Sportscene watch

3 minutes ago, CambieBud said:

To be fair to O’Donnell, he cannot be seen to criticise a fellow professional. Surely you all know that. Secondly, that piece of skill by Durmus was superb. How anyone can blame Duffy for that is ridiculous.

A good centre back doesn't give Durmus the chance to win that, he stands his ground and heads the ball away.

32 minutes ago, betting competition said:

Even though it was against my team but you would have thought the panel would have discussed weather the ball was over the line, they didn't even discus Livingston that much.

Aye Aberdeen prob edged it but it wasn't exactly one sided, we had a few chances too. From the replay freezing the ball as Lewis pushes it out, it was def over the line, was it fully over though, just wish we had goal line tech.

The most hilarious part of Saint Mirren's second goal is that Duffy streaks away from Durmus after he controls the ball as if they're now magnetically opposed objects. Durmus did well and might have scored anyway, but Duffy literally turns a one yard advantage into six full yards of space. It would be absolutely mind-boggling defending to watch in the (deid) juniors never mind from an international defender in the top flight. 

7 hours ago, virginton said:

The most hilarious part of Saint Mirren's second goal is that Duffy streaks away from Durmus after he controls the ball as if they're now magnetically opposed objects. Durmus did well and might have scored anyway, but Duffy literally turns a one yard advantage into six full yards of space. It would be absolutely mind-boggling defending to watch in the (deid) juniors never mind from an international defender in the top flight. 

Durmus picking the ball out the air was a fantastic bit of control and something he had no real right to do. 

Duffy for his part was like when you pretend to throw a ball for a dog and fake out at the last second but it is already halfway across the park chasing nothing. How a guy with 40 caps for his country can read a bread and butter cross into the box so poorly is remarkable. A total bombscare. 

Durmus would certainly have been expecting to at best, get that shot away under pressure. 

Tbf I think Duffy knows what's happening, he's just so slow/cumbersome that he can't correct his body and stop himself stomping away from the player.

He gets away with it for ROI because they generally had him camped on his 6 yard box with a wall of midfielders forcing opponents to fire in crosses right at him. Celtic being more open exposes him.

He's just a great example of Celtics atrocious scouting system, where they seemingly don't bother looking for weaknesses in players.

49 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

Tbf I think Duffy knows what's happening, he's just so slow/cumbersome that he can't correct his body and stop himself stomping away from the player.

He gets away with it for ROI because they generally had him camped on his 6 yard box with a wall of midfielders forcing opponents to fire in crosses right at him. Celtic being more open exposes him.

He's just a great example of Celtics atrocious scouting system, where they seemingly don't bother looking for weaknesses in players.

It’s not just scouting, it’s coaching. Duffy came about because jullien, an actual talent, was struggling to cope with some strikers in Scotland and the physicality of it. 

So do you a) develop the talent and coach him through defending against what are limited footballers roughing you up or b) go out and sign an overpriced huddy without considering if he’s actually any good or fits the way you play, but he’s a big solid lad so that’s alright. 

10 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Aye Aberdeen prob edged it but it wasn't exactly one sided, we had a few chances too. From the replay freezing the ball as Lewis pushes it out, it was def over the line, was it fully over though, just wish we had goal line tech.

Not much doubt about it.  Can see daylight between the ball and the line. 

Livi Goal.png

2 hours ago, Dons_1988 said:

It’s not just scouting, it’s coaching. Duffy came about because jullien, an actual talent, was struggling to cope with some strikers in Scotland and the physicality of it. 

So do you a) develop the talent and coach him through defending against what are limited footballers roughing you up or b) go out and sign an overpriced huddy without considering if he’s actually any good or fits the way you play, but he’s a big solid lad so that’s alright. 

Wee Hugh Keevins said at the time that Duffy was Celtic’s most ‘iconic’ signing in decades.

3 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Durmus picking the ball out the air was a fantastic bit of control and something he had no real right to do. 

Duffy for his part was like when you pretend to throw a ball for a dog and fake out at the last second but it is already halfway across the park chasing nothing. How a guy with 40 caps for his country can read a bread and butter cross into the box so poorly is remarkable. A total bombscare. 

Durmus would certainly have been expecting to at best, get that shot away under pressure. 

I won't deny that it's an excellent bit of control. However a competent centre half has emptied that before Durmus gets near it. 

Hilarious though. Fair play to Saints for absolutely going for it. 

It was ridiculous.  No insight, and afraid to give any opinion in case it upsets someone.
Be as well just showing the matches.
There shouldn't be any current players unless they've got a proven track record of telling all - and not giving a f**k (a kind of joey barton type character).

The insight would still be shite but it would be entertaining.

45 minutes ago, Grangemouth Bairn said:

Wee Hugh Keevins said at the time that Duffy was Celtic’s most ‘iconic’ signing in decades.

Their Joey Barton basically,  a player with a reputation for playing at a decent level in England who a lot of  folk thought would stroll it up here.

46 minutes ago, Cptn Hooch said:
2 hours ago, EdinburghLivi said:
Don't think that's over the line. Probably 90% over but not fully.

Would have been nice if they'd even analysed the game and the 2 chances that were potentially over the line

Aye, felt like a spare part hanging around waiting on it being discussed properly, and only hearing about Aberdeen not having any strikers. Guess we've had our 5 mins of fame last episode when they talked about Martindale's fit and proper person test, and what a great run we're on, we only drew this game to make it 13 games undefeated under DM so who cares.

Livi and St Mirren are actually making the top 6 interesting, until a month or so ago it was pretty boring, Sevco running away with it (still are, even more so now), Celtic prob going to shitfest 2nd spot, and Aberdeen & Hibs jostling for 3rd and 4th spot, then you had Utd floating about 5th looking safe from the dog fight down the bottom but not going to push for 4th, and the rest were just making up the numbers farting about trying to avoid relegation. Now we've got 2 form teams making up ground on the best of the rest pair and turning it into a bit of a fight for the European spots. 

St Mirren will need to win a couple of the games in hand right enough, but the way they're going you wouldn't bet against them doing so.

St Johnstone could make it even more interesting, pushing for the top 6, they're flying under the radar a bit, but they'll need to turn those draws into wins to make a push, long way to go yet, and they were the same last season hitting a purple patch just as the league got called.

Edited by LIVIFOREVER