The Big Relegation Thread

On 07/11/2023 at 22:37, Hoose Rice said:

St Johnstone are the worst side in the league.  County will be fine, Livi will end up second bottom. 

On 07/11/2023 at 23:36, Hoose Rice said:

Bookmark my words of wisdom :) 

*cough*

13 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Sorry did the season end today? ;) 

Not yet, but if you saw the performance you'd understand.

We've a shite run next but it looks like our players have finally learned each others name and we've finally hired an actual manager, so confidence is now high.

Be a lot of folk who saw us under MacLean who wont realise quite how good some of our new players are.

9 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Not yet, but if you saw the performance you'd understand.

We've a shite run next but it looks like our players have finally learned each others name and we've finally hired an actual manager, so confidence is now high.

Be a lot of folk who saw us under MacLean who wont realise quite how good some of our new players are.

Cool man, good luck the rest of the season.

10 hours ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

That's a huge win for Saints today.

It was. The timing of our wee run has coincided with County, Motherwell and Livingston going on dreadful runs of results as well.

A month or so back it looked like we’d be left stranded as everyone else was taking points of each other and creeping ahead each week.

41 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

It was. The timing of our wee run has coincided with County, Motherwell and Livingston going on dreadful runs of results as well.

A month or so back it looked like we’d be left stranded as everyone else was taking points of each other and creeping ahead each week.

We’ve played Livi, Motherwell, County, Dundee and Kilmarnock at home recently, haven’t lost any of them, taken 9 points from a possible 15 and were pretty unfortunate not to have beaten Livi and Motherwell. Only Dundee outplayed us in any of those fixtures and even then - despite our woeful form at the time - we got a point out of it.

Some difficult fixtures coming up so it’s important we done fall behind again during that period.

On 24/09/2023 at 13:16, RandomGuy. said:

But we dont have a defence. Mitov the best performing keeper in the league yet still conceded the most goals.

Screenshot_20230924_131118_Chrome.thumb.jpg.dbbdf44fcfd5f8e82f5223378d52dbf9.jpg

Guess we'll find out if an awful defence is worse or better than an awful goalkeeper.

I understand expected goals but how do you possibly rate "goals prevented" literally every single shot on target is a goal that needed prevented. If that's what this is, why don't they just say 'saves per game' or whatever.

27 minutes ago, Derry Alli said:

I understand expected goals but how do you possibly rate "goals prevented" literally every single shot on target is a goal that needed prevented. If that's what this is, why don't they just say 'saves per game' or whatever.

Aye its a shit name, as is "expected goals", tbh.

"Goals saved above average" is better. 

38 minutes ago, Jamie_B said:

We’ve played Livi, Motherwell, County, Dundee and Kilmarnock at home recently, haven’t lost any of them, taken 9 points from a possible 15 and were pretty unfortunate not to have beaten Livi and Motherwell. Only Dundee outplayed us in any of those fixtures and even then - despite our woeful form at the time - we got a point out of it.

Some difficult fixtures coming up so it’s important we done fall behind again during that period.

I suspect we'll be near the bottom again by Christmas time, but i think we just now need to stay around teams by the time we play them.

It could easily come down to the post split fixtures, but at least we're now competitive and if we hadnt given sides a 8/9 game head start, youd think we'd be looking safer.

21 minutes ago, Derry Alli said:

You can't save a goal.

Urgh, so youre in one of those moods?

We'll all agree to call it "shots saved that prevented more or less goals than the average keeper in this division would", or SSTPMOLGTRAKITD for short.

2 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

Our shite form started around April 2022, to be honest.

You know its bad when, instead of looking at the upcoming fixtures and working out which ones you can win (or even score in), you end up looking at the fixtures of those around you.

The one real positive for Livi at the moment is that St Johnstone seem to have a really sh1te December coming up. Compliments of the season guys.