Scottish Independence

xbl

Nope, more the 'democratic deficiency' line of a UK PM impacting Scotland despite having one (1) out of 58 Scottish MPs tied to his party. Heaven forbid that Scotland ought to have a government with a mandate to govern.

Lots of areas of the country have few if any Tory MPs. Governments are elected nationally, not regionally.

• Replies 16.1k

I haven't read the White Paper, no.

Have you? Did you enjoy it?

In Scotland, the adverse consequences of Westminster’s
defence policies have been felt in many ways.
the latest figure for defence spending in Scotland
(2007/08)256 is £1.4 billion less than Scotland’s current
contribution of £3.3 billion to UK defence and security
budgets 257
. With independence Scotland’s defence spending
will not only provide Scotland’s security, but will increase
economic benefits and employment on which Scotland
currently misses out
in March 2013 the Westminster Government announced
that only 600 more Armed Forces personnel would be
based in Scotland by 2020 (258) – a fraction of the significant
increase promised by the MOD in July 2011 (259)
the RAF base at Leuchars will cease flying operations in
autumn 2014. Craigiehall, outside Edinburgh, the former
Army Headquarters in Scotland, has been earmarked for
disposal, and Forthside in Stirling and Redford Barracks
in Edinburgh will at least partially close.
Scotland is a maritime nation and yet the UK has no
maritime patrol aircraft and no major surface ships are
based in Scotland. There is greater risk to safety and
security in Scotland’s airspace and waters as a result
Ministry of Defence employment – civilian and service – in
Scotland has fallen from 24,680 in 2000 to 15,340 in 2013,
a proportionately larger fall than across the UK as a whole.
Consequently, Scotland’s share of UK-based Ministry of
Defence personnel has fallen from 9.2 per cent to 7.5 per
cent over this period (260)

In Scotland, the adverse consequences of Westminster’s
defence policies have been felt in many ways.
the latest figure for defence spending in Scotland
(2007/08)256 is £1.4 billion less than Scotland’s current
contribution of £3.3 billion to UK defence and security
budgets 257
. With independence Scotland’s defence spending
will not only provide Scotland’s security, but will increase
economic benefits and employment on which Scotland
currently misses out
in March 2013 the Westminster Government announced
that only 600 more Armed Forces personnel would be
based in Scotland by 2020 (258) – a fraction of the significant
increase promised by the MOD in July 2011 (259)
the RAF base at Leuchars will cease flying operations in
autumn 2014. Craigiehall, outside Edinburgh, the former
Army Headquarters in Scotland, has been earmarked for
disposal, and Forthside in Stirling and Redford Barracks
in Edinburgh will at least partially close.
Scotland is a maritime nation and yet the UK has no
maritime patrol aircraft and no major surface ships are
based in Scotland. There is greater risk to safety and
security in Scotland’s airspace and waters as a result
cent over this period (260)

Aye, but that'll just be lies.

Dr Fox said the changes would increase the number of troops based north of the Border, from around 12,300 to 14,300, saying it shows the defence ‘dividend’ Scots receive from being part of the Union.

_57810219_drfox.jpg

http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201012/cmselect/cmscotaf/580/11060701.htm

Q158 Chair: Indeed. My understanding is that at the present time Scotland has 50% more defence jobs than its population share would warrant. That is not something that we would want to have reduced simply to meet a quota in any way, shape or form. I am generally in favour of quotas when it is raising us up, but a balance has to be struck.

Q175 Chair: I move on to questions of procurement. I indicated earlier on that, thankfully, Scotland does get far more than its fair share by numbers of defence contracts.

Wait. That.... that's your evidence?

Good grief.

Do you disagree with that statement?

I disagree with you producing it as evidence.

Do you disagree with this?:

"

cent over this period"

sorry, i'm wondering if anyone can clear up my confusion. i heard on the news that cameron spoke from london this morning, but the video of the speech clearly displays a glasgow caledonian university logo. can anyone confirm where in glasgow he was?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-26081874

London Velodrome in front of a hundred or so hand picked pals. Think the Caley banner was an attempt to prove how unified and "together" we are as he reminisced of those hot summer days in London when we all cheered for team GB...passionately and together. Expect a call frpm your nearest and dearest relatives who live outwith Scotland.

sorry, i'm wondering if anyone can clear up my confusion. i heard on the news that cameron spoke from london this morning, but the video of the speech clearly displays a glasgow caledonian university logo. can anyone confirm where in glasgow he was?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-26081874

GCU has a campus in London. Wee bit of marketing to shoehorn in a tenuous link.

Lots of areas of the country have few if any Tory MPs. Governments are elected nationally, not regionally.

No, they are elected at state-wide level. The UK is not a nation but a unitary state, comprising distinct nations in the form of at least Scotland and England. And due to the fact that Scottish opinion does not - whether you like it or not - regard the current and previous governments as democratically legitimate, it has come to the point of mass civic political nationalism, from the 1980s onwards.

Deal with it.

Interesting they use 2010 as the end point...

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/scotland/8646134/Liam-Fox-Scottish-defence-footprint-to-increase-despite-RAF-Leuchars-closure.html

Mr Salmond issued a press statement saying: “Today's announcement by the UK Government is, broadly speaking, welcome news.

“Scotland will retain its front line flying role at RAF Lossiemouth, keeping specialist high-skilled jobs and services here.”

That article you linked to was over 2 and a half years ago. Did you miss the day where they reneged on that promise?

Following the announcement that the number of armed forces personnel based in Scotland will rise by only around 600 – compared to the rise of up to 7000 in troops promised by Liam Fox in July 2011

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/News/Releases/2013/03/defence-review05032013