The Queen of the South thread

I don’t get the amount of people not wanting a highland away trip. Brora or Buckie away would have been my top choice (although I do appreciate that my travel distance is about half that of our local support).

As it is, St Mirren away is an awful draw. They’re a very good side, the crowd won’t be all that big, and it’s not like we’ve never been there. 

17 minutes ago, die hard doonhamer said:

I don’t get the amount of people not wanting a highland away trip. Brora or Buckie away would have been my top choice (although I do appreciate that my travel distance is about half that of our local support).

As it is, St Mirren away is an awful draw. They’re a very good side, the crowd won’t be all that big, and it’s not like we’ve never been there. 

Buckie away would be good for the fans as an away day. From the club point of view it would be shite though. Surely an overnight job and we'd get pennies from the fixture. Lets face it, we'd probably be embarrassed as well. St Mirren is a dull draw but we'll get more money than Buckie away, it won't cost the club as much and a defeat won't be a massive shock. 

1 hour ago, 19QOS19 said:

Buckie away would be good for the fans as an away day. From the club point of view it would be shite though. Surely an overnight job and we'd get pennies from the fixture. Lets face it, we'd probably be embarrassed as well. St Mirren is a dull draw but we'll get more money than Buckie away, it won't cost the club as much and a defeat won't be a massive shock. 

I wouldn't expect it'll cost the club anything, in fact it's probably quite local for the vast majority of the squad.

When I was younger I used to love the romance of the big cup, never missed a tie home or away and a trip to Brora or Buckie would have been just fine, something new and a welcome change.  However, I'm ancient and cynical now and realise that banana skin ties such as those would likely see us embarrassed in defeat and as has been said we'd lose money on the trip with the share of the attendance being a pittance.

If we have to draw a top league side away then you really want either the Ugly Sisters, Hearts, Hibs or Aberdeen to get a decent cheque as reward for a pumping.  Away to a very good St Mirren obviously means we don't progress but at least we'll get a share of a semi-decent crowd of something like 4,000, not great but better than nowt.  I usually go to the games in Paisley (40 min car journey for me) but I'll see what the weather is first as I struggle to cope with the cold these days ... gettin old is pish.

Looking at booking a trip back up to see friends and watch a game. We don't currently have a fixture scheduled for 17 February 2024. Are we likely to get on put in?

If we were to get past St Mirren, the next round is scheduled for 10 February 2024, so it's not being held for that. 

12 minutes ago, Priti priti priti Patel said:

Looking at booking a trip back up to see friends and watch a game. We don't currently have a fixture scheduled for 17 February 2024. Are we likely to get on put in?

If we were to get past St Mirren, the next round is scheduled for 10 February 2024, so it's not being held for that. 

I have Edinburgh away in my calendar. 

2 hours ago, Priti priti priti Patel said:

If doing a lot of heavy lifting here. 

16 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

I usually go to the games in Paisley (40 min car journey for me) but I'll see what the weather is first as I struggle to cope with the cold these days ... gettin old is pish.

You'll get no arguments from me there, getting old isn’t great but it has to be better than the alternative, surely? ⚰️

And it has to depend on attitude and the “type of old” that you are. You see some folk in their 60s or 70s, stuck in a rut, occupying the same seat at the social club for the last 30 years, life is a drudge, just waiting for the Grim Reaper. Then you have your “Still Game” type of old, in their 60s - 80s, having a laugh, trying new things, having a bit of colour in their lives, thumbing their noses at Death and looking to go out with a bang instead of a whimper.

There is no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing. Get your thermals on, wrap up warm, get to the game and enjoy yourself! You're a long time deid.

5 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said:

You'll get no arguments from me there, getting old isn’t great but it has to be better than the alternative, surely? ⚰️

And it has to depend on attitude and the “type of old” that you are. You see some folk in their 60s or 70s, stuck in a rut, occupying the same seat at the social club for the last 30 years, life is a drudge, just waiting for the Grim Reaper. Then you have your “Still Game” type of old, in their 60s - 80s, having a laugh, trying new things, having a bit of colour in their lives, thumbing their noses at Death and looking to go out with a bang instead of a whimper.

There is no such thing as bad weather, only inappropriate clothing. Get your thermals on, wrap up warm, get to the game and enjoy yourself! You're a long time deid.

Absolutely. I'm not the sit in an armchair type - still love my road/gravel cycling (>2,000 miles last year) and climbed a (2,600 ft) mountain on Arran two months ago to test out my replacement knee.  Trouble is I've lousy circulation and sitting out in near zero conditions for two hours at the fitba in winter leaves me close to hypothermia despite wearing loads of thermal layers and looking like Michelin Man.  I'm fine when I'm out and about and active.  It is what it is, we're not all made the same.

1 minute ago, Otis Blue said:

Absolutely. I'm not the sit in an armchair type - still love my road/gravel cycling (>2,000 miles last year) and climbed a (2,600 ft) mountain on Arran two months ago to test out my replacement knee.  Trouble is I've lousy circulation and sitting out in near zero conditions for two hours at the fitba in winter leaves me close to hypothermia despite wearing loads of thermal layers and looking like Michelin Man.  I'm fine when I'm out and about and active.  It is what it is, we're not all made the same.

No offence was intended and I hope that none was taken. Sorry about your poor circulation.

Up until a few years ago, without really trying, I was fairly healthy. Now I've got a prostate the size of a Scania inner tube, which has led to an inguinal hernia and I also have sacroiliac joint pain. Do i let it get me down? Do I f*ck. 😁

6 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

No offence was intended and I hope that none was taken. Sorry about your poor circulation.

Up until a few years ago, without really trying, I was fairly healthy. Now I've got a prostate the size of a Scania inner tube, which has led to an inguinal hernia and I also have sacroiliac joint pain. Do i let it get me down? Do I f*ck. 😁

No offence was taken, none at all.  You've got the right attitude - never give in!

7 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said:

stillgame-birthdaycairdpish.gif.7228220f165b56bcbf2d99709f358849.gif

This is should be  easy for the board .

Option 1 

Do nothing we will definitely go down to League 2 .

Option 2

Get rid of Bartley at least give ourself a chance of staying up it will cost us but it is simply not working with him as manager. 

Why do we put 3 subs on at the 91 st min when 5 nil down what is the point of that .

29 minutes ago, Springfield said:

Difficult day for Qs again. Why can you raise the bar against us, knock Utd out of cup and by all accounts could have been double figures loss  today?

I don't think we do raise the bar against sides, I think we just catch teams on an off day. Utd had enough chances to bury us but never took them. 

It's not so much the defeat today as it is the stats. That's an absolutely disgraceful hammering. Absolutely no threat whatsoever. 

Screenshot_20231202-165019.png

Just now, 19QOS19 said:

I don't think we do raise the bar against sides, I think we just catch teams on an off day. Utd had enough chances to bury us but never took them. 

It's not so much the defeat today as it is the stats. That's an absolutely disgraceful hammering. Absolutely no threat whatsoever. 

Screenshot_20231202-165019.png

Got to agree, the stats don’t lie.