Coronavirus (COVID-19)

5 minutes ago, Michael W said:

My only "concern" is whether the effectiveness is as high as the trials made out. In normal conditions with social distancing, mask wearing and limitations on mixing, it's quite possible more people will catch it than did in the trial. You can't simulate normal conditions in such a trial as doing so would be unethical, so it's one limitation of what you can do. 

That said, the key thing from the trials was that the vaccines prevented serious illness. That's all we need at this stage - if some people still get it but don't become seriously ill, we've done what we need to. Through time if necessary we can work on preventing it entirely - that's not the immediate problem; the issue is managing it and if we can stop people getting seriously ill, we have done that. 

More than happy with the trial data showing the vaccines trialled so far are safe. 

This! there could be 100 000 cases a day with no maks or SD but if they have nothing more than a cough & cold then who gives a f**k, they won't even need to be off work,  the danger with covid was never in it's mortality rate, it is very low, the danger is because it spreads under the radar it will find it's way to the vulnerable and kill them, if it doesn't kill or make them seriously unwell any more then job done, a week of unpleasantness can never justify these huge scale restrictions on life

My only "concern" is whether the effectiveness is as high as the trials made out. In normal conditions with social distancing, mask wearing and limitations on mixing, it's quite possible more people will catch it than did in the trial. You can't simulate normal conditions in such a trial as doing so would be unethical, so it's one limitation of what you can do. 
That said, the key thing from the trials was that the vaccines prevented serious illness. That's all we need at this stage - if some people still get it but don't become seriously ill, we've done what we need to. Through time if necessary we can work on preventing it entirely - that's not the immediate problem; the issue is managing it and if we can stop people getting seriously ill, we have done that. 
More than happy with the trial data showing the vaccines trialled so far are safe. 

The placebo group and the test group should have been mixing as much (or as little) as each other so the difference in infection should be as measured.

There's going to be some people who get the vaccine but still catch Covid - it will be a small percentage but will end up with a disproportionate amount of attention.

Nail. On. Head.

IMG_5063.thumb.jpg.159ab9f019045c853b5243ef819f4119.jpg

The conspiracy theorists and keyboard virologists have finally made me give up on FB. It was handy for messaging mates and sharing daft pictures, but that’s it done because of this carry on. Billy the bricky from Govan thinking he knows better than these professors and scientists that have dedicated their whole adult lives in to this field of research. Cheerio.

3 minutes ago, DAFC. said:

Nail. On. Head.

IMG_5063.thumb.jpg.159ab9f019045c853b5243ef819f4119.jpg

The conspiracy theorists and keyboard virologists have finally made me give up on FB. It was handy for messaging mates and sharing daft pictures, but that’s it done because of this carry on. Billy the bricky from Govan thinking he knows better than these professors and scientists that have dedicated their whole adult lives in to this field of research. Cheerio.

"Noble prize winning scientists" ffs

29 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

I'm really quite disappointed there hasn't been any Viagra references yet, I thought we could do better TBH

Despite all the red dots my post received I'm definitely not anti vax , I just believe we should treat this one the same as we do for all the other ones.  We don't refuse treatment to those who are overweight, smokers , heavy drinkers or drug users,  we don't deny employment or recreational opportunities to those in the first 2 groups either.  Do we really want to live in a country where the government can say " you must accept this vaccine or else their will be consequences"? I just don't think that's right &  if nothing else it will play into the hands of those who think this is a conspiracy ( I'm not one of them)

Yes we do. 

Some operations aren't available to fatties. Heavy drinkers and drug addicts often get told they'll get treatment after they've sobered up. 

I'm not allowed on the trampoline park with my kids because i'm too heavy (i'm gutted). 

Epileptics can't drive. 

You have to stay off work for three days if you work with food and have had food poisoning. 

I don't think anyone has proposed making the jabs compulsory. There has been talk that some things might require you to have either a negative test or a jab. You could always choose to not do those things. 

30 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

lol

From I link I posted 10 days ago re Hungary and the Russian vaccine...

“The question arises whether a member state would want to administer a vaccine to its citizens that has not been reviewed by [European Medicines Agency] EMA,” a spokesman for the Commission emphasized.

Under EU rules, Sputnik V must be authorized by the European Medicines Agency before it can be marketed in any state of the 27-nation bloc, according to EMA.

But a legal loophole might allow the Orbán government the temporary import and distribution of unauthorized vaccines for emergency use in the EU.

The Commission spokesman, however, warned: “if our citizens start questioning the safety of a vaccine, should it not have gone through rigorous scientific assessment to prove its safety and efficacy, it will be much harder to vaccinate a sufficient proportion of the population.”

Don't think the EMA has passed this one.

Just now, Tynierose said:

The MHRA are traditionally strict and a decent regulator.

We get it you're cynical, that's fine dont take the vaccine Wunfy.

Plenty will including me.

Not so much that (re being a decent regulator or not) Tynie, it'd just be interesting to know 'if' it will be regulated in any of the EU States, of which the UK is no longer part of.

If the UK is the first to pass it, I'd have thought being cynical was the correct way to be.

To be fair, Wunfy has probably built up a fair amount of resistance due to bin juice consumption over the years.

I’m not sure if this is what it looks like but I think it’s weird to make fun of someone for being homeless.

I'm tempted not to take the vaccine just in case it does spark a zombie apocalypse, but only because I've long fantasised about wielding flame-throwers and chainsaws against a real-life zombie horde. Have it all planned out. We're barricading ourselves inside Cameron Toll shopping centre and turning the upstairs gym into a training centre for Scotland's new, elite zombie-eradicating militia force.

Always thought those Stagecoach Express buses would be good for mobility

2 hours ago, Wee Willie said:

If this is the length of the needle then they can forget it!

Note: This was taken from the BBC report on the new vaccine

needle.jpg

That needle is far away.

This is the correct size so that nurses can socially distance while administering it. 

1215092575_81ZUUs0SZ1L._SLDPMOBCAROUSELAUTOCROP288221_MCnd_AC_SR462693_.jpg.2e20186816a8fc247f79b48379df5377.jpg

2 hours ago, welshbairn said:

I'm going to leave strict instructions in my will for you to be told that I'm fine, feel 10 years younger!

Muchas gracias amigo

2 hours ago, Theroadlesstravelled said:

I am slightly concerned about the side effects of the Pzifer vaccine. I’ll let it be tested on fat Brit porkers first.

Also I get the flu jab every year so I won’t be lectured on the importance of a vaccine by someone who doesn’t get the flu jab because they can’t be bothered.

Thank fcuk I'm no a fat Brit porker.

I also get the flu jab every year so dinnae tell me whit tae dae. I'll let the P&Bers decide my future.

34 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

I see quite a lot of zombies in Cameron Toll.

I think the food from Gregg's sustains them

7 minutes ago, eindhovendee said:

That needle is far away.

This is the correct size so that nurses can socially distance while administering it. 

1215092575_81ZUUs0SZ1L._SLDPMOBCAROUSELAUTOCROP288221_MCnd_AC_SR462693_.jpg.2e20186816a8fc247f79b48379df5377.jpg

Well she can bugger off!

I inject myself twice a day with insulin and the box says 5mm in length which is still nippy at times.

46 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

I’m not sure if this is what it looks like but I think it’s weird to make fun of someone for being homeless.

Wow.  That’s one hot take there. 

Don’t worry, I’m sure your crew will be along shortly to dot me into submission.