50 Greatest Games of all time - P&B decides

Dindeleux

• Replies 1.1k

First Witcher game is PC only I'm sure but look that up on YouTube if you want to see what a dedicated and ambitious developer can do in just a few years. The progress CDPR have made is remarkable.

The studio is working on Cyberpunk 2077 and apparently the dev team for that is a lot bigger than the Witcher 3 team. The first teaser trailer for it appeared 4 years ago so expect big things.

35 minutes ago, GiGi said:

First Witcher game is PC only I'm sure but look that up on YouTube if you want to see what a dedicated and ambitious developer can do in just a few years. The progress CDPR have made is remarkable.

The studio is working on Cyberpunk 2077 and apparently the dev team for that is a lot bigger than the Witcher 3 team. The first teaser trailer for it appeared 4 years ago so expect big things.

I read a wonderful theory that:

When Ciri is sitting by the fire, telling Geralt of the dimensions that she would frequent to escape the Wild Hunt, one was of buildings that touched the sky and flying metal carriages much to Geralt's scoffing and disbelief. This has led to speculation that she was describing Cyberpunk 2077's world and will make a cameo appearance either as a background character or as part of a side mission at some point in that game.

4 hours ago, mishtergrolsch said:

I've felt that way about alot of open world games. Skyrim IS great for that, it is full of cool stuff to do but similar to what Jim says in the video, if you can buy a house, become the leader of a guild and get lost in dozens of dungeons, it makes the impending doom of the world seem less urgent. 

Good stories are becoming fewer and games like TLOU, Mass Effect, classic Zelda and Final Fantasy weren't always balls out action because they had sections where the story was allowed to breathe.

Lots of dialogue,  back stories and building relationships with characters in games added to that and gave you something to get attached to or defend. Ellie and Joel in TLOU, Shepherd and the crew of the Normandy, Link and Zelda. Cloud, Aeris and Sephiroth. 

Give me a linear game with a great story and character development every day over an empty sandbox with a loose watery jobby of a story like No Man's Sky.

Which becomes the problem with a lot of these types of games story-wise.  Fallout 3 and 4 both involve you searching for a missing family member.  4 especially, as you're clearly devastated, watching your wife get murdered and your son kidnapped.  Surely you're going to go all Liam Neeson and immediately f**k shit up?  Nah.  Here's Preston, and he's got a settlement for you.  Oh, and look at that power plant.  And that power armour!  There's a quest here that sounds interesting...what son was that?

Of course, that's not necessarily a bad thing, but there's a massive jump between building a good story that a lot of open world games have, and a great one that very few have.  It's easy in a linear game like TLOU, Half Life etc, but a lot harder once you give the player something more to concentrate on.

Which brings me on to the Witcher (3rd?! Fucking 3rd?!).  I've said a lot about it, and I won't tread over old ground, but more along the lines I've said above.  I think the Witcher is probably the best example of story-telling in the genre.  It's by no means perfect, as you still have the case where there's impending doom that you can put off, but the side quests are all well intertwined.  I could go on for ages on it (I've just deleted a whole load of rambling pish) but I'll just give one example of a very minor sidequest that showed how much effort went into the writing.  Very slight spoilers for one particular quest...

You meet a guy on the streets who wants your help in finding some treasure.  Specifically, something called the Black Pearl, so he can present it to his wife.  Something about an old promise he made to her when he was a soldier.  So far, so normal.  He's painted as a bit of a chancer, wanting Geralt to do most of the work, batting away any of his questions, saying he's too old to do it himself, but he'll pay.

You go to the place and find out you need to dive off the coast of Skellige for it.  Again, he wants you to do it, while he waits.  You eventually find it and return to the shore to find him being attacked by monsters.  You save him, but when you ask for the payment he promised, he says he doesn't have it on him.  Painted again as a bit of a chancer but promises if you meet him in Novigrad he'll pay there.

You meet him back in the bar you started and he's a lot different.  Not the same.  Voice acting has taken on a sadder tone.  Says that he wasn't sure if his wife liked it or not.  Then you find out that his wife was suffering from something (dementia/Alzheimers presumably, but never stated) and that she wasn't herself anymore, didn't even recognise him.  He wanted to get the pearl because he thought that it would bring back the memories of the things they always talked about, even if just for a moment.

f**k sake.  For a throwaway side quest, I don't think anything had that impact.  There were better quests, and better written ones, in the game, but that one always sticks with me as an example of the attention to detail CDPR put into the game.

I just discovered Larry Bundy Jr's channel, and have been watching his videos with the wean before going to sleep. Usually fun, and often surprisingly informative. Jim Sterling usually waffles way too much for me, and his pompous style grates a bit.

17 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Brilliant, atmospheric is haunting and a brilliant storyline in the first.

The sequels held up well too but nothing from the series was as good as Bioshock 1 for me. It was so different to anything else at that point in time.

Also am I missing something here or did Portal 2 not even make the list? How the f**k did that happen?! It was probably my 2nd reserve as a choice. Can't believe no-one had it to make it top 50 though. Wonderful mechanics, funny, charming, brilliantly voice acted and a cracking learning curve.

Not sure about Portal 2, but I'm amazed Portal didn't make this list. I can only assume it ended up just missing out on a lot of people's lists, as it was more of a sumptuous dessert rather than a delicious three-course meal, like most of the games people voted for.

Oh, with regard to Bioshock - you might want to check out System Shock 2  :P

I'd suggest that the reason Portal didn't make the list might be more to do with the fact that very few people will have played it?

Very unscientific, but I just googled 'The Witcher 3 sales' and wiki suggests 4 million copies were sold within 2 weeks of its release and I googled 'Portal video game sales' and wiki suggests 4 million copies have been sold since its release. 

10 minutes ago, The OP said:

I'd suggest that the reason Portal didn't make the list might be more to do with the fact that very few people will have played it?

Very unscientific, but I just googled 'The Witcher 3 sales' and wiki suggests 4 million copies were sold within 2 weeks of its release and I googled 'Portal video game sales' and wiki suggests 4 million copies have been sold since its release. 

That's a bit skewed,  though. Remember portal was bundled in with the orange box and that sold another 3 million copies. 

36 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Oh, with regard to Bioshock - you might want to check out System Shock 2  :P

I'm well aware of it and it's relevance to the Bioshock series but have never actually played it. Even at that though, from a purely visual perspective Bioshock obviously brought so much more to the table. 

PIE AND BOVRIL 50 Greatest Games of All Time

2nd place

Skyrim

aa161a507fb8b50385a905b84ee707a2.jpg

Coming in 2nd place in our poll with 111 points is the one game I didn't want to have to write up: Elder Scrolls V - Skyrim

Having just started this game at Christmas I don't really want to do much digging into the story behind this game so I'll just base this write up on my thoughts so far.

Captured, need to avoid death. Suddenly as I'm waiting for the storyline to progress and work out how to fight my way out a big FUCKING DRAGON APPEARS!!!! Not really sure if it's supposed to help me or what but I need to find a stone to get rid of it.

SPIDERS!!! And a claustrophobic feeling as I get lost underground.

That's it for Skyrim which was very well received by critics.

Only joking.

Released in 2011 by Bethesda, Skyrim was the 5th instalment in the Elder Scrolls series and is a RPG game set 200 years after the events of the previous Elder Scrolls instalment Oblivion.

Skyrim's main story revolves around the player character and their effort to defeat Alduin the World-Eater, a dragon who is prophesied to destroy the world. The game follows the lead of most major RPG releases by allowing the player to explore an open world environment.

One of the major benefits to the game I believe is your choice to go different types of character straight away. This, I'm guessing, gives the game longevity as some players will look to play through the game multiple times.

Similar to the Bethesda created Fallout games your character is given various rank up options based on XP earned. There are eighteen skills divided evenly among the three schools of combat, magic, and stealth. I feel the Bethesda XP/Level up system to be very good and another incentive to put more hours into a game. I am however fan-boying Bethesda quite a lot at present though so my view is slightly unbalanced.

Skyrim was released to critical acclaim, with reviewers particularly mentioning the character development and setting, and is considered to be one of the greatest video games of all time. It is ranked as a very very strong 9/10 average across reviews.

The game shipped over seven million copies to retailers within the first week of its release, and has sold over 30 million copies across all five platforms.

As with the last release I cannot see my spreadsheet fully on my phone so will update individual nominations tomorrow for this and the previous game. Skyrim took 111 points and 2nd place in our poll. It looked like it would be number 1 for a very long time to be honest but was pipped at the post.

Skyrim was voted by you as:

• 1 x 1st place
  • 2 x 2nd place
  • 7 x 3rd place
  • 1 x 5th place
  • 1 x 6th place
  • 3 x 7th place
  • 1 x 8th place
  • 1 x 10th place

Loved Skyrim at the time and was in my top 10 (at number eight), was my first real immersion in that style of game, sunk many an hour into it trying different builds of character. Wasn't too enamoured when my main save corrupted but hey ho.

Two things I'd like to see now:

1) A list of all the games nominated with votes

2) Dindeleux in P&B style announcing a humourous false number 1, given we all know what the real answer is going to be.

22 hours ago, The OP said:

The controls are going for me too - the number of times (for example) I've walked towards the horse and pressed x but he doesn't get on because I've walked one step too far is a tad infuriating. 

This. Drives me round the bend. I'm on my second attempt at the game now. I bought it about 6 months ago, played it for an hour and sacked it. I'm getting into it a bit more this time, I'm just starting to sort of dig around Velen this time. I can see that there's a game in there somewhere so will persist with it.

As for Skyrim, it suffers from the same problems as most of Bethesda's RPGs have. The quests are all so samey.

PIE AND BOVRIL 50 Greatest Games of All Time

1st place

The Last of Us

I am pretty shocked that this won. Not at all due to the quality of the game, which I have been made aware of prior to this thread is excellent, but due to the fact that The Last Of Us is a PlayStation exclusive. I would've expected it to be up there but due to the fact that a large number of voters (including me) will only have an Xbox makes its position even more staggering and a real confirmation that The Last of Us is the greatest game of all time.

Released in 2013 onto PS3 by Sony and created by developer Naughty Dog, The Last Of Us is an action adventure survival horror game. Players control Joel, a smuggler tasked with escorting a teenage girl named Ellie across a post-apocalyptic United States. The Last of Us is played from a third-person perspective; players use firearms and improvised weapons, and can use stealth to defend against hostile humans and cannibalistic creatures infected by a mutated strain of the Cordyceps fungus.

In combat, players can use long-ranged weapons, such as rifles, shotguns, and bows, and short-range weapons such as handguns and short-barreled shotgun. Players can scavenge limited-use melee weapons, such as pipes and baseball bats, and throw bottles and bricks to distract, stun, or attack enemies. Players can upgrade weapons at workbenches using collected items. You can also chose to avoid enemies altogether by entering "Listen Mode" and using stealth to progress past opponents.

The Last of Us became one of the best-selling PlayStation 3 games, selling over 1.3 million units in its first week and over eight million units within fourteen months. Considered to be one of the greatest video games of all time, it won year-end accolades, including multiple Game of the Year awards from several gaming publications, critics, and game award shows, making it one of the most awarded games in history.

Apologies for the lack of a visual to accompany this write up, only Bill Gates (and Div) can explain why technology allows you to include pictures all the way from number 50 down to number 2 and then fails.

The Last of Us finished 10 points clear in our poll with 121 points. It was a very tight race to the end with Skyrim and Witcher 3 looking nailed on to be our top 2 for a long time before Red Dead, San Andreas and The Last of Us started to really accumulate votes.

Over the next couple of days I will post a list of all nominated game from 1 pointers all the way up the list. I think there are enough gems hidden in the nominations to continue discussion amongst you. Will also update all the scoring for the top 3 tomorrow.

The Last Of Us was voted as:

• 6 x 1st place (by far the most)
  • 1 x 2nd place
  • 2 x 3rd place
  • 1 x 4th place
  • 2 x 5th place
  • 3 x 6th place
  • 1 x 9th place