Follow Follow Rangers. Season 2023/24

Just now, Busta Nut said:

Bruno Alves was  a constant in the 3rd worst defence in Serie A.

Cagliari were desperate to get rid of him.

the worst defence in serie a is probably better than the best defence in the spfl, he is a top quality player and will stroll the league

3 minutes ago, nacho said:

the worst defence in serie a is probably better than the best defence in the spfl, he is a top quality player and will stroll the league

I think that could be the case. There is also the chance he will be on a fortune, a bit of a fruit loop & a disaster.

14 minutes ago, Busta Nut said:

I think that could be the case. There is also the chance he will be on a fortune, a bit of a fruit loop & a disaster.

14 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

I don't really want to judge the guy too early but is this not what we were hearing about Barton and Kranjcar during pre season last year?

kranjcar was our best player in the last couple of games before he got injured, barton was pish, alves is a higher quality player by far than both of them, he has the pedigree and played 36 games in one of the best leagues in europe last season and for his country, every players a risk but hes our biggest signing for years, a real statement of intent

Edited by nacho

9 minutes ago, nacho said:

kranjcar was our best player in the last couple of games before he got injured, barton was pish, alves is a higher quality player by far than both of them, he has the pedigree and played 36 games in one of the best leagues in europe last season and for his country, every players a risk but hes our biggest signing for years, a real statement of intent

You have to bear in mind that "He'll be a good signing for Rangers.  Best of luck to the guy" has been said by nae c**t ever on P&B.  We could sign Messi, Neymar and Ronaldo on free transfers for £500 a week plus a sausage supper each and the comments would be along the lines of, "They'll be fun oot on the 0.5G pitch at NDP"

Edited by The_Kincardine

Isn't short sighted planning what McCoist got criticised for?
Handing old dudes high salaries rather than progressively building up a good squad.

Alves might be good but when you've still got Danny Wilson and Lee Wallace it takes the shine off it.

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

You have to bear in mind that "He'll be a good signing for Rangers.  Best of luck to the guy" has been said by nae c**t ever on P&B.  We could sign Messie, Neymar and Ronaldo on free contracts for £500 a week plus a sausage supper each and the comments would be along the lines of, "They'll be fun oot on the 0.5G pitch at NDP"

3 minutes ago, Tartantony said:

#goingfor55

you never know, you lot are nowhere near as good as you think you are, but we were totally pish last season, need another half dozen decent signings to compete, alaves is as good as anything you have

Just now, Cerberus said:

Isn't short sighted planning what McCoist got criticised for?
Handing old dudes high salaries rather than progressively building up a good squad.

Alves might be good but when you've still got Danny Wilson and Lee Wallace it takes the shine off it.

if the other signings are all 35 you may have a point, they wont be though

1 minute ago, shootingboots said:

Hearing Bruno Alves is on £12k p/w. 

Never learn rangers, never learn.

just you enjoy finishing ahead of us in the league for the first time in 30 years, that will be the last time it happens, the way its going for you lot with players leaving you will be lucky to make top 6

And he's not even the worst CB on their books.  Both Senderos and Kiernan are much worse IMHO

No, no they're not. He didn't look like he'd ever seen a football and looked hopeless for the whole game. The other 2, whilst still poor players were just prone to 5/10 minutes a match of awfulness, the rest of the time they're fine on the whole.