Coefficientwatch

lionel hutz

On 10/11/2021 at 17:52, Monkey Tennis said:

It's literally not.

It's much better if everyone gets nothing at all, given that the whole point is that clubs compete with each other using resources that cost money.

Are you saying if Hearts,Hibs,Aberdeen or Dundee Utd get to the group stages it doesn't benefit them?

6 hours ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Are you saying if Hearts,Hibs,Aberdeen or Dundee Utd get to the group stages it doesn't benefit them?

It can benefit individual clubs in relation to those beneath them.  It will disadvantage them further in relation to those already blessed with huge advantage though.

Overall, wild inequality damages the game.  European competitions exacerbate inequality in our domestic game.

On 14/11/2021 at 15:33, BigDoddyKane said:

Its a shite system but until fans turn their back on it, its the only the one we have

personally Id prefer all the european countries outwith the big 4or5 just form their own european tournament thats fairly sharing money out to clubs and leagues

Some sort of European diddy league? 

I’d watch that.

My dream scenario would be five teams from each country in Europe. Put into groups of five where the top seeds are the league winners, 2nd place is 2nd seed, etc. (cup winners can be fifth seed). They play 2 home/2 away and the group winners go into the Champions League, 2nd place goes into the UEFA Cup and 3rd place into the conference. 4th and 5th go home (unless UEFA want to make more diddy European cups for them to go into). 

eq
Austria 9.750 6.200 5.800 6.700 7.000 35.450 +0.6 4/ 5
eq
Scotland 4.000 6.750 9.750 8.500 4.500 33.500 +0.8 2/ 5
eq
Russia 12.600 7.583 4.666 4.333 3.500 32.682 +0.6 3/ 5
eq
Ukraine 8.000 5.600 7.200 6.800 3.800 31.400 +0.0 3/ 5
eq
Serbia 6.375 6.000 6.000 5.500 6.000 29.875+0.5 2/ 4
eq
Belgium 2.600 7.800 7.600 6.000 5.800 29.800 +0.6 4/ 5

Rangers win and subsequent EL KO qualification means they got 2 points for each, and this has been reflected by Bert in the table above. Our total has now surpassed our previous best this century in 2008, and it is now the highest total since 1970.

Ukraine's dismal week - zero points and all three teams out of Europe - means they won't be catching us. Those behind will likely have 2 clubs each in the KOs but it's looking good to remain top 11.

The OF with a free hit next time out, to try and get more points for both their club and the country coefficient (which also increases the coefficient of our non-Aberdeen Cup winner/3rd place in terms of seeding for next season).

Edited by Ginaro

This year has been a real struggle picking up coefficient points compared with the previous couple of seasons. Rangers previously had 4 qualifying rounds in the Europa and this provided a rich harvest for picking up easy points. Still the OF clubs results have improved a bit. I hope they both treat this weeks matches seriously. Every coefficient point is priceless to a small country like ours.

1 hour ago, FredFlintsone said:

Celtic treating the chase for coefficient points with utter contempt tonight. They are literally playing the reserve team! They couldn't care less. Ironic really given how they haven't even come close to qualifying for the Champions League in recent years.

Did we aye? 

eq
Austria 9.750 6.200 5.800 6.700 9.400 37.850 +2.4 3/ 5
up
Russia 12.600 7.583 4.666 4.333 5.100 34.282 +2.4 2/ 5
dn
Scotland 4.000 6.750 9.750 8.500 5.100 34.100 +0.60 2/ 5
up
Serbia 6.375 6.000 6.000 5.500 8.000 31.875 +2.0 2/ 4
dn
Ukraine 8.000 5.600 7.200 6.800 4.200 31.800 +0.4 5
eq
Belgium 2.600 7.800 7.600 6.000 6.600 30.600 +0.8 1/ 5

Austria with three teams are out of reach. Russia got some bonus points from Spartak in the EL KO and Zenit in the EL Preliminary KO to inch ahead. Our challengers for 11th, Serbia, need 4.5 wins more than us to catch us, they have Red Star in the EL KO and Partizan in the ECL Preliminary KO. Belgium surely too far behind.

All dependant on the draw really, though you'd say Celtic more likely to get a result in the ECL knockouts which could balance things in the fight against Russia.

They won the game, and a handful of coefficient points is not really Celtic's main priority when they have a busy fixture schedule including a cup final in the next few weeks.
Of course, so you're agreeing with me and Mr Flintstone in that they didn't give a f**k about the co-efficient. Why a Celtic fan is trying to argue otherwise is beyond me.

While we've done rather well the last few years, now that we have an additional team to split our country-coefficient points between we are seeing the inevitable slide. Although we've gained 25.5 points, we've only added 5.1 to our overall country coefficient.

I think Celtic will be our only realistic hope of gaining anything significant beyond this point, dependant on the draws.

While we've done rather well the last few years, now that we have an additional team to split our country-coefficient points between we are seeing the inevitable slide. Although we've gained 25.5 points, we've only added 5.1 to our overall country coefficient.
I think Celtic will be our only realistic hope of gaining anything significant beyond this point, dependant on the draws.
Wouldnt worry about this season too much. So we have earned 5.1 so far. Dependant on results on the next rounds we could be nearer 6.

Teams around us, Austria, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine will take a hit next season as the 2017/18 points are wiped off. We will lose 4 points but will have 3 teams (1st, 2nd, and SC winner) in the Group Stages next season despite what happens in qualifiers alongside potentially 2 more teams if they can get through.

30 minutes ago, AJF said:

The good thing is we've improved on the 4.375 that dropped off this season. And with a couple more wins we would be up to 5.9.

11th place is usually around 33 points over the 5 year period so the closer you can get to a ~6.6 average the better, and if we can avoid having a bad year which drags us down then it'll make it easier to do that. 

52 minutes ago, RedLichtie86 said:

Wouldnt worry about this season too much. So we have earned 5.1 so far. Dependant on results on the next rounds we could be nearer 6.

Teams around us, Austria, Russia, Serbia and Ukraine will take a hit next season as the 2017/18 points are wiped off. We will lose 4 points but will have 3 teams (1st, 2nd, and SC winner) in the Group Stages next season despite what happens in qualifiers alongside potentially 2 more teams if they can get through.

Our 2nd place isn't actually guaranteed a group stage place, they would need to win at least one of their ties (but they have three chances). Or if the EL title holder spot isn't used then 2nd would be bumped up to CL QR3 which is EL GS guaranteed.