, and with absolutely no desire to get involved politically.

I was the opposite I think, being around apathetic people radicalised me. Being around left-wing people, as I am now in Glasgow, has made me despise left-wing politics.

I'd still consider myself left-wing but God lefties are fucking annoying.

I saw a guy in a pars top in the library 3rd floor, was that you? Just so you know, Stirling is firmly Rovers territory Poet. Propa nawty aggro for you townie mugs!

The bar manager in 'Studio' is an Albion fan. One of the library staff is also a bino. And then there's me :ph34r:

I was the opposite I think, being around apathetic people radicalised me. Being around left-wing people, as I am now in Glasgow, has made me despise left-wing politics.

I'd still consider myself left-wing but God lefties are fucking annoying.

I don't define myself as being particularly left or right. Im in the apathetic middle in most ways, but I see everything through the prism of Scottish independence. Might have changed now, but god there was precious little mention of that in my undergrad days. Place was a hub of New Labour Unionism.

Incidentally, lefties are okay, but temporary extremists are the worst! We've all met them, they've tumbled out of private school, having never worked a day in their puff, and with the aid of daddy's chequebook, have bought themselves a beret and joined the socialist party. Suddenly they are the loudest and most committed protesters there can be, and they never fucking shut up about it. Give it a year though, and they will have moved on to something else like extreme environmentalism, or libertariansim, or some other fashionable pish. Now THEY are fucking annoying.

Max Crema is not a real name, surely? Sounds like some kind of special edition Cadbury's would release for April.

He does my course. "Daddy's little Marxist" is a fantasic description. Total fud. He made his sales pitch to our lecture theatre before class with the lecturer present. He actually said "I'm in the class" during his wee speech, then proceeded to walk out before it started. Just one example of his bawbaggery.

The SRC election at Glasgow was the same.

I didn't pay much attention to the SRC elections. Did that piss take win the presidential? His manifesto was quite funny.

I'd be surprised if any non-SRC elections at Glasgow were "political" per se.

The only noticeable political activity you have at Glasgow is the plethora of Marxist and anti-cuts posters that people spam the campus with. The SWP don't even seem to have their stall up much these days any more and the Hetherington crew being gone has seen all that die down. Mainstream politics on an organised level is pretty much absent.

I was actually surprised by how many far left groups there are at Glasgow, I think I counted five different ones at Freshers Fair alone. About a month into my course I was chatting to this girl I met in a bar who was a member of one of these groups (can't remember which one, think it was the GU Socialist and Workers or something), and although I disagreed with her she was hot so I was acting far more interested and sympathetic to her views than I actually felt. What amused me most though was when I saw a poster for a similarly named political group (something like the GU Communist and Socialist society) she said 'No, I hate them, they are so Leninist in their views, we are Trotskyists.'

It reminded me of the seen in Life of Brian with the People's Front of Judea hating the other similarly named groups.

The bit in bold is very interesting. There's virtually nothing by way of genuine party-political activity at Glasgow beyond the Lib Dems, SNP and Tories having stalls at the Fresher's Fair. Student politics at Glasgow operates in its own vacuum to an extent.

The far right hoovers up posh types? They're all skinheads!

Give it a year though, and they will have moved on to something else like extreme environmentalism, or libertariansim, or some other fashionable pish. Now THEY are fucking annoying.

<_<

Anyone who wastes their time campaigning for student politics is doing it wrong from the start. At Strathclyde they normally hand out five or six token jobs where one person stands unopposed. Unfortunately I forgot to sign up to one of these free meal tickets before the elections came round.

Whenever I voted I always chose 'reopen nominations' in the hope that some tit would have to do their campaign all over.

I didn't pay much attention to the SRC elections. Did that piss take win the presidential? His manifesto was quite funny.

I'd be surprised if any non-SRC elections at Glasgow were "political" per se.

The only noticeable political activity you have at Glasgow is the plethora of Marxist and anti-cuts posters that people spam the campus with. The SWP don't even seem to have their stall up much these days any more and the Hetherington crew being gone has seen all that die down. Mainstream politics on an organised level is pretty much absent.

The bit in bold is very interesting. There's virtually nothing by way of genuine party-political activity at Glasgow beyond the Lib Dems, SNP and Tories having stalls at the Fresher's Fair. Student politics at Glasgow operates in its own vacuum to an extent.

Really? I find the socialists to be incredibly noisy at Glasgow. There were alot of candidates from the "OurGlasgow" campaign, I don't know much about htem, but they seem like the mad anti-cuts end of the socialists.

Chizzy didn't win, I chickened out of voting for him, but I didn't realise he finished 3rd. Please tell me he beat Dhillon, that would be exceptionally pleasing!

This was his genuine manifesto.

Lyk a day quine/voter my name is Christopher ‘That’s Chizzy’ Chisholm and I have a vision, please humour me for 300 words. There’s been a lot of gassing about who should your next SRC President, well look no further, it’s me it’s Chip-pe, coming at you from all angles.

Following the Stuart Ritchie debacle of 2011, it’s clear the SRC needs to be more transparent. In order to achieve this I pledge that I will see the John Mac Building torn down and rebuilt entirely out of glass.

I will spend at least one working day of each week listening to the concerns of students directly. I will do this mostly by hiding in bushes near where they’re having conversations.

Re-open the Joesph Black Mines to give students jobs.

I will build stairs or a slide to the Rennie Mackintosh door on library hill.

Since the Main Building looks like Hogwarts anyway I will replace MyCampus by buying 24,000 carrier owls, and implement the Sorting Hat to pick every students’ course at the beginning of first year.

All of the catering faculties will be replaced with Maggies vans, and Maggie will be installed as my first lady.

I will pledge to keep the library open 25 hours a day and make the announcement lady even louder.

I will turn the 12th floor of the library into a petting zoo.

I will give everyone a 2:1, even those who have achieved 1st’s.

University Avenue will be transformed into a canal, SRC buses will be replaced with party gondolas.

I will occasionally send emails to students to ‘switch places’, which will mean students must change faculty until further notice.

I will live with wolves for 3 months to get acclimatized to Council meetings.

VOTE

Change

Honesty

Integrity

Zeal

Zebra

Y Nae?

Would have fucking loved the party gondolas and the carrier owls.

Basically all those who came campaigning at my door said the same thing about wanting fees abolished for English students, most were English and did just mention English as if they couldn't care about anyone else. I tried to explain to one guy that although I agreed that education should be universally free, I thought it wasn't in the interest of any Scottish person because our Government would be paying for others. He genuinely almost started crying.

In the end I just voted for the most normal sounding Scottish people, struggled to find many though.

He does my course. "Daddy's little Marxist" is a fantasic description. Total fud. He made his sales pitch to our lecture theatre before class with the lecturer present. He actually said "I'm in the class" during his wee speech, then proceeded to walk out before it started. Just one example of his bawbaggery.

I think it takes a certain type of person to stand for these uni elections and you've just described him. Full of self importance, like winning it will make him a better person. It won't. By the time he leaves (which I'm guessing won't be far off because it's never first or second years that stand?) no one will remember his name (ridiculous as it is) and it'll be an entry on his CV that will be skimmed past to get to the important bits like experience - of which there will be none because he was too busy trying to look special by standing for election. They're always entirely middle class people that will end up at Daddy's Firm where he'll never do a day's work in his unimportant little life.

Or perhaps I've just got a little too irritated by his name.

Chizzy didn't win, I chickened out of voting for him, but I didn't realise he finished 3rd. Please tell me he beat Dhillon, that would be exceptionally pleasing!

This was his genuine manifesto.

[/size][/color][/font][/left]

Would have fucking loved the party gondolas and the carrier owls.

He was in my class for statistics. When I say he was in my class, what I mean is that he was supposed to be in my class, but would turn up about once a month. Good guy, but he's certainly more than a wee bit mental.