Buses bricked

21 hours ago, Sweet Pete said:

Yes.

Yes.

Drew loads of cocks on a desk, chair, filing cabinet, wall and floor in school. Then realised I was sitting amongst a sea of pencil cocks and decided to let the teacher know I'd "found some graffiti" to take the heat off myself.

Snitches get stitches.

I lived in Clydebank in the 80s and travelled through by train to watch the Shire on a fairly regular basis. Train windows in those days had a top window you could slide open, effectively giving you double glazing. Passing through Camelon one Saturday and a brick crashed into the window, smashing the "outer" layer but bouncing off the inner, leaving it cracked. I hadn't opened it myself, someone sitting in that seat earlier must have done so, fortunately for me or the brick would have connected with my skull.

3 hours ago, BFTD said:

I've long been a believer that bus drivers should be armed. Some of the shit they have to put up with while lone working, with no support from their employer.

That's legit why I'm put off applying, ha. I asked my missus what she thought since there's always ads on the back of the buses this way for drivers and she went "na don't think you would like it, have seen some proper arseholes especially on the later buses"

Seemingly also really shitty with giving you notice of your shifts, you get random days through the week for your days off hence the high staff turnover - bit of a nightmare if you can't commit to anything next week if your employer decides you need to work 8 or so hours that day...

edit: oh the licence they put you through, I think it's an awkward thing where they pay to upgrade your drivers licence if you need it (which I would) but if you leave within the first year you have to pay back a pro-rata'd amount. it'd be a bit shit if they took the piss for your first year knowing full well you're more likely to eat whatever shit they can throw at you rather than pay £1000+ towards your training costs...

Edited by Thistle_do_nicely

i) armour all buses the same way you see in apocalyptic/zombie films. There's nothing some sheet metal and razor wire can't fix!
ii) alternatively  start using military transport vehicles, maybe even old surplus or repurposing old ww2 captured vehicles. Be some sight for the tourists to get to watch a repainted old Panzerkampfgruppen Half-track start picking up at bus stops.
Option 2 will be fine, as long as we get to arm them.

Most of the folk in Edinburgh understood the decision to stop the buses after 7:30pm yesterday but there were a few complaining that it was unfair on the NHS staff who would have to walk home or pay for a taxi. One woman suggested that they keep the buses going but only for passengers who could prove they worked for the NHS - as if that would magically render the bus impervious to bricks.

5 minutes ago, GordonD said:

Most of the folk in Edinburgh understood the decision to stop the buses after 7:30pm yesterday but there were a few complaining that it was unfair on the NHS staff who would have to walk home or pay for a taxi. One woman suggested that they keep the buses going but only for passengers who could prove they worked for the NHS - as if that would magically render the bus impervious to bricks.

Aye, but anybody who got injured would have immediate access to first aid...

28 minutes ago, throbber said:

As well as the poor female cyclist who got ripped off her bike by some chicken wire a couple weeks ago I saw this horrible story on a local Facebook page earlier:

020424E5-3C62-4A54-8E53-CFB604DD26F2.jpeg

P&B collectively searches pornhub for “Irn bru poured on woman”

On 18/03/2021 at 15:36, Thistle_do_nicely said:

That's legit why I'm put off applying, ha. I asked my missus what she thought since there's always ads on the back of the buses this way for drivers and she went "na don't think you would like it, have seen some proper arseholes especially on the later buses"

Seemingly also really shitty with giving you notice of your shifts, you get random days through the week for your days off hence the high staff turnover - bit of a nightmare if you can't commit to anything next week if your employer decides you need to work 8 or so hours that day...

edit: oh the licence they put you through, I think it's an awkward thing where they pay to upgrade your drivers licence if you need it (which I would) but if you leave within the first year you have to pay back a pro-rata'd amount. it'd be a bit shit if they took the piss for your first year knowing full well you're more likely to eat whatever shit they can throw at you rather than pay £1000+ towards your training costs...

The drivers do a lot of bitching to each other when cadging lifts to their next shift. Always worth keeping an ear on the stories they tell each other.

One of the most common complaints appears to be split shifts. Starting the day at 6am to drive one bus for four hours, then being left in some shitehole in the middle of nowhere thirty miles from home without transport until the end of your shift starts at 2pm. Sounds like utter shite, and seems very common. Pay frozen for the past six years too, according to one lad.

On 17/03/2021 at 17:21, tongue_tied_danny said:

I was on a bus going through the Charleston area of Dundee a couple of years ago. Some wee arsehole threw a crutch onto the roof of the bus while it was stationary at a stop.

Many years ago at a Montrose home game, against East Fife I think, some local neds created a diversion using stolen traffic cones to lure the away fans coach into a trap and then launched a few stones at it.

Montrosians are nothing if not resourceful. 

Some young Montrosians smashed up our bus with bricks the last time we were in League 2 together. No diversions in place this time, just waited outside the ground for us, they must have evolved their attacks. 

A par three hole at my local course, downhill, was easily reached with a wedge, as a youngster. The road behind it was easily reached with a 9 iron. A couple of houses were within 7 iron distance. Who needed PlayStation etc with such constructive uses of time? 

6 hours ago, throbber said:

As well as the poor female cyclist who got ripped off her bike by some chicken wire a couple weeks ago I saw this horrible story on a local Facebook page earlier:

020424E5-3C62-4A54-8E53-CFB604DD26F2.jpeg

I remember years ago seeing boys throwing stuff onto the road from the same place. It was probably the dads of the latest little buggers.

3 hours ago, Abby Normal said:

A par three hole at my local course, downhill, was easily reached with a wedge, as a youngster. The road behind it was easily reached with a 9 iron. A couple of houses were within 7 iron distance. Who needed PlayStation etc with such constructive uses of time? 

The A82 is (was) within driving range of a 3 wood from the grass embankment behind the annex of St Columba's High School in the 90s.