Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

10 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

Bennet the reason you lost them is because your club make risky signings to please the fans. All of your big signings were a risk. Barton is a nutcase, Kranjcar had fitness issues, Rossiter had hardly kicked a ball for 2 years due to injuries, Senderos was done years ago and Hill was 38. It was no surprise whatsoever that most didn't work out.

Its looking like history is repeating itself a year on. A 35 year old centre half who looks great on paper (He might be a great signing) and an inury prone Dorrans who has barely played for 3 years. Ryan Jack for me would be the only reliable signing and even then he's not the sort of player to challenge us right now.

Rangers would rather go bust trying to appear like they are competing with Celtic rather than taking their medicine, living within their means and building towards success in the future. We had to do it in the 90s and now we are reaping the benefits.

alves played 36 games in serie a last season and is a current international and 7th most capped player for a team that won the euros last year, the only risk with him is the issue of him not being there in the first euro qualifers as he will be playing in the confederation cup

10 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

Ryan Jack for me would be the only reliable signing and even then he's not the sort of player to challenge us right now.

'Union' will be a good addition.  Let's remember that we've passed Peak *****, Aberdeen have been reamed out and their manager is deserting the sinking ship and we can only improve.  We're now back to a 2 horse race.

14 minutes ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

They finished mid table but Cagliari had a -21 goal difference last season due to conceded 76 goals in 38 league matches.  To put that into context that's 5 more goals than Inverness last term in the same number of games, or 8 more goals than Motherwell who's defence was absolutely honking.

Conjecture but perhaps Cagliari were thinking "We had a decent season but we need to stop throwing goals in....maybe we should ditch the old has been....anyone got the number of a gullible diddy club?"

:thumsup2 aye but those goals were lost in serie a you complete clown, a far higher standard than any team he will be facing this season

14 minutes ago, naegoodinthedark said:

This is a pretty smart move though, getting players in early to properly prepare for the Europa qualifiers.

Let's not forget that the manager is a complete roaster, and paying jobbers like Bruno a fortune will only speed up Admin2.

Another step on "the journey" though.

:thumsup2 admin 2 :thumsup2

13 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

He'll be a good signing, good luck to the guy.  

He'll be a superb hatchet man, an absolutely typical rangers(RIP) player. I imagine you'll get a good couple of months out of him before it starts getting cold and rainy, then he'll be injured for the rest of the season. Effective if nasty and a bit of a liability on the park for a few months then a huge leaden weight dragging the scum back down to oblivion.

Good luck to the guy, I hope he doesn't injure any of our players. 

hes better than any player thats played for aberdeen in the last 30 years but you crack on with you pish

6 minutes ago, williemillersmoustache said:

We'll always have Darren Mackie. Ever ready to park his ice cream van and come on off the bench, like the hero he is.

You'll also have many more years by the seaside now that a few blue-rinsed pensioners and a couple of fermers don;t want your sorry mob in Westhill.

alves played 36 games in serie a last season and is a current international and 7th most capped player for a team that won the euros last year, the only risk with him is the issue of him not being there in the first euro qualifers as he will be playing in the confederation cup

If he was that great in Serie A he wouldn't be coming to Scotland. He'd have better offers from better clubs than Rangers.

1 minute ago, williemillersmoustache said:

Bit early for the paint thinner isn't it?

The sun's over the yardarm in Porto so I may nip up to Waitrose and buy a bottle of Vinho Verde to celebrate the arrival of our first signing.

I guess you'll stick to the bitter tears?

That's a worry of course.  I'm an optimist and think it's more likely to be like signing Davie Weir.

Wasn't Davie Weir a player for the dead club?

If so then I also hope it's like signing Davie Weir.

5 minutes ago, Dindeleux said:

Wasn't Davie Weir a player for the dead club?

P&B's most posted-about club, you mean.

Interesting to hear Div talk on Off the Ball recently about how Twitter had decimated the forum and, of course, the evidence of that is in plain sight.  Still, interest in all matters Rangers is propping the board up.

Just now, The_Kincardine said:

Interesting to hear Div talk on Off the Ball recently about how Twitter had decimated the forum and, of course, the evidence of that is in plain sight.  Still, interest in all matters Rangers is propping the board up.

Yes. Congratulations. :lol: 

People talk about Hitler a lot too these days and he's been dead over 70 years.

18 minutes ago, Dindeleux said:

People talk about Hitler a lot too these days and he's been dead over 70 years.

How many views on the BHALT then?

Edit: I guess we can now legitimately sing "Rangers have only got one ball", though:

Edited by The_Kincardine

1 hour ago, shootingboots said:

Hearing Bruno Alves is on £12k p/w. 

Never learn rangers, never learn.

An international centre back with 89 caps and current European Champion plus a further 14 medals for what is most likely less than what Clint Hill was earning?

Absolute bargain then, if that is indeed his salary.

Not sure how you can say "never learn" if he's only on £12k a week???