Aberdeen's Next Permanent Manager

Who will be Aberdeen's next permanent manager?   

268 members have voted

Just now, Highlandmagyar Tier 3 said:

Now! That would be hilarious. 

What would in all seriousness be pretty interesting would be Goodwin to Aberdeen, Ross to Dundee / St Mirren, and Neil Lennon to Dundee / St Mirren.

Get the popcorn in and see who succeeds or who gets bagged after a season.

1 hour ago, gudge1903 said:

That table shows if AFC and Edinburgh clubs are honest that Motherwell deserve a hell of a lot more respect and credit than we all currently give them.

Edit to say - it shows how a well run club can seriously punch above it weight in finances, definitely deserve more credit than the three of us.

All probably achieved on a budget of a third of the other 3s average. 

How much credit should go to Alan Burrows? (sure that's the guy) Maybe he's the man bigger clubs should be chasing?

But we are despised 

1 hour ago, gudge1903 said:

That table shows if AFC and Edinburgh clubs are honest that Motherwell deserve a hell of a lot more respect and credit than we all currently give them.

Edit to say - it shows how a well run club can seriously punch above it weight in finances, definitely deserve more credit than the three of us.

All probably achieved on a budget of a third of the other 3s average. 

How much credit should go to Alan Burrows? (sure that's the guy) Maybe he's the man bigger clubs should be chasing?

What is often overlooked is that in the ENTIRE history of the Scottish top flight only The Old Firm, Edinburgh duo and Aberdeen have accumulated more points. That is a FACT. So we are the 6th most successful club. 

This winds up fans of diddies like St Mirren who then try and factor in Renfrewshire cups etc. It is painful to watch quite frankly. 

Edited by welldaft

6 minutes ago, welldaft said:

What is often overlooked is that in the ENTIRE history of the Scottish top flight only The Old Firm, Edinburgh duo and Aberdeen have accumulated more points. That is a FACT. So we are the 6th most successful club. 

This winds up fans of diddies like St Mirren who then try and factor in Renfrewshire cups etc. It is painful to watch quite frankly. 

giphy.gif&f=1&nofb=1

13 minutes ago, gudge1903 said:

Mind that half the time the Edinburgh clubs aren't in the top league so I'd maybe push the mighty 'Well up a wee bit. 

How many times have 'Well been relegated since the switch to the wee leagues out of interest?

Our last relegation was 1983/84. Prior to that there was only one relegation (78/79) since the league changed from the 18 team Division One to the Premier League.

This is our 37th consecutive season in the top flight.

Edited by capt_oats

Cheers Oats. Pretty good going when you look at other clubs who would love a record like that in spite of spending at least twice as much as you guys at any one time.

Edit to say - I don't agree with lucky escapes pish. You're either doon or yer up. Nae middle ground there.

Edited by gudge1903

In general yes but I think saying there wasn't a massive element of luck in 2003 - given how we kicked on from there - is rather pointless, we were clearly hugely fortunate. The other breaks - 1986 and the play-off being scraped in the 1990s - were mid-season so there you could argue that we'd have done better if we had to. But by all accounts of our team in the first season up under McLean that's a pretty generous reading.

1 minute ago, DrewDon said:

Scott Burns reporting that there is an applicant with "English Premier League experience" just screams Phil Brown. 

It's Ian Holloway according to our forum.

ETA: FS thought this was the Dundee Next Manager Thread.

For Aberdeen, @Yenitit was saying Neil Warnock was on the radio the other day saying he's applied for the Aberdeen job before.

Edited by Ludo*1