WoSFL Premier Division thread

6 hours ago, ParkTheBusFitbaPod said:

https://parkthebusfitbapodcast.buzzsprout.com/1595431/15442657-west-of-scotland

We did a preview of this upcoming season 

Please be kind

Good to listen too however failed to mention when talking about big spenders the biggest spenders of them all, Clydebank. 

Would be interested to see you cover the financial advantages teams without their own ground have over teams that have their own. 

Other points worth looking at going forward is if there is a place in the pyramid for 3G pitches. 

If there is a valid place for the South Challenge Cup, when there is little interest from any teams to participate especially when the prize money is non existent. 

The suitability of Broadwood as a final venue, continuously on any post on Facebook/twitter etc...it is the first talking point. 

4 minutes ago, leaguereformer said:

Would be interested to see you cover the financial advantages teams without their own ground have over teams that have their own. 

If there is indeed an advantage, does that not mean the host club simply isn’t charging enough rent?

26 minutes ago, leaguereformer said:

Good to listen too however failed to mention when talking about big spenders the biggest spenders of them all, Clydebank. 

Other points worth looking at going forward is if there is a place in the pyramid for 3G pitches. 

If there is a valid place for the South Challenge Cup, when there is little interest from any teams to participate especially when the prize money is non existent. 

The suitability of Broadwood as a final venue, continuously on any post on Facebook/twitter etc...it is the first talking point. 

You really are unhinged, you just look deranged and creepy now

I take it you feel the same about my club (KRR) who have the same set up?

What club are unfortunate enough to have you as a fan? Never once seen you actually discuss your own team/football on here

Edited by KirkyRobRoy

4 minutes ago, Stag Nation said:

If there is indeed an advantage, does that not mean the host club simply isn’t charging enough rent?

He is talking about Clydebank in points 1-3 who play at Holm Park and rent from Holm Park Community Football Academy as do Yoker. It's an Astro pitch.

He is always trolling Clydebank. He hates Clydebank and would restructure the entire pyramid in such a way Clydebank couldn't play in it.

16 minutes ago, KirkyRobRoy said:

You really are unhinged, you just look deranged and creepy now

I take it you feel the same about my club (KRR) who have the same set up?

What club are unfortunate enough to have you as a fan? Never once seen you actually discuss your own team/football on here

He used to but he now denies he’s a Darvel fan.

As you said he’s deranged.

1 hour ago, leaguereformer said:

let-it-go-elsa.gif

19 hours ago, leaguereformer said:

Gonnae just bore off.

You contribute nothing of worth.

You come across as a spiteful, bigoted, unhinged wee fud.

And that's me trying to be nice.

2 hours ago, leaguereformer said:

One of Kilmarnock’s biggest game in years and all the talk is about how bad the playing surface is and how it should be grass. Yet you get people on here defending plastic pitches.   It ruins football.  

How about you be brave enough to nail your colours to a team before slagging off a large portion of the WOS league system?  Until then, your opinion is irrelevant

Easy to sit on the sidelines and snipe but your own team could play on astro for all we know

Wild that you think this is "ruining" football.....

Edited by KirkyRobRoy

4 minutes ago, clansman said:

I know you are just in the door so to speak but are Rob Roy applying for a licence?

Id like to hope so in time, but TBH, this season is all about getting back to the Prem, and we can take it from there

Not involved at committee level myself, so perhaps there is someone more qualified to comment

3 minutes ago, superpollok said:

Does the new Rob Roy ground have elevated viewing, or is it flat except the small stand? 
And can you watch from all around the ground or is it just both sides or one? 

You can watch all round the ground

The stand is a bit bigger than it looks on that overhead, certainly get a good view from the upper rows

But yes, other than that, there isnt any elevated areas

1 hour ago, KirkyRobRoy said:

The stand is a bit bigger than it looks on that overhead, certainly get a good view from the upper rows

It'll be developed over the years. Being back is the important thing 

On 24/07/2024 at 18:14, leaguereformer said:

I listened to most of it too, admit flicked through bits as well.

Dont disagree with some of the things you mentioned 

Clydebank are the biggest spenders, since the Moore to Darvel move early last season the two biggest signings in our league that would have had a decent fee attached at Truesdale from EK to Clydebank and now Syme. 

The Astro one is a hard one, as while not a fan, Ben’s, Clydebank and Cumnock both have it in a football ground, so you make some allowances that at least you can watch a game in an environment that feels like it is also there for some level of fan enjoyment.

However cages, with little or no elevated areas, are really not for this level and shouldn’t be allowed IMO. It’s boys club football pitches getting used to charge people to come in and watch. 

100% agree on Broadwood.

The other one that would be interesting to hear discussed on a future podcast, is it right that professional clubs can be classed as a charity and use boys club membership fees to then finance a professional football team with wage bills of near 200k while benefiting from the tax advantages of being a charity. 

8 hours ago, KirkyRobRoy said:

How many people does the stand hold? I think it looks like a brilliant wee ground, really impressed with how its turned out. 

52 minutes ago, superpollok said:

I listened to most of it too, admit flicked through bits as well.

Dont disagree with some of the things you mentioned 

Clydebank are the biggest spenders, since the Moore to Darvel move early last season the two biggest signings in our league that would have had a decent fee attached at Truesdale from EK to Clydebank and now Syme. 

The Astro one is a hard one, as while not a fan, Ben’s, Clydebank and Cumnock both have it in a football ground, so you make some allowances that at least you can watch a game in an environment that feels like it is also there for some level of fan enjoyment.

However cages, with little or no elevated areas, are really not for this level and shouldn’t be allowed IMO. It’s boys club football pitches getting used to charge people to come in and watch. 

100% agree on Broadwood.

The other one that would be interesting to hear discussed on a future podcast, is it right that professional clubs can be classed as a charity and use boys club membership fees to then finance a professional football team with wage bills of near 200k while benefiting from the tax advantages of being a charity. 

You think we’ve spent more than JB? 😂