Work colleagues

Couple of smug business wankers on the train this morning, talking about how glad they were that their employers had forced the plebs back into the office. They both still normally worked from home themselves, of course, but it was painfully obvious that both were lonely as f**k and used work for human interaction.

Both were clearly micromanagers too, so I'm now wondering if that behaviour isn't just for control freaks, but also Billy No-Mates types who like having a group of "friends" who are forced to interact with them.

2 hours ago, Wacky said:

I’m clearly getting auld…very auld. Some of the jargon used at work is baffling. Can anyone explain why when I say “morning” (of course it’s never a good morning) to a work mate, they reply with “what’s happenin” 

To me that is the strangest response to greeting someone with a simple “mornin” 

How do you respond to that? I’ve tried answering with “I’m about to have a coffee then go and carry on with my work” I get a one word response to that, like braw, good, or the standard, oh! 

What does it all mean? 

Seriously, I need to know for my sanity. When I’ve asked the question at work, I get a shrug of the shoulders, or told “it’s just what we say”. 

I suppose the best, or depending on how you look at it, the worst answer I’ve had “there’s no point in explaining it, you’ll only forget ya auld fart”

It's just a greeting. Same way some people say "Awrite" or "How you doing". It's not a question.

8 minutes ago, Jives Miguel said:

It's just a greeting. Same way some people say "Awrite" or "How you doing". It's not a question.

Still sounds like a bizarre response to someone saying good morning. 

ah dinnae unnurstaund the young ains nooadays 

15 minutes ago, Wacky said:

Tbf saying "morning" to someone is pretty bizarre we all know it's the morning. 

Someone saying "what's happening" is more suitable as a friendly greeting. 

If you're struggling just repeat it back but try and lose as many letter as possible "appnin" works well. 

Edited by RuMoore

3 hours ago, Wacky said:

I’m clearly getting auld…very auld. Some of the jargon used at work is baffling. Can anyone explain why when I say “morning” (of course it’s never a good morning) to a work mate, they reply with “what’s happenin” 

How do you respond to that? I’ve tried answering with “I’m about to have a coffee then go and carry on with my work” I get a one word response to that, like braw, good, or the standard, oh! 

What does it all mean? 

Seriously, I need to know for my sanity. When I’ve asked the question at work, I get a shrug of the shoulders, or told “it’s just what we say”. 

I suppose the best, or depending on how you look at it, the worst answer I’ve had “there’s no point in explaining it, you’ll only forget ya auld fart”

It's the 21st century version of "how do you do".

1 hour ago, Wacky said:

1 hour ago, RuMoore said:

If you're struggling just repeat it back but try and lose as many letter as possible "appnin" works well. 

33 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

Try,

image.png.23f3efb3ba20cebf0959e38d8dc94df4.png

Edited by MEADOWXI

3 hours ago, BTFD said:

Couple of smug business wankers on the train this morning, talking about how glad they were that their employers had forced the plebs back into the office. They both still normally worked from home themselves, of course, but it was painfully obvious that both were lonely as f**k and used work for human interaction.

Both were clearly micromanagers too, so I'm now wondering if that behaviour isn't just for control freaks, but also Billy No-Mates types who like having a group of "friends" who are forced to interact with them.

Very middle management behaviour to desire people to come into the office. The reasons behind why are always pish as well. Don't get me wrong though, when I work in a city and if there's a few good c***s I work with an after work pint(s) on a Thursday or Friday is rather pleasant. I'm quite a social person, but I absolutely fucking love working alone and I'll never change.  

5 hours ago, Wacky said:

3 hours ago, Jives Miguel said:

3 hours ago, scottsdad said:

I used to work with a guy who always said "wotcha".

2 hours ago, RuMoore said:

2 hours ago, welshbairn said:

1 hour ago, MEADOWXI said:

Try,

image.png.23f3efb3ba20cebf0959e38d8dc94df4.png

'Bonjour, tout le monde' makes a wee change and is a good curve ball for the smartarses.

Folk have been saying "what's happening?" as a greeting for twenty years or more.

It usually sounds more upbeat than my grumbled "mornin'", so I'm thinking it might be the hallmark of a guid c**t.

6 hours ago, thistledo said:

Very middle management behaviour to desire people to come into the office. The reasons behind why are always pish as well. Don't get me wrong though, when I work in a city and if there's a few good c***s I work with an after work pint(s) on a Thursday or Friday is rather pleasant. I'm quite a social person, but I absolutely fucking love working alone and I'll never change.  

Depends on the job but I find everyone works better when together in the same office. Employees have became entitled as f**k since covid. People wanting to work at home to look after their dogs alongside other pish excuses. 

Yes I sound like a dinosaur