The Terrible Journalism & Tom English Thread

4 minutes ago, The Great Stagsby said:

KICK-OFF (second half)

Dundee United 0-0 Hamilton Academical

Posted at20:50

There are no changes at half-time, despite the urgings of our BBC Radio Scotland pundits.

United get the game underway.

We are a third of the way through this two-leg Premiership play-off final.

Have they been getting David Tanner to do their maths for them?

3 hours ago, 7-2 said:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/scotland/39965375

The Bigot Brother Corporation balance up their horrific Bartonwatch moment by having live text updates of the 1967 Celtic Inter game. Gobsmacked.

Jesus.  

That is staggering stuff.  I'm thoroughly fed up of the anniversary nonsense.  It wasn't anything like as remarkable an achievement as is claimed.

Utter desperation from BBC Scotland.

9 hours ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Jesus.  

That is staggering stuff.  I'm thoroughly fed up of the anniversary nonsense.  It wasn't anything like as remarkable an achievement as is claimed.

Utter desperation from BBC Scotland.

I was only six at the time but I remember it being pretty important.  My dad, a Hearts man for some unknown reason, put his fist through the ceiling when the second goal went in.

But looking at the facts:

Round 1: 5-0 versus Zurich

Round 2: 6-2 versus Nantes

QF: 2-1 versus Vojvodina

SF:  3-1 versus Dukla Prague

Final: 2-1 versus Inter.

4 games against diddies and an offside equalizer against Inter.  Meh.  :)

Was watching the news on Wednesday and they were in Lisbon showing all the Celtic fans out there celebrating the clubs greatest achievement. Kind of lost something for me when most of the people who cared enough to go out there were mostly well under 50.

Also do Celtic fans ever take the top off?

10 hours ago, Gaz FFC said:

Was watching the news on Wednesday and they were in Lisbon showing all the Celtic fans out there celebrating the clubs greatest achievement. Kind of lost something for me when most of the people who cared enough to go out there were mostly well under 50.

God, I hope not.

10 hours ago, Gaz FFC said:

Only when someone with a big moustache comes to fix the washing machine*

*70s porn reference.    I'll get my coat.

On 5/25/2017 at 18:37, 7-2 said:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/scotland/39965375

The Bigot Brother Corporation balance up their horrific Bartonwatch moment by having live text updates of the 1967 Celtic Inter game. Gobsmacked.

I recall they did the same pish for the 50tth anniversary of the 1966 World Cup Final. Total waste of time and resources.

We have signed two Ross Stewarts from Albion Rovers this week. According to the BBC they both started their careers at Motherwell and are 22. This only applies to one of them.

However, this nothing compared to who they think our assistant manager is...
IMG_1495836629.256564.jpg

Absolutely massive game in the play-offs today which is well in the balance. It is 10 stories down on the BBC Sport app in the Scottish section.

Important for the clubs concerned (and Dundee) but "absolutely massive" is hyperbolic. However, with more even handed coverage over the years, it could be at least a big game.

I might be wrong but I'm sure it wasn't that far down the order the year we were in it.

I meant coverage of diddy teams, not the playoffs.

Who were your lot playing again?

The biggest diddies in Scottish football

I can't remember what happened that year.... could someone please remind me?

Journey suspended for one year.

1 minute ago, 7-2 said:

Sunday 9pm

BBC 'SCOTLAND'
Untitled.jpg.d80dfedc354dcf7a74de8e5d48e99c91.jpg

BBC ENGLAND
592b2c1ee0743_Untitled2.png.0d6db0d7ecbba6ab014c92e42c1dffe9.png

On the plus side the top story in the English League One section is about St Mirren signing two players from Albion Rovers.

24 minutes ago, Stu said:

On the plus side the top story in the English League One section is about St Mirren signing two players from Albion Rovers.

Now that is indeed a weird one!