The Queen of the South thread

26 minutes ago, Rjc-1988 said:

You make a very good point regarding the necessity to avoid increasing the payroll. Your summary of the situation is exactly the same as mine. Gardening leave and then appoint someone till the end of the season. 

Appreciate this isn't my club but I tend to agree with this viewpoint and have for some time.

There must be someone on the existing payroll that at very least couldn't do any worse and is very likely to do better. Look at Alloa. Similar ish situation (although I think they might actually have been doing better than Queens?) Andy Graham replaced Brian Rice and their results and atmosphere around the club and fanbase has been terrific ever since, looking like a comfortable play off position now. 

Bartley has been a bombscare since very very early on. The post match interviews tell you all you need to know, he's not seeing games like pretty much everyone else (or is and isn't wanting to call it as it is), I'd bet his players don't respect him, why would you, calling them out every week and pretty much treating us all like idiots with his b*llshit summaries of what happened.

Appreciate the contract and money is a hurdle, but staying as is is worse IMO. As a couple of the guys have said here put him on gardening leave and get someone on the existing payroll to take over, there must be a coach or player that is respected enough. The record Bartley has for a full time team in the 3rd tier is awful - pretty much averaging 1 point per game and if Stirling get as much as a point tonight, sitting one place above the relegation play offs.

12 hours ago, sidofthesouth said:

i sincerely hope, for the Directors sake, that it’s only our perilous finances that are keeping them from sacking Marv.. If not, then it reflects very badly on them that they haven't pulled the plug yet and is almost a dereliction of their duties as a Board

Except that in any other business, it would be a dereliction of their duties as a Board to not prioritise the financial implications of a decision. If the money isn't there to do it, it's not there. 

3 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:

We've been served up so much shite over the past few years that folk are actually losing their minds as a result. The discussion is about giving our COMMERCIAL MANAGER the role of first team Manager?! Take a step back and think about that :lol:

Dan is probably the best thing about the club just now. Let's just keep him where he is, doing brilliantly. 

He's certainly about the only one there who seems competent in what he's doing. Pardon my ignorance but has he actually got any coaching or footballing background, apart from running the reserves.

1 minute ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

Appreciate this isn't my club but I tend to agree with this viewpoint and have for some time.

There must be someone on the existing payroll that at very least couldn't do any worse and is very likely to do better. Look at Alloa. Similar ish situation (although I think they might actually have been doing better than Queens?) Andy Graham replaced Brian Rice and their results and atmosphere around the club and fanbase has been terrific ever since, looking like a comfortable play off position now. 

Bartley has been a bombscare since very very early on. The post match interviews tell you all you need to know, he's not seeing games like pretty much everyone else (or is and isn't wanting to call it as it is), I'd bet his players don't respect him, why would you, calling them out every week and pretty much treating us all like idiots with his b*llshit summaries of what happened.

Appreciate the contract and money is a hurdle, but staying as is is worse IMO. As a couple of the guys have said here put him on gardening leave and get someone on the existing payroll to take over, there must be a coach or player that is respected enough. The record Bartley has for a full time team in the 3rd tier is awful - pretty much averaging 1 point per game and if Stirling get as much as a point tonight, sitting one place above the relegation play offs.

The problem is we don't really have anyone on the existing (small) coaching staff I would trust in the interim, assistant Grant Murray should follow Bartley out the door. Obviously maybe senior players could be considered but I'm not really sure which ones would or could take over. Paul McKay likes to stand and point and tell others what to do so would probably jump at it. The notion of giving it to our Commercial Manager because he does a lot behind the scenes is just too wild. 

18 minutes ago, virginton said:

Except that in any other business, it would be a dereliction of their duties as a Board to not prioritise the financial implications of a decision. If the money isn't there to do it, it's not there. 

Exactly the problem. The fans are well aware that money is tight, and is  probably the only reason he's not been punted already. It's a bit  Catch 22, if we pay him off , and hopefuly his sidekick too, it costs money, if we don't and risk going down it could theoretically cost a lot more in the long run. The Board have to decide, and decide fast, which option to take, times running out. 

I hope at the AGM that the pressure on Bartley isn't taking away the focus on what a absolute shit show Hewitson and co have made of our club. 

Get this board out!! A change of manger is merely a sticking plaster. A Queen's managerial job is a job set up for failure. Evidence: 4 managers in, continued decline. 

We don’t have many internal candidates - Dan, Reilly and Todd.

To be honest, I don’t think Dan would be remotely interested but he is actually running the Reserves so I have no idea why his suggestion as an interim caretaker on a very temporary basis is seen as an outrageous suggestion?  Many clubs turn to the Reserve Manager as a temporary expedient until they work out what they want to do longer term. He has been an “Over Achiever” in everything else he has done at the club so certainly nowhere near as big a gamble as keeping Bartley on.Gordon Marshall our GK Coach is good guy but he is probably happy doing what he does.

1 hour ago, 19QOS19 said:

We've been served up so much shite over the past few years that folk are actually losing their minds as a result. The discussion is about giving our COMMERCIAL MANAGER the role of first team Manager?! Take a step back and think about that :lol:

Dan is probably the best thing about the club just now. Let's just keep him where he is, doing brilliantly. 

100% agree with you here, it's a real indicator of how desperate we are getting, but - and please correct me if I'm wrong - was JT not commercial manager when he took temporary charge after Skelton walked?

1 hour ago, virginton said:

Very true.  However, it depends on what timeframe the board uses as the boundary for their financial risk assessment - if they choose to assess the risk at the end of next season (by which time we could conceivably even be in the total abyss that is League 2) then the overall financial implications of not ditching Bartley could be even more severe than the cost of ditching him now.

9 minutes ago, Slipmat said:

100% agree with you here, it's a real indicator of how desperate we are getting, but - and please correct me if I'm wrong - was JT not commercial manager when he took temporary charge after Skelton walked?

Yes. That didn't end too well for JT but at least he had plenty of experience on the playing side over a good length of time, and was Club captain for a good while too so wasn't exactly the same scenario as Dan. 

Edited by Fae_the_'briggs

17 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

How much do they pay him then to call him the Ginger Mourinho. 

As for the suggestion of giving Dan the job, about the daftest thing I've heard. For a start, the last time we promoted the Reserve Manager it didn't end very well results wise as I recall. 

You new to P&B, m8?

1 hour ago, bridge of allan bairn said:

There's not many Andy Graham's going about though.

No one at Alloa, or I suspect most of the club's he's played, for was surprised Andy was appointed when Chipper left. Further no one is surprised he's had a positive effect on performances (results were actually already OK, but have certainly improved).

Whether that continues long term remains to be seen (I think he'll go on to prove himself a good manager). E.g. it should be noted the players we have are Rice's signing/retainers - something he was very good at IMO. (I expect Andy G to be good at that too, but we can't be certain.)

1 hour ago, 19QOS19 said:

Aye, I also initially thought that was a wild suggestion.  But then again, we only have 10 league games left this season and if the guy is already coaching the reserves then it could be a temporary (zero cost) solution to get us through to the summer.  One positive is that Dan is well liked and I'm pretty sure the players would welcome him and would put in a shift for him, lifting the whole demeanour of the dressing room and club/fans in one stroke.  Dan would hopefully be assured that his current job remained safe into next season and beyond once the club brought in a "permanent" managerial solution.

Edited by Otis Blue

19 minutes ago, Otis Blue said:

Aye, I also initially thought that was a wild suggestion.  But then again, we only have 10 league games left this season and if the guy is already coaching the reserves then it could be a temporary (zero cost) solution to get us through to the summer.  One positive is that Dan is well liked and I'm pretty sure the players would welcome him and would put in a shift for him, lifting the whole demeanour of the dressing room and club/fans in one stroke.  Dan would hopefully be assured that his current job remained safe into next season and beyond once the club brought in a "permanent" managerial solution.

That’s my point - I don’t know exactly what his footballing responsibilities are but I am led to believe he looks after the Reserves from time to time and the Dev squad. Did he not start out as a GK with us so presumably he has been steeped in football. I am not sure at all where the incredulity comes from …………………..we have a Managerial team using drones at present who can barely beat any teams in the league other than Edinburgh and Annan. It won’t take a footballing genius to match or hopefully better the results we have had so far.

Ah now there is a name "Brian rice"  if you manage to punt your present incumbent he might be tempted as you guys are full time 

seriously as printer said he has an eye for a good player and could do a job for you  ?

1 hour ago, Otis Blue said:

Very true.  However, it depends on what timeframe the board uses as the boundary for their financial risk assessment - if they choose to assess the risk at the end of next season (by which time we could conceivably even be in the total abyss that is League 2) then the overall financial implications of not ditching Bartley could be even more severe than the cost of ditching him now.

But it still requires the cash to do the ditching now, and choosing the option that fans don't like still wouldn't actually be 'dereliction of duty' as board directors. 

1 hour ago, Vegetableman said:

Ah now there is a name "Brian rice"  if you manage to punt your present incumbent he might be tempted as you guys are full time 

seriously as printer said he has an eye for a good player and could do a job for you  ?

Don't know if there was much truth in it but was he not being linked with the QoS  job before Bartley was appointed. Anyway I'm sure he's in a better and safer position where he is.

49 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Nope, been here quite a while now and I'd say it's still about the daftest thing I've heard suggested.

Spent much time in the Falkirk thread? 🤔

1 hour ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Don't know if there was much truth in it but was he not being linked with the QoS  job before Bartley was appointed. Anyway I'm sure he's in a better and safer position where he is.

Might want to be his own man again , but that's my take , he may be much happier where he is he never seemed to like taking any flak and happy being in the background .

3 hours ago, virginton said:

But it still requires the cash to do the ditching now, and choosing the option that fans don't like still wouldn't actually be 'dereliction of duty' as board directors. 

Think going to be a very interesting shareholders meeting on Wed. night .

The board and Marvin Bartley will surely get some difficult questions the problem is our manager talks a very good game that is what he is best at.

If only we could find a Dougie Imrie type he  has players that would run through a brick wall for him.