Worst Town In Scotland

I'm Brian

14 hours ago, jessmagic said:

A provincial town called Glasgow. 

Having lived in both Glasgow and Aberdeen and  not a native to either or indeed Scotland Aberdeen is by far a worse place to live for all the money that has passed through it. Grim and grey as f*ck.

City wise up until about 5/10 years ago Dundee could have comfortably been seen as the worst out of all the cities in Scotland but that is nowhere near the case now, would rather live in Dundee than Aberdeen by some distance now.

36 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Having lived in both Glasgow and Aberdeen and  not a native to either or indeed Scotland Aberdeen is by far a worse place to live for all the money that has passed through it. Grim and grey as f*ck.

City wise up until about 5/10 years ago Dundee could have comfortably been seen as the worst out of all the cities in Scotland but that is nowhere near the case now, would rather live in Dundee than Aberdeen by some distance now.

Precisely my feelings on Aberdeen too. I live next to Castlegate and it's a microcosm of what's bad about the city; a city centre square that should be a Piazza with cafes, nice pubs and a bit of life/culture about it. Instead it's a grim-as-f**k collection of dive pubs, a charity shop and an RS McColls. (Not including Blackfriars which is really nice). The amount of money flowing through this city vs the amount apparently spent on it is scandalous.

Reading through some of the nominations on here has made me feel a bit better about my hometown of East Kilbride, which I've been getting gradually more frustrated with. No soul about it at all, just a shopping mall surrounded by houses. Lots and lots of houses. However we have  parks and trees, and the village, so aye, not that bad at all.

1 hour ago, velo army said:

Precisely my feelings on Aberdeen too. I live next to Castlegate and it's a microcosm of what's bad about the city; a city centre square that should be a Piazza with cafes, nice pubs and a bit of life/culture about it. Instead it's a grim-as-f**k collection of dive pubs, a charity shop and an RS McColls. (Not including Blackfriars which is really nice). The amount of money flowing through this city vs the amount apparently spent on it is scandalous.

Reading through some of the nominations on here has made me feel a bit better about my hometown of East Kilbride, which I've been getting gradually more frustrated with. No soul about it at all, just a shopping mall surrounded by houses. Lots and lots of houses. However we have  parks and trees, and the village, so aye, not that bad at all.

Agree with that square being an absolute shame that it's not utilised more. And that black friars is a decent pub, decent enough food too iirc.

EK is fine. The town centre is on its arse but the same can be said for just about everywhere else in the Central belt. For a town of it’s size, it doesn’t have any really shady areas unlike nearby towns such as Paisley, Hamilton, Blantyre and Cambuslang. The Village is a decent enough area to live and socialise in.

The people can be a bit weird and parochial though and I say that as someone who was raised in the town.

Edited by Hammer Jag

4 hours ago, gannonball said:

Britain's west coast is full of cities that had a very rich past that has declined.  But there is always a legacy of a grand city centre or port area that can be promoted to sell the city to new industries and visitors. I'm thinking Glasgow's City Centre and West End, Liverpool's Waterfront and Bristol's Harbourside. Right now it's hard to see what legacy the oil wealth is going to leave Aberdeen.

1 hour ago, Mark Connolly said:

East Kilbride.

As an actual town, it might not be that bad, but the residents are the world's greatest collection of worstcunts.

This. If towns could commit suicide, East Kilbride would have purposefully choked itself to death on a roundabout long ago out of sheer hopeless wretchedness at the assortment of mutants who call it home.

12 hours ago, ecto said:

Why is this still a debate, it's Brechin

The people of Brechin would no doubt argue that they're not even in the running for "Worst Town" 

And instead they're in the big league....

6 hours ago, gannonball said:

City wise up until about 5/10 years ago Dundee could have comfortably been seen as the worst out of all the cities in Scotland 

brechin-city-hall-sucks.PNG-620x329.png

Edited by topcat(The most tip top)

7 hours ago, gannonball said:

For grim and grey, read also the Silver City with the Golden Sands...............the look of granite can be very weather-dependent.  Few nicer sights of a city than driving down the brae at Kings Gate and seeing the city sparkling in the sunshine with the North Sea in the background.  Equally it's dire on a dreich day, so just as well the east coast is the sunnier side of the country !

Aberdeen isn't perfect, and I moved out myself to the sticks into the shire many years back, However, as cities go, has many unique qualities and like most cities some very nice areas and some dodgy ones. 

Union Street is built on a series of arches FFS, how cool is that!!?  I still like the great old streets like Upperkirkgate, Green, Back Wynd, Shiprow, Schoolhill, Netherkirkgate......and proper boozers like Grill, Blackfriars, Prince of Wales, Ma's etc.............all part of the experience, and makes me sad that the football club is effectively moving out of the close proximity of all that.

Dundee has improved, and Broughty Ferry/Perth Road have always been fine enough areas............but I still don't think it's quite in the same class as Aberdeen (biased I know).

All Scotland's major cities though are amongst the best in the UK IMO (ever been to Wolverhampton, Warrington  or Wakefield?)..................it's some of the forgotten middle and smaller sized places in Scotland that are really desperate looking.

2 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Blackridge is a good shout. That whole stretch between Motherwell through to Livingston is just dotted with wee desolate scars on the landscape.

Drove along that route last summer coming back from Lanark,  Lets take the scenic route I thought rather than whoring along the M8.

Help ma fucking boab. 

2 hours ago, Menzel said:

The idea that Aberdeen is in this conversation is a tad ridiculous. 

2 hours ago, thisal said:

Don't get me wrong I'm not saying Aberdeen is the worst. It's just not what it should be.

Agreed Im not saying its the worst place by in Scotland by any stretch but for me its the worst city.

Ive studied worked in and out of Aberdeen for most my adult life and whilst it has improved in the past 15 years Dundee seems to have a bit more innovation about the place and are generally less dour c*nts than Aberdonians.

Edited by gannonball

26 minutes ago, MixuFixit said:

Blackridge is a good shout. That whole stretch between Motherwell through to Livingston is just dotted with wee desolate scars on the landscape.

At least half of Blackridge is new housing development.

What the 'Name That Toon' thread taught us though is that Rigside (in S. Lanarkshire) is the most hidden place of the damned, nothing but a small former-miners' housing estate located in the middle of f***ing nowhere beside the Southern Uplands. 

Google.

Edited by Hedgecutter

14 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Agreed Im not saying its the worst place by in Scotland by any stretch but for me its the worst city.

Ive studied worked in and out of Aberdeen for most my adult life and whilst it has improved in the past 15 years Dundee seems to have a bit more innovation about the place and are generally less dour c*nts than Aberdonians.

Tbh as soon as you utter the words 'I support Celtic' we're going to be dour c***s to you.  Nae luck.

1 minute ago, Dons_1988 said:

Tbh as soon as you utter the words 'I support Celtic' we're going to be dour c***s to you.  Nae luck.

Aye, they never get the dry north-east humour.  The in-yer-face pure gallus glesga patter is always going to be his thing.....