Oor Nicola Sturgeon thread.

Pearbuyerbell

1 hour ago, Wee Bully said:

No, he doesn’t.  He backs them with supposition.

That describes it perfectly. He had a piece on how the Scottish Government has been almost entirely surrendered to a tiny cabal of porno folk, addicts, prostitutes etc and proceeded to post his proof as tons of links to tweets of some individuals, the main one being a transgender activist, and how on occasion some SNP or Green politicians/members tweeted in support of trans rights groups and even liked or replied to some of that person's tweets. And stuff about the SNP equalities officer who had to apologise for posting abusive tweets about transphobes.

3 hours ago, Stephen Malkmus said:

The SNP had 104,000 members as of December 2021.

https://commonslibrary.parliament.uk/research-briefings/sn05125/

Wasn't there a few stories recently that they'd lost 30,000 members this past year? Although from what I remember, there weren't any facts in these newspaper articles, they could almost have been written by that wings guy.

1 hour ago, orfc said:

There were two branch levies in 2019, thus they're rolled up under the same heading for the 2019 accounts. The money raised was 175k, roughly 90k each

I used to follow Grouse Beater but he blocked me for pointing out that he'd cropped an image so that he could use it to criticise the SNP.

Interesting that I can see his post here on P&B but not on Twitter itself 🤔

14 minutes ago, s_dog said:

That describes it perfectly. He had a piece on how the Scottish Government has been almost entirely surrendered to a tiny cabal of porno folk, addicts, prostitutes etc and proceeded to post his proof as tons of links to tweets of some individuals, the main one being a transgender activist, and how on occasion some SNP or Green politicians/members tweeted in support of trans rights groups and even liked or replied to some of that person's tweets. And stuff about the SNP equalities officer who had to apologise for posting abusive tweets about transphobes.

His technique never changes, writes an intro hinting about what he's "discovered", then screenshots of a load of mostly random tweets or excerpts of articles that he doesn't link so it's hard to find the context, chucks in a few false logical chains between them, and then writes a usually baseless conclusion. Most people scan through all the rubbish in the middle to get to the end, and take his word for it. There's a reason why he's never been given a weekly column anywhere, his  "journalism" doesn't add up, it's lazy fabrication and jumping to unfounded conclusions.

On 20/02/2021 at 01:16, BFTD said:

And to think that this thread was originally created to wid/widnae.

Anyone else find it weird that the most common complaint about the First Minister on Twitter still seems to be that they don't find her physically attractive? I'd take that as a compliment if it was the main gripe in a performance review.

On 20/02/2021 at 16:53, Ned Nederlander said:

Kate Forbes is a potential SNP leader, and she's obviously an absolute fucking wid - makes me wonder what the dafties would focus on if/when she's in charge.

On 20/02/2021 at 17:05, SandyCromarty said:

Her Religion.

Fair play Sandy.

(Still an absolute wid right enough)

I have been very defensive of Nicola Sturgeon over the years.  She was far from perfect but was still head and shoulders above any other politician in recent times both at a Scottish and UK level.  I believe her commitment to the SNP’s main objective is unquestionable.

However her biggest f**k up is undoubtedly resigning in such a manner that has left the SNP with a choice of three sub-standard choices for her replacement.  She should have managed the whole thing far better and the party, and more importantly the country, will pay the price.

1 hour ago, Granny Danger said:

I have been very defensive of Nicola Sturgeon over the years.  She was far from perfect but was still head and shoulders above any other politician in recent times both at a Scottish and UK level.  I believe her commitment to the SNP’s main objective is unquestionable.

However her biggest f**k up is undoubtedly resigning in such a manner that has left the SNP with a choice of three sub-standard choices for her replacement.  She should have managed the whole thing far better and the party, and more importantly the country, will pay the price.

Perhaps she ought to have announced now that she will stand down after next year’s General Election, which will coincide with a decade as leader and FM. That would have given the party time to consider the next steps and for potential leadership candidates to increase their profile with the party membership and the public.

As it stands you’ve one of the worst performing cabinet ministers in the history of devolution, someone whose principles are governed by an imaginary man in the sky, and the batshit mental Ash Regan. Really doesn’t inspire confidence. 

3 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

I get that argument, but realistically speaking, even 6 months or a year from now you'd still have the same binfire of potential candidates to choose from. For her to resign in that manner suggests to me she'd absolutely had enough of fighting the lunatic Alba wing, and the relentless series of baseless accusations from moonhowlers. Add to that an almost completely hostile press/media and having to deal with the sheer idiocy of DRoss every other day, I'm amazed she stuck it out for so long. 

10 minutes ago, MazzyStar said:

Here’s the same guy last year. It’s so strange to see what these weirdo right wingers actually consider to be socialist because Nicola Sturgeon certainly isn’t a socialist. 

If Sturgeons a socialist I'm a fully paid up member of the Stalin Society.

On 24/02/2023 at 05:51, Granny Danger said:

Don’t you live outside Scotland?

2 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

Snake oil doesn't sell itself, y'know.

Not sure what that means. Anyway what's your thoughts on the home countries governing themselves. Clearly the governments could work together for the common good. Scotland has loads of water, which we can help out with for example. And the other countries could share their resources too. It makes sense for countries to govern themselves. No. 🤷👍