The Brechin City Thread

Hedgecutter

2 hours ago, true_rover said:
4 hours ago, Brazilianlex said:
It was a dogs breakfast of a proposal written on the back of a fag packet in 2 weeks just like the Brechin proposal is too.
It really would not be hard to have a 12 team league 2 this season and that gives a whole year to come up with a properly thought out reconstruction plan where Clubs can all participate inc HL and LL.
Just needs leadership from SFA and SPFL emoji23.png

Except if you give a year to come up with a proposal, it will still be naturally voted on with self interest based on where teams are - a proposal would have to come before the season started.

Exactly this . The clubs had a chance to put contingency plans in place for this season right at the start but decided on a clusterfuck , suck it and see version. 

Is it any wonder  that  Brechin,  with their possible existence in question,  try their luck by throwing  a begging letter into the clusterfuck pot ? 

This is not in any way defending that letter or the ridiculous timing of it , but merely pointing out the  situation we now find ourselves in through a lack of leadership....................... . Clubs again contemplating legal action and  Brora and Kelty not knowing if they can play their play off matches the day before the first leg.  

As has been mentioned earlier , the silence from the SPFL executive is deafening.  

3 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

Exactly this . The clubs had a chance to put contingency plans in place for this season right at the start but decided on a clusterfuck , suck it and see version. 

Is it any wonder  that  Brechin,  with their possible existence in question,  try their luck by throwing  a begging letter into the clusterfuck pot ? 

This is not in any way defending that letter or the ridiculous timing of it , but merely pointing out the  situation we now find ourselves in through a lack of leadership....................... . Clubs again contemplating legal action and  Brora and Kelty not knowing if they can play their play off matches the day before the first leg.  

As has been mentioned earlier , the silence from the SPFL executive is deafening.  

The longer it goes without a decision, the more I think they'll be taking the pragmatic approach: given all the unforseen unfairnesses over the past two seasons, they should be fair to all three clubs by enlarging League Two to 12 teams to accommodate them all. None of them is at fault here. 

Just to add, since it's mentioned above that it's not known if the playoffs are going ahead tomorrow - they're not.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/highland-league/3071707/brora-rangers-kelty-hearts-spfl/amp/

I assumed you lot would have known already. Sorry.

Edited by SecretCEO

19 minutes ago, RH33 said:

My money is on the play offs not happening. 

A think you could be correct,Ken Ferguson pulling the strings then steps down from his position,he knew exactly what was going on but came away with some pish how he wanted to concentrate on Brechin not finishing bottom of league 2 that's why he stepped down.All a bit sneaky from Brechin board member's doesn't sit well withe at all.

1 hour ago, mo83 said:

A think you could be correct,Ken Ferguson pulling the strings then steps down from his position,he knew exactly what was going on but came away with some pish how he wanted to concentrate on Brechin not finishing bottom of league 2 that's why he stepped down.All a bit sneaky from Brechin board member's doesn't sit well withe at all.

Only absolute morons ever thought that Ken Ferguson was 'pulling the strings' at the SPFL.

2 hours ago, SecretCEO said:

The longer it goes without a decision, the more I think they'll be taking the pragmatic approach: given all the unforseen unfairnesses over the past two seasons, they should be fair to all three clubs by enlarging League Two to 12 teams to accommodate them all. None of them is at fault here. 

Just to add, since it's mentioned above that it's not known if the playoffs are going ahead tomorrow - they're not.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/highland-league/3071707/brora-rangers-kelty-hearts-spfl/amp/

I assumed you lot would have known already. Sorry.

There was nothing unfair about Brechin finishing bottom yet again.

The playoffs should go ahead.

5 hours ago, theoriginalhedge said:

This is not in any way defending that letter or the ridiculous timing of it , but merely pointing out the  situation we now find ourselves in through a lack of leadership...................

In what way is Brechin City's "possible existence" being put "in question" by your third relegation in four years? Be extremely specific; or otherwise get fucking doon.

2 hours ago, SecretCEO said:

None of them is at fault here. 

You seem to have mistaken a business arbitration for a competitive sporting league. Are you a spokesperson for the European Super League by any chance?

In what way are Brechin less 'at fault' for their circumstances than Berwick Rangers or East Stirlingshire in the same position? Or indeed Alloa two levels above them? Complete and utter birthday caird, anti-competition pish. 

Edited by vikingTON

1 hour ago, virginton said:

In what way is Brechin City's "possible existence" being put "in question" by your third relegation in four years? Be extremely specific; or otherwise get fucking doon.

Your tone is extremely condescending if you don't mind me saying. 

Edited by theoriginalhedge

15 minutes ago, theoriginalhedge said:

Your tone is extremely condescending if you don't mind me saying. 

Condescend: to show that one feels superior. 

Given that your football club contrived to win the grand total of zero out of fucking 36 league games the last time you washed up in the same division as The Famous, I'd say that superiority is more than merited.

So back to the question then: in what way is Brechin City's "possible existence" being put in question by your third relegation in four years?

Edited by vikingTON

If the SPFL were minded to stay neutral and allow Brechin their route of appeal via arbritration, dates would have been announced for these games.

What we know is that the league were due to get legal advice by today. My impression is that they will now seek to cancel the playoffs via the rulebook or via temporary League 2 reconstruction. The fact that this situation wasn't forseen & planned for when the league returned is a joke quite frankly.

3 hours ago, DA Baracus said:

Only absolute morons ever thought that Ken Ferguson was 'pulling the strings' at the SPFL.

He was clearly wielding a fair bit of influence given that he managed to get the Board to go to the lengths of trying to move the Highland/Lowland boundary to suit his club, and now hasn't immediately been laughed out of the room with his pathetic attempt at dodging relegation.

5 hours ago, craigkillie said:

He was clearly wielding a fair bit of influence given that he managed to get the Board to go to the lengths of trying to move the Highland/Lowland boundary to suit his club, and now hasn't immediately been laughed out of the room with his pathetic attempt at dodging relegation.

Don Ken Ferguson 

9 hours ago, virginton said:

Be extremely specific; or otherwise get fucking doon.

7 hours ago, virginton said:

Condescend: to show that one feels superior. 

Given that your football club contrived to win the grand total of zero out of fucking 36 league games the last time you washed up in the same division as The Famous, I'd say that superiority is more than merited.

Isn’t it sad when somebody lives their life through their football team

thats why so many support the old firm

but ... morton? morton? 

6 hours ago, craigkillie said:

Subtlety doesn't exist for some people. It's either that he ruled with an iron fist or he sat in the corner quietly taking minutes and making the coffees, no in between.

From what I am hearing this guy Kevin Mackie has a few friends at some clubs, and has been leaning heavily on them to back Brechin’s cause. Looks like those friends are on the SPFL board, pathetic really.

8 hours ago, Born To Run said:

If the SPFL were minded to stay neutral and allow Brechin their route of appeal via arbritration, dates would have been announced for these games.

What we know is that the league were due to get legal advice by today. My impression is that they will now seek to cancel the playoffs via the rulebook or via temporary League 2 reconstruction. The fact that this situation wasn't forseen & planned for when the league returned is a joke quite frankly.

This joke of a situation is a result of the clubs not being willing to agree to forming a contingency plan at the start of the season as suggested by the SPFL executive.  This was pointed out by many on here at the time as the pandemic wasn't going to just suddenly disappear.