The Big Relegation Thread

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

We're almost definitely getting beat by a Jordan White goal v County, as i can already picture his dad coming on here to laugh at people who said our £100k bid for him was stupid.

It was though, there's no way County would accept a bid like that from a potential relegation rival.

Billy won't be the only one laughing if White scores a winner a week on Wednesday.

2 hours ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

Don't think it's regressed it's just always been terrible.

1 clean sheet in the last 16 league matches can't all be put on Goodwin.

Hard to see Dundee Utd not finishing in the bottom 2 now.

I'd go as far as to say if Kilmarnock beat St Johnstone next week they won't finish in the bottom 2, while St Johnstone travel away to Ross County the week after.  

St Johnstone have only scored 3 goals in their last 8 matches and every other team in that area is in the 9/10 goals region.  That can't be good for your survival prospects.

Have you seen their keeper?  He might be the worst keeper to regularly play in the division.  Normally clown shoes calamities get chucked after half a dozen games of mishaps and hilarious consequences, but he just keeps getting picked.  Except that time against us when they played a kid and he turned out to be even worse.

When United beat us the other week, we were rotten but their defence was so bad they almost threw us the game anyway.

St Johnstone will get the result they need somewhere, even if it goes to the last day.

Since we moved out of bother I've said Killie 12th, united 11th but God knows. It's an absolutely enthralling watch when you're not in it, not to mention another highlight of how farcical our TV arrangement is.

7 hours ago, GAD said:

Do you think there is anything to worry about going into next season or is it just a case of tools were downed when top 6 was missed and most of the squad will be gone in the summer?

Definitely just downed tools, guys know they wont be here next year and it shows big time. It's another year where we're replacing 3 or 4 first team players that have a big influence on us. Once we get that sorted out we'll be fine. The only ones leaving that are of any influence are Devlin (who's been hit or miss for his whole time here), Fitzwater, Omeonga and Nouble (away for a fee in the summer). We've got a few replacements in, in the form of their backups already to be fair but we're doing worse now to set us up better for next season basically. We've done it a few times. 

We're in a weird form of pre-season mode already, which at the expense of results now, will benefit us greatly for next season.

17 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

The club announced that they'd signed him on a two-year deal with an option of a third. Safe to say they'll be taking up that option.

https://livingstonfc.co.uk/joel-nouble-the-latest-new-addition-for-the-lions/

It's already been taken up, a month and a bit ago I think was the announcement.

Although not relevant, JET was out on contract with us but gave us his word he'd sign outside Scotland. He went to Aberdeen, they paid us 80k and gave us Bruce Anderson too. Not a clue how that happened. 

Edited by ATLIS

3 hours ago, ATLIS said:

Definitely just downed tools, guys know they wont be here next year and it shows big time. It's another year where we're replacing 3 or 4 first team players that have a big influence on us. Once we get that sorted out we'll be fine. The only ones leaving that are of any influence are Devlin (who's been hit or miss for his whole time here), Fitzwater, Omeonga and Nouble (away for a fee in the summer). We've got a few replacements in, in the form of their backups already to be fair but we're doing worse now to set us up better for next season basically. We've done it a few times. 

We're in a weird form of pre-season mode already, which at the expense of results now, will benefit us greatly for next season.

I think it showed how bad County are when a canna be arse Livi team outplayed us with ease until we scored. Normally you go a goal up on Livi and they hustle like hell but this one team just did not give a shite.

3 hours ago, ATLIS said:

Who’s signing Omeonga? I remember him being decent at hibs but haven’t heard much about him at Livi. Has he been a standout?

On 07/05/2023 at 19:46, ATLIS said:

We do it every year, we go on a brilliant run up to Christmas, then when we come back from the January break we shit the bed and limp across the line. We've done it three years in a row now.

Martindale also now saying he's going to be dropping some players for the Killie game :D 

22 hours ago, ATLIS said:

Well we're now mathematically safe, somehow :D You'd think of the last three games, if someone loses to us they deserve to be relegated. Motherwell included via a points deduction if we somehow win that one 

11 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Yeah i said in one of my posts we start off ok, but then concede a goal and it all goes downhill from there, been the same for weeks. We can't score, and we can't keep clean sheets, if we want to change our away results we have to at least score a goal when we start off on the front foot, that'll at least give the players a lift and something to build on, just isn't happening for us in these away games though. We'll see if it's spread to our home games next week.

11 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

It was tools down a few games before top 6 was missed, when we were sitting 4th it looked harder not to get into the top 6 than to achieve it, no goals in 7 away games is a worrying trend too. Have no idea if this carries on into next season, we'll have a few new players coming in, but you do worry if it is something deeper than just changing the squad a bit. I'll be a bit more upbeat if our home form is still ok and we can actually score some goals.

Martindale doing his best Calimero impersonation, doing interviews with a wee sad face telling us our playing budget will have to be cut next season, banging on about how much he'd love crowds the size of opposition clubs, and how Championship players haven't got back in touch when he showed interest in signing them, doesn't inspire confidence either.

4 hours ago, ATLIS said:

2 hours ago, ATLIS said:

It's already been taken up, a month and a bit ago I think was the announcement.

Although not relevant, JET was out on contract with us but gave us his word he'd sign outside Scotland. He went to Aberdeen, they paid us 80k and gave us Bruce Anderson too. Not a clue how that happened. 

Livingston fans in the relegation thread….

What About Me 90S GIF by Casol

Sorry lads, you have to shite for the full season to get invited to this party. 

2 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

Livingston fans in the relegation thread….

What About Me 90S GIF by Casol

Sorry lads, you have to shite for the full season to get invited to this party. 

Hey we're playing a big part in the relegation battle, giving 3pts to those in need, just wait till the final game against us, you'll be wanting us then.

1 hour ago, Nadroj said:

Who’s signing Omeonga? I remember him being decent at hibs but haven’t heard much about him at Livi. Has he been a standout?

Brilliant on his day, so good at turning over possession in midfield, stick on for a booking right enough, the amount of tackles he puts in. Inevitable he'll commit a few fouls. Although he has off days, i'd say the good far outweighs the bad, really don't understand why we aren't playing him in the run in, we're playing everyone else that wont be here next season, so it isn't that.

1 hour ago, Nadroj said:

No clue, he's barely got a game for us. He's been rotation at best aside from a wee purple patch. He gets booked far too often really. He's definitely not been a standout though

6 hours ago, ATLIS said:

Makes you wonder how Stephen Glass has ended back up managing at the diddy levels of American "soccer" 🤔

The way these fixtures have panned out hasn’t been kind to us and going to Killie for a third time is looking like a total disaster now.

We’re in the position of needing one scrappy 1-0 win to probably see us safe, but also in the position where we could go into the last day of the season needing to get that at home to a Livi team who may have downed tools but who are bound to put in at least one worthwhile performance at some point.

1 hour ago, Jamie_Beatson said:

The way these fixtures have panned out hasn’t been kind to us and going to Killie for a third time is looking like a total disaster now.

We’re in the position of needing one scrappy 1-0 win to probably see us safe, but also in the position where we could go into the last day of the season needing to get that at home to a Livi team who may have downed tools but who are bound to put in at least one worthwhile performance at some point.

That’s what it has boiled down to - who is so bad they can’t beat Livingston?  County - pass.  Kilmarnock - pass.  

At some stage, Livingston will surely win a game, and it’s likely to relegate somebody.  

29 minutes ago, Savage Henry said:

That’s what it has boiled down to - who is so bad they can’t beat Livingston?  County - pass.  Kilmarnock - pass.  

At some stage, Livingston will surely win a game, and it’s likely to relegate somebody.  

*waves*

We'll probably dominate Livi on the final day, fluff every chance then concede a 87th minute goal from a set play.

Final position dependent on the County v Killie result the same day.