Coronavirus (COVID-19)

3 hours ago, mizfit said:

Bit shocking seeing the footage from the Aberdeen bars. Not seen anything like that in Perth.

As expected the Aberdeen vs Rangers match would have made the bars busy from 11.30am.  Lets hope the cluster in Aberdeen doesn't get any worse. 11 out of the 18 cases today is from the Aberdeen area. 

Don't think Aberdeen town centre will be as busy next Saturday when the two top teams playing at 12.30pm.

2 minutes ago, betting competition said:

As expected the Aberdeen vs Rangers match would have made the bars busy from 11.30am.  Lets hope the cluster in Aberdeen doesn't get any worse. 11 out of the 18 cases today is from the Aberdeen area. 

Don't think Aberdeen town centre will be as busy next Saturday when the two top teams playing at 12.30pm.

Soul and prohobition were packed all day 

12 minutes ago, madwullie said:

Was Ferguson's 96k deaths if they just didn't do anything, or if they put in mitigation measures without going as far as locking down? 

It was if they did not lock down. His view was that mitigation measures alone would not be sufficient and if they continued to rely on them it would lead to 96k deaths by the end of June.

The Swedes ignored this, continued relying on mitigation measures, and ended up with a death total 24 times lower than this by the end of June.

Edited by Todd_is_God

Guest JTS98
10 minutes ago, virginton said:

You guess wrongly, as usual. 

'Punish the students' further than what exactly that has occurred so far? A three month glorified holiday before the summer break? Aye, I'm sure the vast majority of 14 year olds up and down the land have been distraught at having 25 more hours per week to spend on their Xbox m8. - Completely irrelevant. Check.

As opposed to keeping schooling five per week, which would of course avoid the problem of knowledge retention by students failing to actually complete the course in the first place.  - Reacting to a bad situation by implementing another bad situation. Not one of life's great thinkers, are you?

I'm afraid that additional stress being imposed on the poor wee weans at this point is just tough. There was a global pandemic: 1) suck it up for a year or spend the rest of your life carrying 2) completely worthless 'qualifications' that no sane employer is going to touch with a bargepole. That is the choice that a state has to make on behalf of its children and no sane person can advocate the latter. - 1) Wishful thinking based on no educational theory ever devised. Check. 2) Massive over-reaction. Check.

At no point have I said that having a six day a week, no holidays catch-up sesson is an ideal-type policy for the education system in perpetuity. it is however the only solution to the problem of the lost education brought about by the pandemic, so you're frothing against a straw-man argument. - Classic VT making emboldened claims in an area he is clueless about. Check.

'Make'? That's about 99% of the rationale behind opening pantently unsafe schools on a full-occupancy basis starting next week champ. - Irrelevant objection. Check.

Well no, that's simply factually wrong. It is quite clearly workable to have a school open on a Saturday as well as Monday to Friday. Whether you want that to happen is an entirely separate point. - Pedantry. Check.

As opposed to all the research-led findings on how to catch up hours lost as a result of the Covid-19 pandemic in Scottish education system, which are of course flying out of journals right now. - Implication of  expertise you don't have. Check. There are educational journals flying about all the time. I get paid to read them. Most, as usual in almost all areas journals are published, will be utter nonsense.

More utter nonsense based on your inability to distinguish between the straw man argument that you want to challenge and an entirely different stance that I've set out. You're having an absolute nightmare here as usual. - Get out of an embarrassing situation by claiming someone else is having a nightmare. Check.

As @virginton posts go, this is a classic of the genre. Ticks all the boxes.

Edited by JTS98

Come back and actually write out a proper response instead of that eye-bleeding garbage above. Or better still, don't bother after conceding that your research-led approach has got absolutely nothing to say about catching up on literally months of education abandoned in the wake of a pandemic, so you've been tilting at windmills all along. 

Guest JTS98
15 minutes ago, virginton said:

Come back and actually write out a proper response instead of that eye-bleeding garbage above. Or better still, don't bother after conceding that your research-led approach has got absolutely nothing to say about catching up on literally months of education abandoned in the wake of a pandemic, so you've been tilting at windmills all along. 

Where's Ainsley, Champ?

Education syllabus and course design is my job. I have contributed to syllabus design for state school students in three countries and private schools and higher education establishments in loads of others. How people learn is specifically my area of expertise and what I am qualified in and work in. Recently I've added my second MA to narrow my focus on this to linguistics, but previously designed primary and high school syllabuses.

If anybody came to me asking whether I could design a six-day a week syllabus as you describe, I would tell them it's a bad idea and present exactly why before happily taking their cash and doing it anyway if they displayed your level of desire to plough on with a bad idea. If I don't do it, someone else will.

Happy to go qualification for qualification with you all night on this one. But you carry on with your pub bore routine.

Edited by JTS98

1 hour ago, pandarilla said:

Is anyone other than vton actually calling for this extra teaching measure?

I presumed he was just trolling, but is it actually a thing?

Lots of folk are, including many from within the teaching profession.

13 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
19 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:
Out of interest VT, what did you teach, and why did you stop?

Janitorial studies.

Someone stuck his mop up his arse.

11 minutes ago, JTS98 said:

Where's Ainsley, Champ?

Education syllabus and course design is my job. I have contributed to syllabus design for state school students in three countries and private schools and higher education establishments in loads of others. How people learn is specifically my area of expertise and what I am qualified in and work in. Recently I've added my second MA to narrow my focus on this to linguistics, but previously designed primary and high school syllabuses.

What's your point caller? Designing an ideal-type syllabus is not even remotely the same as 'providing a plan to restore three months of lost educational attainment as the result of a pandemic within the state school calendar'. If you've got a specialisation in the latter then by all means forward your CV to the currently floundering SG: if not, then pipe down.

If anybody came to me asking whether I could design a six-day a week syllabus as you describe, I would tell them it's a bad idea and present exactly why before happily taking their cash and doing it anyway if they displayed your level of desire to plough on with a bad idea. If I don't do it, someone else will.

Once again you're setting up the straw man argument that a six-day syllabus would be my ideal-type structure for schools for the indefinite future, as opposed to the only practical means of solving the shortfall in educational attainment right now. Swing and a miss, yet again. 

Happy to go qualification for qualification with you all night on this one. But you carry on with your pub bore routine.

Well no, regular viewers of your clown-car showings on the Hearts relegation thread will in fact know that you'll soon 'call it a night' before then furiously logging on another dozen times in the forlorn attempt to have the last word. Looking forward already to keeping you up all night like the sad loser that you are. 

And now it's time for an Ainsley.

A507576A-00E4-4BD1-BAD0-FF4BC5C5B220.thumb.jpeg.9f47449e99922f6c72fd556f864c42c5.jpeg

Edited by vikingTON

16 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:
22 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:
Out of interest VT, what did you teach, and why did you stop?

Janitorial studies.

He's certainly getting mopped here.

That's not how learning works.
Classroom time is important, yes. But we also know that the real kicker is 'effective teaching time', not just the raw number of hours spent physically in the room. This is quite a well-studied area.
Having kids and teachers in six days a week with fewer breaks will give you more classroom time. But it will give you tired teachers and tired students, meaning much less effective teaching time. From a learning management point of view, six-day weeks for teachers and learners of school age not used to a regime like that would just be pointless. Absences would soar, concentration levels would plummet, the quality of classroom input would drop, student motivation would drop.
It would satisfy the Daily Mail angst of people who have a bee in their bonnet about teachers, but it wouldn't actually provide good learning.
The reality is that the ones who might benefit most from extra time are also the ones least likely to take up any offer of additional study support.

Most of my senior pupils are where they should be or just marginally behind - a little bit of extra revision will get them back on track. In any case, there is always a degree of revising after the holidays for pupils who have forgotten and need reminding of what they covered before the summer holidays.

The biggest worry will be the small group who have done very little - but they would be an issue at any other time - often the ones who end up being moved down or across to NPAs, or even withdrawn due to poor attendance.

Guest JTS98
1 minute ago, virginton said:

What's your point caller? 1) Designing an ideal-type syllabus is not even remotely the same as 'providing a plan to restore three months of lost educational attainment as the result of a pandemic within the state school calendar'. If you've got a specialisation in the latter then by all means forward your CV to the currently floundering SG: if not, then pipe down.

2) Once again you're setting up the straw man argument that a six-day syllabus would be my ideal-type structure for schools in the indefinite future, as opposed to the only practical means of solving the shortfall in educational attainment right now. Swing and a miss, yet again. 

3) Well no, regular viewers of your clown-car showings on the Hearts relegation thread will in fact know that you'll soon 'call it a night' before then furiously logging on another dozen times in the forlorn attempt to have the last word. Looking forward already to keeping you up all night like the sad loser that you are. 

Reveal hidden contents

And now it's time for an Ainsley.

A507576A-00E4-4BD1-BAD0-FF4BC5C5B220.thumb.jpeg.9f47449e99922f6c72fd556f864c42c5.jpeg

1) We've established that VT doesn't know what syllabus design is.

2) The starting principle in designing any syllabus is that you establish your starting point and your final end goal. The fact that kids have lost classroom time does not mean that the end goal is best reached by giving them and their teachers a work-load that will further hinder learning. I'd get binned for even suggesting that by any semi-competent employer.

3) You seem unhappy with your lot in life. That's sad for you.

39 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

It was if they did not lock down. His view was that mitigation measures alone would not be sufficient and if they continued to rely on them it would lead to 96k deaths by the end of June.

The Swedes ignored this, continued relying on mitigation measures, and ended up with a death total 24 times lower than this by the end of June.

When did Ferguson predict 96k deaths in Sweden, I can't find it anywhere? He was praising them at the beginning of June.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2020/06/02/prof-lockdown-neil-ferguson-admits-sweden-used-science-uk-has/

Guest JTS98
9 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

The reality is that the ones who might benefit most from extra time are also the ones least likely to take up any offer of additional study support.

Most of my senior pupils are where they should be or just marginally behind - a little bit of extra revision will get them back on track. In any case, there is always a degree of revising after the holidays for pupils who have forgotten and need reminding of what they covered before the summer holidays.

The biggest worry will be the small group who have done very little - but they would be an issue at any other time - often the ones who end up being moved down or across to NPAs, or even withdrawn due to poor attendance.

I think the point about natural lack of retention over holidays is important. We never expect kids to retain all they have learned and that's built into a course. This situation isn't a whole lot removed from that.

The kids who have lost time in the class are not lost causes. You're right that a bit of extra work on key points will be plenty for most and teachers themselves will know where to streamline their own courses. Not every aspect of every course requires the same time in a class. It's a perfectly manageable situation.

There is the inequality question. Poor kids will suffer most as they're less likely to have had the same support at home. But that's not a new thing and, again, can be managed.

Edited by JTS98