Hypothetical - Ayrshire/Central leagues

glensmad

Tell you what: stick to criticising everything and everybody while getting your facts wrong, and we'll stick to developing the ground, a great, hard working and enthusiastic young squad and welcoming everyone to our comfortable and friendly lounge bar. :)

• Replies 271

All I'm seeing in that Welsh club picture is a shed with about 20 seats bolted onto it?

Aye. And that tight together you'd be lucky to get any pie eating Junior fans intae it. Plus ah cannae see how ye'd stay dry in it in a wee shower never mind a West Coast hurricane.

Is it just me that thinks that wee ground posted is Fucken horrible?

If Ma club had something like that a hope someone would torch it lol.

A few bits o scaffold & some nasty plastic seats

Don't you know clubs can make nice grounds without putting horrible wee seats in? Apart from a few of the older fans no one at our club would use a facility like that & the older lads would just use it to sit down at half time

LADESIDE

Tell you what: stick to criticising everything and everybody while getting your facts wrong, and we'll stick to developing the ground, a great, hard working and enthusiastic young squad and welcoming everyone to our comfortable and friendly lounge bar. :)

Tell you what: stick to sticking your head in your sand and the dummy back in your mouth you spit every time the slightest criticism is labelled at the antiquated elan of the Juniors (save a select few), keep telling yourself that museum piece facilities are still good enough when one or two young 'uns turn up (& barely notice when they vanish when the novelty wears off - usually the moment the winning stops...), keep telling yourself being British football's version of Beamish is somehow more noble out of a sense of inverted snobbery - just don't expect anything other than an ever declining paying public and sponsors to give a damn.

Oh wait, that's what's already happening, isn't it? How many years is that now the blue riband competition the Scottish Junior Cup has gone without a sponsor?

But I dare say because you still have your "comfortable and friendly lounge bar" - the height of club progress to the dimmer minded - you will remain convinced that all is well is the Merry Old Land of SJFA.

West Super Premier teams have no worse facilities than your Ayr United or Albion Rovers. Why don't you castigate them for not upgrading their facilities and their SFA teams who have access to large grants, handouts and good prize money even if get knocked out early doors.

All teams have more than adequate covered terracing at least in West Super Premier some have covered seating - Meadow, Talbot, Petershill etc if you want a seat. A lot of teams in the top league have spent large amounts of money recently in upgrading facilities so more welcoming for fans and kids as well as community partnerships. The likes of Troon and Hurlford were Ayrshire District / Super First sides for many years with not a great fan base so where would they have got money in to put in hideous green plastic seats :lol:

The SPFL has no sponsor and their the top league in the country and SFA are charging an arm and a leg for Scotland games as not getting enough sponsors so SJFA are no different to SFA in struggling to gain new sponsorship William Hill Scottish Cup apart.

West Super Premier teams have no worse facilities than your Ayr United or Albion Rovers. Why don't you castigate them for not upgrading their facilities and their SFA teams who have access to large grants, handouts and good prize money even if get knocked out early doors.

All teams have more than adequate covered terracing at least in West Super Premier some have covered seating - Meadow, Talbot, Petershill etc if you want a seat. A lot of teams in the top league have spent large amounts of money recently in upgrading facilities so more welcoming for fans and kids as well as community partnerships. The likes of Troon and Hurlford were Ayrshire District / Super First sides for many years with not a great fan base so where would they have got money in to put in hideous green plastic seats :lol:

The SPFL has no sponsor and their the top league in the country and SFA are charging an arm and a leg for Scotland games as not getting enough sponsors so SJFA are no different to SFA in struggling to gain new sponsorship William Hill Scottish Cup apart.

Good post. Dwindling crowds and a lack of sponsorship are not restricted to the juniors.

Anyone who criticises junior clubs over the the perceived state of their ground is a bellend, having watched the game for nigh on 40 years I have seen improvements at most grounds I have frequented over the years. It takes time and money something most clubs struggle with, most junior clubs barely draw in enough to keep them afloat on a weekly basis so to have a go at them because the don't/can't spend money on improvements is pathetic and uncalled for.

Tell you what: stick to sticking your head in your sand and the dummy back in your mouth you spit every time the slightest criticism is labelled at the antiquated elan of the Juniors (save a select few), keep telling yourself that museum piece facilities are still good enough when one or two young 'uns turn up (& barely notice when they vanish when the novelty wears off - usually the moment the winning stops...), keep telling yourself being British football's version of Beamish is somehow more noble out of a sense of inverted snobbery - just don't expect anything other than an ever declining paying public and sponsors to give a damn.

Oh wait, that's what's already happening, isn't it? How many years is that now the blue riband competition the Scottish Junior Cup has gone without a sponsor?

But I dare say because you still have your "comfortable and friendly lounge bar" - the height of club progress to the dimmer minded - you will remain convinced that all is well is the Merry Old Land of SJFA.

This is a skewed look at the Juniors. It's not being romantic to say that they are run on a shoestring by volunteers. On that basis they're lucky they have the funds to buy the pies never mind put up a prefab stand.

I sighed about the crowd figures mentioned re Troon earlier in the post and I stand by that. But it's the reality. The product has to be right so does the economy.

Tbf, I don't think your criticism of the SFA is particularly valid, they have sponsors for the Scottish Cup, Scottish Youth Cup and the national team - they charge an arm and a leg for Scotland internationals because the fans are prepared to pay the prices, not since they fundamentally need to simply to break-even. Don't think the SFA has anything 'unendorsed' currently, IIRC:

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/scottish_football.cfm?page=3305

At the moment the SPFL lacks a league sponsor, but both their cups have them... as do the Highland League and all its associated competitions, and the Lowland League and all its associated competitions (except for 1 of the 3 cups the South Challenge Cup). In the EOS League only 1 cup lacks a sponsor. And the Scottish Amateur Cup has a sponsor.

Put it another way - if or when the SPFL obtains a league sponsor, the Junior Cup will be the most prominent unsponsored tournament here.

That said, the SJFA have sold the Final individually, to Stagecoach and more recently Barrs, IIRC.

"West Super Premier teams have no worse facilities than your Ayr United or Albion Rovers."

Wait, what?!?!

Cliftonhill - without any doubt the biggest tip in British professional football (as even Albion Rovers acknowledge) - has a 489 seat stand (albeit nicked from Third Lanark after it had been left to rust for two decades), floodlights, a regularly manned club shop, a disabled section, proper toilet facilities, and are currently building terracing (that's proper terracing, not so called 'hard standings') had you bothered to check your facts.

How many West Super Premier clubs come close to that? Um, Talbot and Medda. Petershill if you want to be ultra generous.

Or are you seriously trying to say with a straight face that the grounds used by Arthurlie (parts of which are downright bloody hazardous), Beith (much as I love the Glebe), Clydebank, Cumnock, Glenafton, Hurlford, Kilbirnie Ladeside, Shotts Bon Accord or Troon come remotely close?

"The likes of Troon and Hurlford were Ayrshire District / Super First sides for many years with not a great fan base so where would they have got money in to put in hideous green plastic seats :lol:"

Possibly the same place where they got the money to get up to the Super League when they only had that "not a great fan base" you admitted to. Funny how there's ALWAYS money for that. And once again, Benburb managed it when they came into money - it's called getting your priorities right.

But that's not "the Junior way", isn't it - which is clubs squandering everything on players and short term glory riding and only bother give it a lick of paint and tidy up if there's a risk the Health and Safety Exec might revoke your certificate, or the council might revoke the Social Club's booze licence if something's not done to make it look less like the local eyesore.

As for the SPFL's sponsorship troubles, that's entirely down to having an incompetent cockwomble who even cut the price of the TV deal before the telly channels had started negotiating because Neil Doncaster was so convinced it was unsellable without Old Firm fixtures. It's still less embarrassing than the Juniors having a vanity sponsor rumour has it they paid to "endorse" the Scottish Junior Cup (Emirates).

"West Super Premier teams have no worse facilities than your Ayr United or Albion Rovers."

Wait, what?!?!

Cliftonhill - without any doubt the biggest tip in British professional football (as even Albion Rovers acknowledge) - has a 489 seat stand (albeit nicked from Third Lanark after it had been left to rust for two decades), floodlights, a regularly manned club shop, a disabled section, proper toilet facilities, and are currently building terracing (that's proper terracing, not so called 'hard standings') had you bothered to check your facts.

How many West Super Premier clubs come close to that? Um, Talbot and Medda. Petershill if you want to be ultra generous.

Or are you seriously trying to say with a straight face that the grounds used by Arthurlie (parts of which are downright bloody hazardous), Beith (much as I love the Glebe), Clydebank, Cumnock, Glenafton, Hurlford, Kilbirnie Ladeside, Shotts Bon Accord or Troon come remotely close?

"The likes of Troon and Hurlford were Ayrshire District / Super First sides for many years with not a great fan base so where would they have got money in to put in hideous green plastic seats :lol:"

Possibly the same place where they got the money to get up to the Super League when they only had that "not a great fan base" you admitted to. Funny how there's ALWAYS money for that. And once again, Benburb managed it when they came into money - it's called getting your priorities right.

But that's not "the Junior way", isn't it - which is clubs squandering everything on players and short term glory riding and only bother give it a lick of paint and tidy up if there's a risk the Health and Safety Exec might revoke your certificate, or the council might revoke the Social Club's booze licence if something's not done to make it look less like the local eyesore.

As for the SPFL's sponsorship troubles, that's entirely down to having an incompetent cockwomble who even cut the price of the TV deal before the telly channels had started negotiating because Neil Doncaster was so convinced it was unsellable without Old Firm fixtures. It's still less embarrassing than the Juniors having a vanity sponsor rumour has it they paid to "endorse" the Scottish Junior Cup (Emirates).

Agreed in that Albion rovers ground is indeed a senior laughing stock but if cliftonhill was a junior ground then it would probably be the best there is.

Take my favourite junior ground in Linlithgow which is a great junior venue but most of the reasoning behind it is that most junior fans aren't used to seeing that excellent & tidy wee seated stand so we salivate over it as it along with sauchies is a very rare looking stand in the juniors.

However if a senior team like Morton , Albion rovers Etc visit Prestonfield or beechwood then I don't see them getting as excited as us junior boys about these stands and floodlights etc as they're pretty much the norm if not lots poorer structures size wise and imposing wise as senior level clubs have.

That's the main difference between both levels.

Thought it best to answer this one separately.

This is a skewed look at the Juniors. It's not being romantic to say that they are run on a shoestring by volunteers. On that basis they're lucky they have the funds to buy the pies never mind put up a prefab stand.

I sighed about the crowd figures mentioned re Troon earlier in the post and I stand by that. But it's the reality. The product has to be right so does the economy.

But that's the point - the moment they do come into funds, where does that money go? Straight onto the field of play instead of shrewd investment in what's likely to attract better quality players and fans naturally.

Evidence for the prosecution: Geordie Walker, Willie Hill, and the myriad other local businessmen made good that decided to play Football Manager Reality Edition and when they left their clubs were in virtually the same old state off the field they were before (Bathgate did get a new covered stand, granted, but only because the old one had blown down in a strong wind).

Look at it this way: any club trying to compete with Talbot or Medda in the West without investing off the field as well as on (same as they did partly as insurance against the bad days) is simply a supernova waiting to happen. It doesn't need a business genius to realise it. Yet it happens - over and over again - and until the Juniors stop this madness matters will never improve, the gulf between the Talbots, Meddas, Roses, etc and the rest will widen, and fans will further dwindle.

Evidence for the prosecution again: that guy who won the Lottery and wanted to invest in Largs Thistle encountered problems to the extent he nearly walked away, because from the off far too many of those running the show were only interested in having as much money to spunk on the best players they could buy, not in turning the club into a showpiece and centre of excellence that would be a magnet for the best talent.

Eh? Back that up WTM, for once.

A thread which says nothing about the club "being only interested in having as much money to spunk on the best players they could buy".

Now Largs Thistle have kids, amateurs and junior using one of the best pitches in Scotland.

Now I don't know exactly what the arguments were about as this was during my self-imposed exile from Barrfields, but I do know that it had NOTHING to do with HOW the money was spent. And spending the money on the best players they could buy never entered the equation.

EDIT : Like most of the projects (excluding the political ones) the Weirs have been involved in, it is for the community.

Is the puddle drinking shit gibbon WTM really using me as evidence for his feeble theories :P:P:P