Richey Edwards Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 How about playing matches overseas? It would be a tremendous boost for the club's profile. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iain Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 20 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said: How about playing matches overseas? It would be a tremendous boost for the club's profile. Magaluf? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roxanne's man Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 21 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said: How about playing matches overseas? It would be a tremendous boost for the club's profile. Ailsa Craig 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 2 minutes ago, Iain said: Magaluf? Japan has the biggest overseas Ayr United following so I was thinking there. Or Turkey. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thereisalight.. Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 2 hours ago, No_Problemo said: With both Morton and Raith introducing free season tickets for under 12’s, (I’m not entirely sure about the Raith one, but Morton it is two free seasons with a paying adult) I wonder if it is something that the club is considering? I would hope that they are, the only slight issue I have with the paying adult part is that the most disadvantaged kids will inevitably miss out, but I guess this could be addressed though the usual community work etc. Showing my age here but I freaking hope not. We already have too many misbehaving weans at Somerset. Think the place is Pirates Pete's at times rather than a fitba ground. -1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thereisalight.. Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 36 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said: How about playing matches overseas? It would be a tremendous boost for the club's profile. Zambia surely! Maybe when the spammers actually see us in person and how turgid we can be they will finally drop their "love" for us 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 2 minutes ago, Thereisalight.. said: Zambia surely! Maybe when the spammers actually see us in person and how turgid we can be they will finally drop their "love" for us Zambia is landlocked. Good luck getting a ferry there. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roxanne's man Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 43 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said: How about playing matches overseas? It would be a tremendous boost for the club's profile. I think the idea is good, maybe have Ayr do a tour of a certain country. We've been to Wales and England in recent-ish years, maybe a tour of Ireland or a european country during preseason? Also gives us a look at whatever football talent is there in whatever country aswell. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted June 2 Share Posted June 2 Just now, Roxanne's man said: I think the idea is good, maybe have Ayr do a tour of a certain country. We've been to Wales and England in recent-ish years, maybe a tour of Ireland or a european country during preseason? Also gives us a look at whatever football talent is there in whatever country aswell. It would probably cost a metric fuckton. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TxRover Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 4 hours ago, Richey Edwards said: It would probably cost a metric fuckton. So, converting that to an Imperial fuckton you multiply by 1.1? With Rwanda so close to Zambia, surely the Government has some free space on flights? Bet Frankie could get you lot hooked up with some good discounts at the Neelkanth Sarovar Premiere in Lusaka. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
United1973 Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 5 hours ago, Thereisalight.. said: Showing my age here but I freaking hope not. We already have too many misbehaving weans at Somerset. Think the place is Pirates Pete's at times rather than a fitba ground. I think the should get a free drum coming into annoy you more 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ryanayr1987 Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 (edited) 7 hours ago, Richey Edwards said: Japan has the biggest overseas Ayr United following so I was thinking there. Or Turkey. Just so bullen can get his hair transplant? We might realise that he actually is… Edited June 3 by ryanayr1987 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_Problemo Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 9 hours ago, Thereisalight.. said: Showing my age here but I freaking hope not. We already have too many misbehaving weans at Somerset. Think the place is Pirates Pete's at times rather than a fitba ground. Absolutely showing your age! Partick are the case study in all of this, and by all accounts it worked really well for them. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Highlandmagar Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 1 minute ago, No_Problemo said: Absolutely showing your age! Partick are the case study in all of this, and by all accounts it worked really well for them. We now have a younger support coming through. And ,I would wager that the scheme certainly helped in that matter. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
itzdrk Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 Thinking about actually watching the matches next season and just how shite it'll be the north terrace is away. Don't think I've watched a game from the Somerset Road End since about 2018, never got a scooby what's going on at the other end. Hopefully the next project makes it steeper in there and gets rid of stanchions. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AuAl Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 42 minutes ago, itzdrk said: Hopefully the next project makes it steeper in there and gets rid of stanchions. Aye that would be excellent. Getting ahead of myself I know, but if we could make the terracing steeper behind both goals at some point in the future it would make watching the games at Somerset even better. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trogdor Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 The inconvenience next season of not having the North Terrace will make me glum. I thought they were going to do construction in a way that allowed continued use of the terracing nearest the pitch. I've not watched a game in the SRE since we played Rangers at home and Forrest scored, the one where it was snowing. I've been in the Main Stand a couple of times (was forced to during Covid) so I don't fancy being in there either. The NT has always been the best place to watch football at Somerset. It'll be worth it in the end as the new North Stand will be class but I'll still moan about it. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richey Edwards Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 1 hour ago, Trogdor said: The inconvenience next season of not having the North Terrace will make me glum. I thought they were going to do construction in a way that allowed continued use of the terracing nearest the pitch. I've not watched a game in the SRE since we played Rangers at home and Forrest scored, the one where it was snowing. I've been in the Main Stand a couple of times (was forced to during Covid) so I don't fancy being in there either. The NT has always been the best place to watch football at Somerset. It'll be worth it in the end as the new North Stand will be class but I'll still moan about it. If you can play left back you can watch the game on the pitch instead. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trogdor Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 15 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said: If you can play left back you can watch the game on the pitch instead. How it would start... How it would end... 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
itzdrk Posted June 3 Share Posted June 3 1 hour ago, Trogdor said: How it would start... How it would end... Just don't duck out the way of the ball and follow your man. My standards are now so low that you'll be a hero after the pathetic shite of the last three years. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...